Wyden

Shaw

Slattery

- (2) will cost the American private sector over \$600,000,000,000 in 1995; and
- (3) will exceed 9 percent of the Nation's Gross Domestic Product and annually cost the average household between \$6,565 and
- (b) SENSE OF CONGRESS.—It is the sense of the Congress that the Federal Government should adopt a regulatory budget that encompasses the economic impact of Federal regulations on the national economy. The ultimate goal of the regulatory budget should be to limit the cost of private and public compliance with Federal regulations to a fixed percentage of the Nation's Gross Domestic Product.

## SEC. 9. SENSE OF THE CONGRESS REGARDING BASELINES.

- (a) FINDINGS.—The Congress finds that—
- (1) the baseline budget shows the likely course of Federal revenues and spending if policies remain unchanged;
- (2) baseline budgeting has given rise to the practice of calculating policy changes from inflated spending levels; and
- (3) the baseline concept has been misused to portray policies that would simply slow down the increase in spending as spending reductions.
- (b) SENSE OF CONGRESS.—It is the sense of the Congress that-
- (1) the President should submit a budget that compares proposed spending levels for the budget year with the current year; and
- (2) the starting point for deliberations on a budget resolution should be the current year. SEC. 10. ADJUSTMENT OF PAY-AS-YOU-GO SCORE-CARD.

It is the sense of the Congress that upon enactment of a reconciliation bill pursuant to section 4, the Director of the Office of Management and Budget shall reduce the balances of direct spending and receipts legislation applicable to each fiscal year under section 252 of the Balanced Budget and Emergency Deficit Control Act of 1985 by an amount equal to the net change in the deficit achieved through the enactment in that Act of direct spending and receipts legislation for that year.

It was decided in the negative ....... 165 Nays ..... 243

## ¶22.10[Roll No. 55] AYES-165

Allard Dornan Hunter Archer Dreier Hutchinson Armey Duncan Hvde Bachus (AL) Dunn Inglis Baker (CA) Ehlers Inhofe Baker (LA) Emerson Istook Ballenger Barrett (NE) Johnson (CT) Everett Ewing Fawell Johnson, Sam Bartlett Kasich Bateman Fingerhut Kim Bereuter Fish King Bilirakis Fowler Kingston Bliley Franks (CT) Klug Knollenberg Blute Franks (N.J) Boehner Gallegly Kolbe Gekas Bonilla Bunning Geren Lazio Burton Gilchrest Leach Gillmor Buyer Callahan Levy Lewis (FL) Gingrich Calvert Goodlatte Linder Camp Goodling Livingston Canady Goss Manzullo Grams Castle McCandless Clinger Grandy McCollum Greenwood Coble McCrery Collins (GA) Gunderson McDade Combest Condit Hancock McHugh Hansen McInnis Hastert McKeon Cooper Hefley Herger Crapo Meyers Cunningham Mica Hobson Michel Deal Miller (FL) DeLay Hoekstra Dickey Hoke Molinari Doolittle Houghton Moorhead

Myers Nussle Oxley Packard Paxon Petri Pombo Porter Portman Pryce (OH) Quinn Ramstad Regula Ridge Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher

Ackerman

Applegate

Baesler

Barcia

Barlow

Becerra

Bentley

Berman

Bevill

Bilbray

Bishop Blackwell

Boehlert

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Brewster

Browder

Bryant

Cantwell

Chapman

Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman

Convers

Costello

Covne

Cramer

Danner

Darden

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Derrick

Deutsch

Dicks

Dixon

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Farr

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Frost

Foglietta

Ford (MI)

Frank (MA)

Gejdenson Gephardt

Gilman

(AS)

Fields (LA)

English

Dingell

Durbin

Diaz-Balart

Edwards (CA)

Edwards (TX)

de la Garza

de Lugo (VI)

Collins (MI)

Coppersmith

Byrne

Cardin

Carr

Clay

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Beilenson

Andrews (ME)

Andrews (NJ)

Bacchus (FL)

Barrett (WI)

