JOURNAL OF THE

Solomon	Tejeda	Walsh
Spence	Thomas (CA)	Washington
Spratt	Thomas (WY)	Waxman
Stark	Thornton	Weldon
Stearns	Thurman	Wheat
Stenholm	Torkildsen	Whitten
Stokes	Torres	Williams
Strickland	Torricelli	Wilson
Studds	Towns	Wise
Stump	Traficant	Wolf
Stupak	Tucker	Woolsey
Swett	Unsoeld	Wyden
Swift	Upton	Wynn
Synar	Valentine	Yates
Talent	Velazquez	Young (AK)
Tanner	Vento	Young (FL)
Tauzin	Visclosky	Zeliff
Taylor (MS)	Vucanovich	Zimmer
Taylor (NC)	Walker	

NOES-20

Abercrombie Edwards (CA) Payne (NJ) Clayton Collins (IL) Ford (MI) Frank (MA) Thompson Collins (MI) Underwood (GU) Kopetski Mink Crane Waters Nadler Dellums Watt Dingell Owens

NOT VOTING-11

Brown (CA) Gillmor Natcher Clay de Lugo (VI) Grandy Sundquist Hastings Volkmer Meek

So the amendment, as amended, was agreed to.

After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DE LA GARZA, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. DARDEN, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶28.10 COMMITTEE OVERSIGHT OF CERTAIN MATTERS

Mr. GEPHARDT moved to suspend the rules and agree to the following resolution (H. Res. 394):

Resolved, That it is the Sense of the House

of Representatives that—
(a) Congress has a Constitutional obligation to conduct oversight of matters relating to the operations of the government, including matters related to any governmental investigations which may, from time to time, be undertaken.

(b) The Speaker, Majority and Minority Leaders should meet to determine the appropriate timetable, procedures, and forum for appropriate Congressional oversight, including hearings on all matters related to "Madison Guaranty Savings and Loan Association ('MGS&L'), Whitewater Development Corporation and Capital Management Services Înc. ('CMS').

(c) No witness called to testify at these hearings shall be granted immunity under sections 6002 and 6005 of Title 18, United States Code, over the objection of Special

Counsel Robert B. Fiske, Jr.
(d) The hearings should be structured and sequenced in such a manner that in the judgment of the Leaders they would not interfere with the ongoing investigation of Special Counsel Robert B. Fiske, Jr.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DE LA GARZA, recognized Mr. GEPHARDT and Mr. MICHEL, each for 20 minutes. After debate,

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House suspend the rules and agree to said resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DE LA GARZA, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

Mr. MICHEL objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 408 When there appeared Nays

