HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Hefley McDermott Santorum Herger Sarpalius Hilliard McHugh Sawyer Hinchey McInnis Saxton Hoagland McKeon Schaefer Hobson McKinney Schenk Hochbrueckner McMillan Schiff Schroeder Hoekstra McNulty Hoke Meehan Schumer Holden Scott Meek Sensenbrenner Menendez Horn Houghton Meyers Serrano Mfume Sharp Hoyer Huffington Hughes Michel Shays Miller (CA) Shepherd Hunter Hutchinson Miller (FL) Shuster Hutto Mineta Sisisky Hyde Minge Skaggs Inglis Mink Moakley Inhofe Skelton Inslee Molinari Slattery Istook Mollohan Slaughter Jacobs Montgomery Smith (IA) Smith (MI) Jefferson Moorhead Johnson (CT) Smith (NJ) Moran Morella Smith (OR) Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Murphy Smith (TX) Johnson, E.B. Murtha Snowe Solomon Johnson, Sam Mveers Johnston Nadler Spence Kanjorski Neal (MA) Spratt Norton (DC) Kaptur Stearns Kasich Nussle Stenholm Kennedy Oberstar Strickland Kennellv Obev Studds Kildee Stump Kim Ortiz Stupak Orton Swett King Kingston Oxley Swift Packard Kleczka Synar Talent Klein Pallone Klink Parker Tanner Klug Knollenberg Pastor Tauzin Paxon Taylor (MS) Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Kolbe Taylor (NC) Kopetski Tejeda Kreidler Penny Thomas (CA) Kyl LaFalce Peterson (FL) Thomas (WY) Peterson (MN) Thompson Lambert Petri Thornton Lancaster Pickett Thurman Torkildsen Lantos Pickle LaRocco Pombo Torres Torricelli Laughlin Pomeroy Porter Towns Lazio Poshard Traficant Leach Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Tucker Lehman Underwood (GU) Levin Levy Quillen Unsoeld Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Quinn Rahall Upton Velazquez Lewis (GA) Ramstad Vento Visclosky Rangel Ravenel Lightfoot Volkmer Linder Lipinski Vucanovich Reed Regula Richardson Livingston Walker Long Walsh Ridge Roberts Waters Machtley Watt Maloney Roemer Waxman Mann Rogers Rohrabacher Weldon Manton Wheat Manzullo Romero-Barcelo Whitten Margolies-(PR) Wilson Mezvinsky Ros-Lehtinen Wise Markey Rostenkowski Woolsey Martinez Roth Matsui Roukema Wyden Rowland Mazzoli McCandless Roybal-Allard Yates Young (AK) McCloskey Royce Young (FL) McCollum Rush McCrery Sabo Zeliff McCurdy Sanders Zimmer Sangmeister McDade

Thereupon, Mr. PRICE of North Carolina, Chairman, announced that 413 Members had been recorded, a quorum.

The Committee resumed its business.

¶20.18 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. DURBIN:

Page 408, after line 12, insert the following paragraph (and redesignate succeeding paragraphs accordingly):

(6) Every day approximately 3,000 children start smoking for the first time and 30 percent of all high school seniors are smokers. Half of all new smokers begin before the age of 14, 90 percent before the age of 21, and the average age of the first use of smokeless tobacco products is under the age of 10. Use of tobacco products has been linked to serious health problems. However, because the nicotine in tobacco is an addictive substance, many tobacco users find it difficult to stop using tobacco once they have started. Drug education and prevention programs that include tobacco have been effective in reducing teenage use of tobacco. Drug prevention programs for youth that address only controlled drugs send an erroneous message that the use of tobacco does not have adverse consequences. To be credible, messages opposing illegal drug use by youth should also address other harmful subshould also address other stances.

Page 439, strike lines 1 through 17, and insert the following: $\ensuremath{\mathsf{I}}$

"(1) The term 'drug and violence prevention' means—

"(A) with respect to drugs, prevention, early intervention, rehabilitation referral, or education related to the illegal use of alcohol, the use of tobacco and the use of controlled, illegal, addictive, or harmful substances, including inhalants and anabolic steroids; and

"(B) with respect to violence, the promotion of school safety, such that students and school personnel are free from violent and disruptive acts, including sexual harassment, on school premises, going to and from school, and at school-sponsored activities, through the creation and maintenance of a school environment that is free of weapons and fosters individual responsibility and respect for the rights of other.

