HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Rostenkowski	Skelton	Tucker
Schaefer	Torres	Watt

So the motion to commit was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said bill, as amended?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STUDDS, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. SMITH of New Jersey demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, as amended, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device.

vice.	(
It was decided in the affirmative 237 Nays 169				
¶25.20	[Roll No. 70]			
	AYES—237			
Abercrombie	Franks (CT)	Mineta		
Ackerman	Franks (NJ)	Minge		
Andrews (ME)	Frost	Mink		
Andrews (NJ)	Furse	Moakley		
Andrews (TX)	Gejdenson	Molinari		
Bacchus (FL) Baesler	Gephardt Geren	Montgomery Moran		
Barca	Gibbons	Morella		
Barlow	Gilman	Nadler		
Barrett (WI)	Glickman	Neal (MA)		
Becerra	Gonzalez	Neal (NC)		
Beilenson	Gordon	Obey		
Bereuter	Greenwood	Olver		
Berman	Gutierrez	Orton		
Bilbray	Hamburg	Owens Pallone		
Bishop Blackwell	Hamilton Harman	Pastor		
Boehlert	Hefner	Payne (NJ)		
Bonior	Hilliard	Payne (VA)		
Boucher	Hinchey	Pelosi		
Brewster	Hoagland	Peterson (FL)		
Brooks	Hochbrueckner	Pickett		
Brown (FL)	Horn	Pickle		
Brown (OH)	Houghton	Pomeroy		
Bryant Byrne	Hoyer Huffington	Porter Price (NC)		
Cantwell	Hughes	Pryce (OH)		
Cardin	Inslee	Ramstad		
Carr	Jacobs	Rangel		
Castle	Johnson (CT)	Reed		
Chapman	Johnson (GA)	Reynolds		
Clay Clayton	Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B.	Richardson Ridge		
Clement	Kennedy	Roemer		
Clyburn	Kennelly	Rose		
Coleman	Kleczka	Roukema		
Collins (MI)	Klein	Rowland		
Condit	Klug	Roybal-Allard		
Conyers	Kolbe	Rush Sabo		
Cooper Coppersmith	Kopetski Kreidler	Sanders		
Coyne	Lambert	Sangmeister		
Cramer	Lancaster	Sawyer		
Danner	Lantos	Schenk		
Darden	LaRocco	Schiff		
DeFazio DeL auro	Laughlin	Schroeder		
DeLauro Dellums	Lazio Leach	Schumer Scott		
Derrick	Lehman	Serrano		
Deutsch	Levin	Sharp		
Dicks	Lewis (GA)	Shays		
Dingell	Lloyd	Shepherd		
Dixon	Long	Sisisky		
Dooley Dunn	Lowey	Skaggs		
Durbin	Machtley Maloney	Slattery Slaughter		
Edwards (CA)	Mann	Smith (IA)		
Edwards (TX)	Margolies-	Snowe		
Engel	Mezvinsky	Spratt		
English	Markey	Stark		
Eshoo	Matsui	Stokes		
Evans Fawell	Mazzoli McCandless	Strickland Studds		
Fazio	McCloskey	Swett		
Fields (LA)	McCurdy	Swift		
Filner	McHale	Synar		
Fingerhut	McInnis	Tanner		
Flake Foglietta	McKinney Meeban	Thomas (CA) Thompson		

Thompson

Thornton

Thurman

Torkildser

Foglietta

Ford (MI)

Ford (TN)

Frank (MA)

Meehan

Meyers

Menendez

Miller (CA)

Torricelli Towns Traficant Unsoeld Valentine Velazquez Vento Visclosky Allard Applegate Archer Armey Bachus (AL) Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barcia Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bateman Bentley Bevill Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehner Bonilla Borski Browder Bunning Burton Buyer CaĬlahan Calvert Camp Canady Clinger Coble Collins (GA) Combest Costello Cox Crane Crapo Cunningham de la Garza Deal DeLav Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Ehlers Emerson Everett Ewing Fields (TX) Fish Gallegly Gekas Gilchrest Gillmor Brown (CA) Collins (IL) Farr Fowler Gallo Grandy Green Hastert Hastings