Roth Stenholm Roukema Stump Sundquist Royce Santorum Talent Saxton Tauzin Schaefer Schiff Sensenbrenner Shays Shuster Unton Skeen Smith (MI) Walker Walsh Smith (NJ) Smith (OR) Weldon Smith (TX) Wolf Snowe Solomon Spence Zeliff Zimmer Stearns

Glickman Neal (NC) Gonzalez Gordon Obey Green Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Olver Ortiz Hamburg Hamilton Harman Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Hoagland Hochbrueckner Holden Horn Hover Huffington Hughes Hutto Inslee Jacobs Jefferson Reed Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Rose Kennedy Kennelly Kildee Rush Kleczka Sabo Klein Klink Kreidler LaFalce Lambert Lancaster Lantos LaRocco Laughlin Lehman Levin Lewis (GA) Lipinski Long Lowey Machtley Maloney Mann Manton Margolies Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCloskey McCurdy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Faleomavaega Meek Menendez Mfume Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Vento Visclosky Volkmer Montgomery Moran Morella Washington Murphy

Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Torkildsen Vucanovich Young (AK) Young (FL)

Wheat

Dooley Fields (TX)

NOES-243

Norton (DC) Oberstar Owens Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Penny Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Pickett Pickle Pomeroy Poshard Price (NC) Rahall Rangel Richardson Roemer Romero-Barcelo Ros-Lehtinen Rowland Roybal-Allard Sanders Sangmeister Sarpalius Sawyer Schenk Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sharp Shepherd Sisisky Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Smith (IA) Spratt Stark Stokes Strickland Studds Stupak Swett Swift Synar Tanner Taylor (MS) Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torres Torricelli Traficant Tucker Underwood (GU) Unsoeld Valentine Velazquez

Wise Williams Woolsey Yates NOT VOTING-30 Abercrombie Gallo Meehan Miller (CA) Andrews (TX) Gibbons Natcher Barton Gutierrez Brooks Hastings Orton Hayes Kopetski Collins (IL) Pelosi Reynolds Cox Lewis (CA) Rostenkowski Crane

Lightfoot

McMillan

Llovd

Wilson

So the amendment in the nature of a substitute was not agreed to.

After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MOAKLEY, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. SERRANO, Chairman, pursuant to House Resolution 384, reported the concurrent resolution back to the House.

The previous question having been ordered by said resolution.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to said concurrent resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MOAKLEY, announced that the yeas

Mr. KASICH demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said concurrent resolution, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas ...... affirmative ...... Nays ..... 175

922.11[Roll No. 56] AYES-223

Ackerman DeLauro Johnson (SD) Andrews (ME) Applegate Johnson, E. B. Johnston Dellums Derrick Bacchus (FL) Deutsch Kanjorski Baesler Barca Dicks Dingell Kaptur Kennedy Barcia Dixon Kennelly Barlow Durbin Kildee Barrett (WI) Kleczka Edwards (CA) Edwards (TX) Klein Becerra Engel English Beilenson Klink Berman Kreidler Bevill Eshoo LaFalce Bilbray Evans Lambert. Bishop Farr Lantos Blackwell Fazio LaRocco Fields (LA) Laughlin Bonior Filner Lehman Borski Boucher Fingerhut Levin Lewis (GA) Brewster Flake Browder Foglietta Lipinski Long Brown (CA) Ford (MI) Frank (MA) Brown (FL) Lowey Brown (OH) Frost Maloney Bryant Furse Manton Gejdenson Markey Byrne Cantwell Gephardt Martinez Cardin Geren Matsui Glickman Mazzoli Carr Chapman Gordon McCloskey Clay Green McCurdy Clayton Hall (OH) McDermott Clement Hamburg McHale Clyburn Hamilton McKinney Harman McNulty Coleman Collins (MI) Hefner Menendez Condit Hilliard Mfume Conyers Hinchey Mineta Hoagland Cooper Minge Coppersmith Hochbrueckner Mink Moakley Costello Holden Coyne Hoyer Mollohan Hughes Montgomery Cramer Danner Hutto Moran Darden Inslee Murphy de la Garza Jefferson Murtha

Johnson (GA)

Nadler

Waters

Waxman

Deal

Watt

Murtha

Nadler

Neal (MA)