It was decided in the affirmative

Yeas 353 Nays 70 Answered present 1

¶20.19 [Roll No. 49] AYES—353

Abercrombie Clay Durbin Edwards (TX) Ackerman Clement Andrews (ME) Clinger Ehlers Andrews (NJ) Coleman Engel Collins (GA) English Archer Bacchus (FL) Eshoo Collins (IL) Bachus (AL) Collins (MI) Evans Baker (CA) Everett Combest Barca Condit Ewing Barrett (NE) Faleomavaega Convers Barrett (WI) (AS) Cooper Farr Fawell Coppersmith Bartlett Becerra Costello Beilenson Fazio Cox Bereuter Coyne Fields (LA) Berman Cramer Fields (TX) Bevill Filner Crapo Bilbray Cunningham Fingerhut Bilirakis Darden Fish de la Garza Bishop Flake Foglietta Blackwell de Lugo (VI) Ford (MI) Blute Deal Boehlert Ford (TN) DeFazio Fowler Frank (MA) Bonilla DeLauro Browder DeLay Brown (CA) Dellums Franks (CT) Brown (OH) Derrick Franks (NJ) Bryant Deutsch Frost Burton Diaz-Balart Furse Buyer Dickey Gallegly Dicks Geidenson Byrne Gephardt Dixon Camp Canady Dooley Doolittle Gibbons Gilchrest Cantwell Gillmor Dornan Cardin Dreier Gilman Duncan Glickman Castle Chapman

Hansen Harman Hayes Hefley Herger Hinchey Hoagland Hobson Hochbrueckner Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hoyer Huffington Hughes Hutchinson Hutto Hyde Inglis Inhofe Inslee Istook Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B Johnston Kaptur Kasich Kennedy Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kleczka Klein Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe Kreidler Kyl LaFalce Lambert Lantos LaRocco Laughlin Leach Lehman Levin Levy Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Lewis (GA) Lightfoot Linder Lipinski Livingston Lloyd Long Lowey Machtley Maloney Manzulla

Allard

Armey Baesler

Baker (LA)

Ballenger

Barcia

Barlow

Barton

Bateman

Bentley

Boehner

Boucher

Brewster

Bunning

Brown (FL)

Bonior

Bliley

Goodling

Goss

Grams

Grandy

Greenwood

Gunderson

Gutierrez

Hall (TX)

Hamburg

Hamilton

Margolies-Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCandless McCollum McCrery McCurdy McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis McKeon McKinney McNulty Meehan Menendez Meyers Mfume Mica Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Moran Morella Murphy Murtha Myers Nadler Neal (MA) Norton (DC) Nussle Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Penny Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickle Pombo Pomeroy Porter Poshard Pryce (OH) Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Richardson Ridge Roberts Roemer Rohrabacher (PR) Ros-Lehtinen Rostenkowski Roth NOES-70

Callahan Carr Clayton Clyburn Coble Danner Dingell Emerson Gekas Geren Gingrich Goodlatte Gordon Green Hancock Hefner Hilliard

Roukema Rowland Roybal-Allard Royce Rush Sabo Sanders Sangmeister Santorum Sarpalius Schenk Schiff Schroeder Schumer Sensenbrenner Serrano Sharp Shaw Shays Shepherd Shuster Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slattery Slaughter Smith (IA) Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Snowe Solomon Stark Stearns Stenholm Stokes Strickland Studds Stupak Swett Swift Synar Talent Tauzin Taylor (MS) Tejeda Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Thornton Thurman Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Underwood (GU) Unsoeld Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Walsh Waters Waxman Weldon Wheat Whitten Wilson Wise Wolf Woolsey

Houghton Hunter Johnson, Sam Kanjorski Kingston Kopetski Lancaster Manton McMillan Meek Mollohan Neal (NC) Paxon Payne (VA) Pickett Price (NC) Quillen

Wyden

Wvnn

Yates

Zeliff

Zimmei

Young (FL)