¶28.11 [Roll No. 78] YEAS-408

Ackerman Dickey Istook Allard Dicks Jacobs Andrews (ME) Jefferson Johnson (CT) Dingell Andrews (N.J) Dixon Andrews (TX) Johnson (GA) Dooley Applegate Doolittle Johnson (SD) Archer Dornan Johnson, E. B. Armey Dreier Johnson, Sam Bacchus (FL) Duncan Johnston Bachus (AL) Dunn Kaniorski Baesler Durbin Kaptur Baker (CA) Edwards (CA) Kasich Baker (LA) Edwards (TX) Kennedy Ballenger Kennelly Barca Emerson Kildee Barcia Engel Kim English King Barlow Barrett (NE) Eshoo Kingston Barrett (WI) Evans Kleczka Bartlett Klein Everett Barton Ewing Klink Bateman Farr Klug Fawell Knollenberg Becerra Beilenson Fazio Kolbe Fields (LA) Kreidler Bentley Bereuter Fields (TX) Kyl LaFalce Berman Filner Bevill Fingerhut Lambert Bilbray Fish Lancaster Bilirakis Flake Lantos Ford (TN) LaRocco Bishop Blackwell Fowler Laughlin Frank (MA) Bliley Lazio Leach Blute Franks (CT) Boehlert Franks (NJ) Lehman Boehner Frost Levin Bonilla Levy Lewis (CA) Bonior Gallegly Borski Geidenson Lewis (FL) Lewis (GA) Boucher Gekas Gephardt Brewster Lightfoot Brooks Linder Geren Browder Gibbons Lipinski Brown (CA) Gilchrest Livingston Lloyd Brown (FL) Gilman Brown (OH) Gingrich Long Brvant Glickman Lowev Machtley Gonzalez Bunning Burton Goodlatte Mann Buver Goodling Manton Gordon Manzullo Byrne Callahan Goss Margolies-Mezvinsky Calvert Grams Green Markey Camp Canady Greenwood Martinez Cantwell Gunderson Mazzoli McCandless Cardin Gutierrez Hall (OH) McCloskey Carr Hall (TX) Castle McCollum McCrery McCurdy Chapman Hamburg Clayton Hamilton McDade Hancock Clement Clinger Hansen McDermott Clyburn Harman McHale Coble McHugh Hastert Coleman Hayes McInnis Collins (GA) Hefley McKeon McMillan Collins (IL) Hefner McNulty Combest Herger Hilliard Condit. Meehan Menendez Hinchey Cooper Coppersmith Hoagland Meyers Costello Hobson Mfume Hochbrueckner Cox Mica Coyne Hoekstra Michel Miller (FL) Cramer Hoke Holden Crane Mineta Minge Mink Horn Houghton Crapo Cunningham Danner Hoyer Moakley Darden Huffington Molinari Mollohan de la Garza Hughes Hunter Deal Montgomery DeFazio Hutchinson Moorhead DeLauro Hutto Moran Morella DeLay Hyde Derrick Inglis Inhofe Murphy Deutsch

Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Nussle Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Pastor Paxon Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Penny Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pickle Pombo Pomeroy Porter Portman Poshard Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Quillen Quinn Rahall Ramstad Rangel Ravenel Reed Regula Reynolds Richardson Ridge Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Rose

Nadler

Rostenkowski Stump Roth Swett Roukema Swift Rowland Synar Roybal-Allard Talent Royce Tanner Rush Tauzin Sabo Taylor (MS) Sanders Taylor (NC) Sangmeister Tejeda Santorum Thomas (CA) Sarpalius Thomas (WY) Thompson Sawyer Saxton Thornton Schaefer Thurman Schenk Torkildsen Schiff Torricelli Schroeder Traficant Schumer Tucker Unsoeld Scott Sensenbrenner Upton Serrano Valentine Sharp Velazquez Shaw Vento Visclosky Shays Shepherd Volkmer Vucanovich Shuster Walker Sisisky Skaggs Walsh Skeen Watt Skelton Waxman Slattery Weldon Slaughter Wheat Smith (IA) Whitten Smith (MI) Williams Smith (NJ) Wilson Smith (OR) Wise Smith (TX) Wolf Woolsev Snowe Solomon Wyden Spence Wynn Yates Spratt Stark Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Stearns Stenholm Stokes Zimmei Strickland Studds

NAYS-15

Ford (MI) Pelosi Abercrombie Collins (MI) Kopetski Stupak Convers Matsui Towns Dellums Washington McKinney Foglietta Miller (CA)

NOT VOTING-10

Clay Hastings Sundquist Gallo Maloney Torres Gillmor Meek Grandy Natcher

So, two-thirds of the Members present having voted in favor thereof, the rules were suspended and said resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the rules were suspended and said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶28.12 COMMITTEE FUNDING

Mr. FROST, by direction of the Committee on House Administration, called up the following privileged resolution (H. Res. 369):

Resolved, That there shall be paid out of the contingent fund of the House in accordance with this primary expense resolution not more than the amount specified in section 2 for investigations and studies by each committee named in such section, including expenses-

(1) in the case of a committee named in section 3, for procurement of consultant services under section 202(i) of the Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946; and

(2) in the case of a committee named in section 4, for provision of assistance for members of professional staff in obtaining specialized training under section 202(j) of such Act.

SEC. 2. The committees and amounts referred to in the first section are: Committee on Agriculture, \$2,257,937; Committee on

Inslee

Diaz-Balart

Murtha

Myers