Olver

# ¶16.4 JOINT REFERRAL—EXECUTIVE COMMUNICATION

On motion of Mr. OBEY, by unanimous consent, the Executive Communication Number 2199, a communication from the Department of State transmitting a report pursuant to 22 United States Code 2413(a), relative to allocations of foreign assistance, which had been referred to the Committee on Appropriations, be jointly referred to the Committee on Appropriations and the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

### ¶16.5 SEISMIC RETROFIT OF BRIDGES

On motion of Mr. RAHALL, by unanimous consent, the bill of the Senate (S. 1789) to amend title 23, United States Code, to permit the use of funds under the highway bridge replacement and rehabilitation program for seismic retrofit of bridges, and for other purposes; was taken from the Speaker's table.

When said bill was considered, read twice, ordered to be read a third time, was read a third time by title, and passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

# ¶16.6 AMERICA'S SCHOOLS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MAZZOLI, pursuant to House Resolution 366 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 6) to extend for six years the authorizations of appropriations for the programs under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, and for certain other purposes.

The Acting Chairman, Mr. DARDEN assumed the Chair: and after some time spent therein,

# ¶16.7 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. ROMERO-BARCELO:

Page 106, line 20 before "the percentage" insert "the greater of"

Page 106, line 21, after "sentence" insert "and 60 percent for fiscal year 1995, 70 percent for fiscal year 1996, 80 percent for fiscal year 1997. 90 percent for fiscal year 1998, and 100 percent for fiscal year 1999 and succeeding fiscal years".
Page 123, line 15, after "1.62" insert "for

fiscal year 1995. 2.0 for fiscal year 1996, 2.33 for fiscal year 1997, 2.67 for fiscal year 1998, and 3.0 for fiscal year 1999 and succeeding fis-

 It was decided in the negative
 Yeas
 70

 Nays
 358

#### $\P 16.8$ [Roll No. 35] AYES-70

Abercrombie	Danner	Filner
Ackerman	de Lugo (VI)	Flake
Andrews (ME)	Dellums	Foglietta
Becerra	Deutsch	Gonzalez
Bishop	Diaz-Balart	Green
Clay	Engel	Gutierrez
Clayton	Faleomavaega	Hamburg
Clyburn	(AS)	Hilliard
Convers	Fields (LA)	Hover

Jefferson Johnson, E. B. Kennedy Kopetski Lewis (GA) Martinez McKinney Meek Menendez Mfume Murphy Nadler Norton (DC) Obey

Allard

Archer

Armey

Baesler

Andrews (NJ)

Bacchus (FL)

Bachus (AL)

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Barrett (WI)

Ballenger

Barca

Barcia

Barlow

Bartlett

Barton

Bateman

Beilenson

Bentley

Bereuter

Berman

Bevill

Bilbray

-Bliley

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Bonior

Boucher

Brewster

Brooks

Bryant

Burton

Buyer

Byrne

Callahan

Calvert

Canady

Cardin

Carr

Castle

Chapman

Clement

Clinger

Coleman

Combest

Condit

Cooper

Costello

Cox

Coyne

Crane

Crapo

Darden

DeFazio DeLauro

DeLay

Derrick Dickey

Dingell

Dixon Dooley

Dicks

Deal

Cramer

Collins (GA)

Collins (MI)

Coppersmith

Cunningham

Coble

Cantwell

Camp

Bunning

Browder

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Blute

Bilirakis

Blackwell

Applegate

Ortiz Owens Pallone Pastor Pelosi Rangel Reynolds Richardson Romero-Barcelo Ros-Lehtinen Roybal-Allard Schumer Scott

# NOES-358

Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Durbin Edwards (CA) Edwards (TX) Ehlers Emerson English Eshoo Evans Everett Ewing Farr Fawell Fazio Fields (TX) Fingerhut Fish Ford (MI) Ford (TN) Fowler Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frost Furse Gallegly Gejdenson Gekas Gephardt Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gingrich Glickman Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Grams Grandy Greenwood Gunderson McCloskey McCollum Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Haves Hefley Hefner Herger Hinchey Hoagland Hobson Hochbrueckner Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Houghton Huffington Hughes Hunter Hutchinson Hutto Hyde Inglis Inhofe Inslee Istook Jacobs Johnson (CT)

Serrano Smith (IA) Tejeda Thompson Torres Towns Tucker Underwood (GU) Velazquez Vento Watt Waxman Woolsey Wynn

Kaptur

Kasich

Kildee

Kim

King

Kennelly

Kingston

Kleczka

Klein

Klink

Klug

Kolbe

Kyl

Kreidler

LaFalce

Lambert

Lancaster

Lantos

LaRocco

Laughlin

Lazio

Leach

Levin

Levy

Lehman

Lewis (CA)

Lewis (FL)

Lightfoot

Linder

Lloyd

Long

Lowey

Mann

Machiley

Maloney

Manton

Markey

Matsui

Mazzoli

McCrery McCurdy

McHale

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

McMillan

McNulty

Meehan

Meyers

Michel

Mineta

Moakley

Molinari

Mollohan

Moorhead

Moran

Morella

Murtha

Natcher

Neal (MA) Neal (NC)

Myers

Nussle

Orton

Oberstar

Montgomery

Minge

Miller (CA)

Miller (FL)

Mica

McDermott

McCandless

Manzullo

Margolies-

Mezvinsky

Lipinski

Livingston

Johnston Kanjorski

Pomerov Porter Portman Poshard Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Quillen Quinn Rahall Ramstad Ravenel Reed Regula Ridge Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Rose Knollenberg Rostenkowski Roth Roukema Rowland Rovce

Rush

Packard

Parker

Paxon

Penny

Petri

Pickett

Pickle

Pombo

Payne (NJ)

Payne (VA)

Peterson (FL)

Peterson (MN)

Sanders Sangmeister Santorum Sarpalius Sawyer Saxton Schaefer Schenk Schroeder Sensenbrenner Sharp Shaw Shays Shepherd Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slattery Slaughter Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Snowe Solomon Spence Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stokes Strickland

Sabo

Stupak Sundquist Swett Swift Synar Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Thornton Thurman Torkildsen Torricelli Traficant Unsoeld Upton . Valentine Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Walker Walsh Weldon Wheat Williams Wilson Wolf Wyden Yates Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

# NOT VOTING-10

Andrews (TX) Hastings Whitten Collins (IL) McDade de la Garza Schiff Washington

Studds

Stump

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HOYER, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. DARDEN, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

# ¶16.9 PROVIDING FOR CONFERENCE ON

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103-427) the resolution (H. Res. 374) providing for a conference with the Senate on an amendment of the House to the bill (S. 636) to amend the Public Health Service Act to permit individuals to have freedom of access to certain medical clinics and facilities, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES POST

Mr. GEPHARDT, rose to a question of the privileges of the House and submitted the following privileged resolution (H. Res. 375):

Whereas the House is on notice pursuant to Rule IX that it may soon consider a proposal to direct the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct to investigate the former operations of the House Post Office;

Whereas matters relating to the former operations of the House Post Office are the subject of an ongoing criminal investigation by the United States Attorney of the District of Columbia:

Whereas pursuant to its rules, the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct traditionally defers inquiry with respect to a matter that is the subject of an ongoing in-

¶16.10 PRIVILEGES OF THE HOUSE—

Johnson (GA)

Johnson (SD)

Johnson, Sam