Washington Woolsey Wyden Waters Waxman Wynn Wheat Yates Whitten Zeliff Williams Zimmer Wilson Wise NOES-169 Gingrich Ortiz Goodlatte Oxley Goodling Packard Goss Parker Grams Paxon Gunderson Penny Hall (OH) Peterson (MN) Hall (TX) Petri Hancock Pombo Portman Hansen Hayes Poshard Heflev Quillen Herger Quinn Hobson Rahall Hoekstra Ravenel Hoke Regula Holden Roberts Hunter Rogers Rohrabacher Hutchinson Hutto Ros-Lehtinen Hvde Roth Inglis Royce Inhofe Santorum Istook Sarpalius Johnson, Sam Saxton Kanjorski Sensenbrenner Kaptur Shaw Shuster Kasich Kildee Skeen Smith (MI) Kim King Smith (NJ) Kingston Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Klink Knollenberg Solomon Spence LaFalce Stearns Levy Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Stenholm Stump Stupak Lightfoot Sundquist Lipinski Talent Manzullo Tauzin McCollum Taylor (MS) McCrery McDade Taylor (NC) Tejeda McHugh Thomas (WY) McKeon Upton McMillan Volkmer McNulty Vucanovich Mica Miller (FL) Walker Walsh Mollohan Weldon Moorhead Wolf Murtha Young (AK) Myers Nussle Young (FL) Oberstar NOT VOTING-27 Jefferson Michel Johnston Murphy Linder Natcher Rostenkowski Livingston Manton Schaefer Martinez Skelton McDermott Torres Meek Tucker Mfume Watt

Kyl

So the bill, as amended, was passed. By unanimous consent, the title was amended so as to read: "An Act to amend title 18, United States Code, to assure freedom of access to reproductive services.".

A motion to reconsider the votes whereby said bill, as amended, was passed and the title was amended was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

SCHROEDER, pursuant Mrs. to House Resolution 374, moved that the House insist on its amendments to the bill of the Senate (S. 636) to amend the Public Health Service Act to permit individuals to have freedom of access to

certain medical clinics and facilities, and for other purposes; and request a conference thereon. After debate.

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House insist on its amendments and request a conference?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. STUDDS, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. SMITH of New Jersey objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

Frank (MA)

Menendez

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device. Voor

electronic de	vice.	[
When there	e appeared	Yeas 228 Nays 166
¶25.21	[Roll No. 71]
	YEAS-228	
Abercrombie	Franks (CT)	Miller (CA)
Ackerman	Franks (NJ)	Mineta
Andrews (ME)	Frost	Minge
Andrews (NJ)	Furse	Mink
Andrews (TX)	Gejdenson	Moakley
Bacchus (FL)	Gephardt	Molinari
Barca Barlow	Geren Gibbons	Montgomery Morella
Barrett (WI)	Gilchrest	Nadler
Becerra	Gilman	Neal (MA)
Beilenson	Glickman	Neal (NC)
Bereuter	Gonzalez	Obey
Berman	Gordon	Olver
Bevill	Greenwood	Orton Owens
Bilbray Bishop	Gutierrez Hamburg	Pallone
Blackwell	Hamilton	Pastor
Boehlert	Harman	Payne (NJ)
Bonior	Hefner	Payne (VA)
Borski	Hilliard	Pelosi
Boucher	Hoagland	Peterson (FL)
Brewster Brooks	Hochbrueckner Horn	Pickett Pomeroy
Brown (FL)	Houghton	Porter
Brown (OH)	Huffington	Price (NC)
Bryant	Hughes	Pryce (OH)
Byrne	Inslee	Ramstad
Cantwell	Jacobs	Rangel
Cardin	Jefferson	Reed
Carr Castle	Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA)	Reynolds Richardson
Chapman	Johnson (SD)	Ridge
Clay	Johnson, E. B.	Roemer
Clayton	Kaptur	Rose
Clement	Kennedy	Rowland
Clyburn	Kennelly	Roybal-Allard Rush
Coleman Collins (MI)	Kleczka Klug	Sabo
Condit	Kolbe	Sanders
Conyers	Kopetski	Sangmeister
Cooper	Kreidler	Sawyer
Coppersmith	Lambert	Schenk
Coyne	Lancaster	Schiff
Cramer Danner	Lantos LaRocco	Schroeder Schumer
Darden	Laughlin	Scott
DeFazio	Lazio	Serrano
DeLauro	Leach	Sharp
Dellums	Lehman	Shays
Derrick	Levin	Shepherd
Deutsch Dingell	Lewis (GA) Lloyd	Sisisky Skaggs
Dixon	Long	Slattery
Dooley	Lowey	Slaughter
Durbin	Machtley	Smith (IA)
Edwards (CA)	Maloney	Snowe
Edwards (TX)	Mann	Spratt
Engel English	Margolies- Mezvinsky	Stark Stokes
English Eshoo	Markey	Strickland
Evans	Matsui	Studds
Fawell	Mazzoli	Swett
Fazio	McCloskey	Swift
Fields (LA)	McCurdy	Synar
Filner	McHale	Tanner
Fingerhut Flake	McInnis McKinney	Thompson Thornton
Ford (TN)	Meehan	Thurman
Enople (MA)	Manandaz	Topkildson

Torkildsen