Skeen

Norton (DC)

Nussle

Obey Olver

Ortiz

Orton

Pastor

Penny

Quinn

Řahall

Reed

Rose

Rush

Sabo

Schiff

Scott

Shaw

Skaggs

"(B) the amount set aside for technical assistance under section 162(a)(1)(B) shall be proportionally reduced.

And the House agree to the same. JOHN D. DINGELL, HENRY A. WAXMAN, SHERROD BROWN, CARLOS J. MOORHEAD, TOM BLILEY,

Managers on the Part of the House.

EDWARD M. KENNEDY, TOM HARKIN, HOWARD M. METZENBAUM, NANCY LANDON Kassebaum. DAVE DURENBERGER,

Managers on the Part of the Senate.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, recognized Mr. WAX-MAN and Mr. MOORHEAD, each for 20 minutes.

After debate.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House suspend the rules and agree to said conference report?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, announced that twothirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

So, two-thirds of the Members present having voted in favor thereof, the rules were suspended and said conference report was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the rules were suspended and said conference report was agreed to was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered. That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

# ¶27.19 RECESS—1:42 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess at 1 o'clock and 42 minutes p.m., until 2:30 p.m.

## ¶27.20 AFTER RECESS—2:31 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COLEMAN, called the House to order.

#### ¶27.21 SUBMISSION OF CONFERENCE REPORT-H.R. 1804

Mr. KILDEE submitted a conference report (Rept. No. 103-446) on the bill (H.R. 1804) to improve learning and teaching by providing a national framework for education reform; to promote the research, consensus building, and systemic changes needed to ensure equitable educational opportunities and high levels of educational achievement for all students; to provide a framework for reauthorization of all Federal education programs; to promote the development and adoption of a voluntary national system of skill standards and certifications, and for other purposes; together with a statement thereon, for printing in the Record under the rule.

## ¶27.22 AMERICA'S SCHOOLS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COLEMAN, pursuant to House Resolution 366 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of

the bill (H.R. 6) to extend for six years the authorizations of appropriations for the programs under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, and for certain other purposes.

Mr. PRICE, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

## ¶27.23 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. ROTH:

Beginning on page 618, strike line 1 and all that follows through page 688, line 10.

It was decided in the Yeas ...... 

#### ¶27.24 [Roll No. 73] AYES-58

Duncan McMillan Archer Armey Everett Mica Bachus (AL) Ewing Fawell Myers Baker (CA) Oxlev Fields (TX) Baker (LA) Packard Paxon Barrett (NE) Gekas Goodlatte Bartlett Petri Bentley Hancock Rogers Bliley Bunning Hansen Rohrabacher Herger Roth Burton Hunter Royce Callahan Hutchinson Sensenbrenner Coble Johnson, Sam Shuster Smith (OR) Collins (GA) Combest King Solomon Crane Kingston Spence DeLay Knollenberg Stump Taylor (NC) Dickey Linder Doolittle Manzullo McCandless Dreier

#### NOES-334

Coppersmith Abercrombie Gilman Costello Glickman Andrews (N.J) Coyne Gonzalez Goodling Andrews (TX) Cramer Applegate Crapo Gordon Baesler Cunningham Goss Ballenger Danner Green Darden Greenwood Barcia de la Garza Gunderson Barrett (WI) de Lugo (VI) Hall (OH) Deal Hall (TX) Barton DeFazio Bateman Hamilton Beilenson DeLauro Harman Bereuter Dellums Hastert Berman Derrick Haves Bevill Diaz-Balart Hefley Dicks Dingell Bilbray Hefner Hilliard Bilirakis Bishop Dixon Hinchey Blackwell Dooley Hoagland Blute Dornan Hobson Hochbrueckner Boehner Dunn Bonilla Durbin Hoekstra Edwards (CA) Holden Bonior Borski Edwards (TX) Horn Houghton Brewster Ehlers Brooks Emerson Hover Browder Engel Huffington Brown (CA) English Hughes Hutto Brown (FL) Eshoo Evans Hyde Bryant Farr Inglis Inhofe Byrne Fazio Inslee Calvert Fields (LA) Camp Filner Istook Canady Fingerhut Jacobs Fish Cantwell Jefferson Johnson (CT) Flake Cardin Foglietta Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Ford (MI) Frank (MA) Castle Chapman Kanjorski Clayton Franks (CT) Kaptur Clement Franks (NJ) Kasich Clinger Frost Kennedy Furse Kennelly Coleman Collins (IL) Gallegly Kildee Kleczka Geidenson Gephardt Collins (MI) Klein Condit Geren Gibbons Klink Klug Convers

Kopetski Kreidler Kvl LaFalce Lambert Lancaster Lantos LaRocco Laughlin Lazio Leach Levin Levy Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Lewis (GA) Lightfoot Lipinski Livingston Lloyd Long Machtley Maloney Mann Manton Margolies-Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCollum McCrery McCurdy McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis McKeon McKinney McNulty Menendez Mevers Mfume Michel Miller (FL) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Molinari Mollohan Montgomery Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Nadler Neal (MA) Neal (NC)

Skelton Oberstar Slaughter Smith (IA) Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Pallone Snowe Parker Spratt Stark Payne (NJ) Stearns Payne (VA) Stenholm Strickland Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Stupak Pickett Swett Pombo Swift Synar Talent Pomerov Porter Portman Tanner Poshard Tauzin Price (NC) Taylor (MS) Pryce (OH) Tejeda Thomas (CA) Quillen Thomas (WY) Thompson Ramstad Thornton Rangel Thurman Ravenel Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Regula Reynolds Richardson Towns Traficant Roberts Tucker Unsoeld Roemer Ros-Lehtinen Upton . Valentine Roukema Vento Visclosky Rowland Roybal-Allard Volkmer Vucanovich Walker Sanders Walsh Sangmeister Waters Santorum Watt Sarpalius Waxman Sawver Weldon Saxton Wheat Schaefer Whitten Schenk Williams Wilson Schroeder Wise Schumer Wolf Woolsey Serrano Sharp Wyden Wvnn Yates Shays Shepherd Young (AK) Young (FL) Sisisky

# NOT VOTING-46

Ackerman Gillmor Murphy Andrews (ME) Gingrich Natcher Bacchus (FL) Grams Owens Grandy Barlow Pelosi Becerra Gutierrez Pickle Ridge Romero-Barcelo Boehlert Hamburg Hastings Boucher Buyer Hoke (PR) Rostenkowski Johnson, E. B. Clay Johnston Slattery Cox Deutsch Lehman Stokes Sundauist Lowey McCloskey Faleomavaega Underwood (GU) Ford (TN) Meehan Velazquez Meek Washington Fowler Miller (CA)

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time.

#### ¶27.25 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. WILLIAMS to the amendment submitted by Mr. Sam JOHNSON of Texas:

Amendment submitted by Mr. WIL-LIAMS:

In section 9508, as proposed to be added by the amendment-

(1) in the heading, strike "PROHIBITION AGAINST": and

Kolbe

Gilchrest

Carr