HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Montgomery Moran Murphy Murtha Nadler Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Owens Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Penny Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Pickett Pickle Allard Archer Armey Bachus (AL) Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton

Bateman

Bereuter

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Bunning

Burton

Buyer

Bvrne

Camp

Castle

Coble

Collins (GA)

Collins (IL)

Cunningham

Diaz-Balart

Dickey Doolittle

Dornan

Duncan

Dreier

Dunn

Ehlers

Emerson

Everett

Ewing Fawell

Fields (TX)

Fowler Franks (CT)

Franks (NJ)

Gallegly

Gilchrest

Gekas

Combest

Cooper

Cox

Crane

Crapo

Deal

DeL av

Clinger

Callahan

Calvert

Canady

Bliley

Blute

Bentley

1994

Strickland Pomeroy Studds Poshard Stupak Price (NC) Swett Rahall Swift Rangel Synar Reed Tauzin Reynolds Taylor (MS) Richardson Tejeda Roemer Thompson Rose Thornton Rostenkowski Thurman Rowland Torres Roybal-Allard Torricelli Rush Towns Traficant Sabo Tucker Unsoeld Valentine Sanders Sangmeister Sarpalius Velazquez Sawyer Vento Schenk Visclosky Schroeder Volkmer Schumer Washington Scott Waters Serrano Watt Waxman Sharp Shepherd Wheat Whitten Sisisky Williams Skaggs Wise Skelton Woolsey Slattery Wvden Slaughter Wynn Smith (IA) Yates Spratt Stark Stenholm Stokes

NAYS-176 Gillmor Moorhead Gilman Morella Gingrich Myers Goodlatte Nussle Goodling Orton Goss Oxlev Grams Packard Greenwood Paxon Gunderson Petri Pombo Hancock Hansen Porter Portman Hastert Hayes Pryce (OH) Hefley Quillen Herger Quinn Hobson Ramstad Hoekstra Ravenel Hoke Regula Horn Ridge Roberts Houghton Huffington Rogers Hunter Rohrabacher Hutchinson Ros-Lehtinen Hyde Roth Inglis Royce Santorum Inhofe Istook Saxton Johnson (CT) Schaefer Johnson, Sam Schiff Sensenbrenner Kasich Kim Shaw Shavs King Kingston Shuster Klug Knollenberg Skeen Smith (MI) Kolbe Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Lazio Snowe Solomon Leach Levv Spence Lewis (CA) Stearns Lewis (FL) Stump Sundquist Lightfoot Linder Talent Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Livingston Machilev Thomas (WY) Manzullo McCollum McCrery Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich McDade McHugh Walker Walsh McInnis Weldon McKeon McMillan Wolf Young (AK) Meyers Mica Young (FL) Michel Zeliff

Kyl

Miller (FL)

Molinari

Zimmer

NOT VOTING-12

So the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

\$32.15 HOUR OF MEETING

On motion of Mr. DERRICK, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 10 o'clock a.m. on Thursday, April 14, 1994

¶32.16 SUBPOENA

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, laid before the House a communication, which was read as follows:

Hon. THOMAS S. FOLEY,

Speaker, House of Representatives, Washington, DC.

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: This is to inform you, pursuant to Rule L (50) of the Rules of the House, that I was served with a subpoena issued by the United States District Court for the District of South Carolina.

After consultation with the General Counsel, it was determined that compliance was consistent with the privileges and precedents of the House.

Sincerely

JAMES H. BILBRAY. Member of Congress.

\$32.17 CHILD SAFETY PROTECTION

On motion of Mrs. COLLINS of Illinois, by unanimous consent, the bill (H.R. 965) to provide for toy safety, and for other purposes; together with the amendment of the House to the amendment of the Senate thereto, was taken from the Speaker's table.

When on motion of Mrs. COLLINS of Illinois, it was.

Resolved. That the House insist upon its amendment to the amendment of the Senate and agree to the conference asked by the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon.

Thereupon, the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, by unanimous consent, announced the appointment of the following Members as managers on the part of the House at said conference:

From the Committee on Energy and Commerce, for consideration of the House bill, and the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Mr. DINGELL, Mrs. COLLINS of Illinois, and Messrs. TOWNS, MOORHEAD, and STEARNS.

As additional conferees from the Committee on Public Works and Transportation, for consideration of sections 201-03, 205 and 206 of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. MINETA, OBERSTAR, RAHALL, SHUSTER, and PETRI.

Ordered. That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

\$32.18 ORGAN AND BONE MARROW TRANSPLANTATION

On motion of Mr. WAXMAN, by unanimous consent, the bill (H.R. 2659) to amend the Public Health Service Act to revise and extend programs relating to the transplantation of organs and of bone marrow; together with the amendment of the Senate thereto, was taken from the Speaker's table.

When on motion of Mr. WAXMAN, it was.

Resolved, That the House disagree to the amendment of the Senate and agree to the conference asked by the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon.

Thereupon, the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, by unanimous consent, announced the appointment of Messrs. DINGELL, WAXMAN, WASHINGTON, MOORHEAD, and BLILEY as managers on the part of the House at said conference.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

\$32.19 SENATE BILLS REFERRED

Bills of the Senate of the following titles were taken from the Speaker's table and, under the rule, referred as follows:

S. 859. An Act to reduce the restrictions on lands conveyed by deed under the Act of June 8, 1926; to the Committee on Natural Resources.

S. 1586. An Act to establish the New Orleans Jazz National Historical Park in the State of Louisiana; and for other purposes; to the Committee on Natural Resources.

\$32.20 SENATE ENROLLED BILL SIGNED

The SPEAKER announced his signature to an enrolled bill of the Senate of the following title:

S. 1206. An Act to redesignate the Federal building located at 380 Trapelo Road in Wal-tham, Massachusetts, as the "Frederick C. Murphy Federal Center.

\$32.21 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted to Mr. FISH, for today and balance of the week. And then,

¶32.22 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. KINGSTON, pursuant to the special order heretofore agreed to, at 6 o'clock and 13 minutes p.m., the House adjourned until 10 o'clock a.m. on Thursday, April 14, 1994

\$32.23 REPORTS OF COMMITTEES ON PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 2 of rule XIII, reports of committees were delivered to the Clerk for printing and reference to the proper calendar, as follows:

Mr. BROWN of California: Committee on Science, Space, and Technology. H.R. 3254. A bill to authorize appropriations for the National Science Foundation, and for other purposes; with an amendment (Rept. No. 103-475). Referred to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union.

\$32.24 PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 5 of rule X and clause 4 of rule XXII, public bills and resolu-