Franks (CT)

¶33.19 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. WATT:

Page 40, strike lines 23 through 25.

Page 46, strike lines 22 through 24.

Page 47, line 17, after "tors" insert "listed in section 3592'

Page 48, line 2, after "factor" insert "listed in section 3592"

Page 50, beginning in line 19, strike "and any other" and all that follows through 'exist'' on line 21.

Yeas It was decided in the Nays Answered 308 negative present

[Roll No. 111] ¶33.20AYES-116

Abercrombie Hilliard Rangel Hinchey Hochbrueckner Ackerman Reed Andrews (ME) Reynolds Barrett (WI) Hoyer Romero-Barcelo Beilenson Hughes Inslee (PR) Roybal-Allard Bishop Blackwell Jacobs Rush Bonior Jefferson Sabo Brown (CA) Johnson, E. B. Sanders Sawyer Brown (OH) Johnston Cardin Schumer Kennedy Kennelly Clay Scott Clayton Kildee Serrano Kleczka Clyburn Sharp Collins (IL) Klug Skaggs Kopetski Collins (MI) Slaughter Smith (NJ) Convers Levin Lewis (GA) Coyne Stark de Lugo (VI) Lowey Stokes Strickland Dellums Maloney Dixon Studds Edwards (CA) Markey Swift McCloskey Engel Synar McDermott Thompson Evans McKinney Towns Faleomavaega McNulty Tucker Underwood (GU) (AS) Meek Farr Mfume Unsoeld Fields (LA) Miller (CA) Velazquez Filner Mineta Vento Visclosky Flake Mink Mollohan Foglietta Waters Ford (MI) Nadler Watt Norton (DC) Frank (MA) Waxman Furse Oberstar Wheat Gejdenson Obey Woolsey Olver Gonzalez Wvnn Gutierrez Owens Yates Payne (NJ) Pelosi Hamburg

NOES-308

Hastings

Allard Brewster Danner Andrews (NJ) Brooks Darden Andrews (TX) Browder de la Garza Applegate Archer Brown (FL) Deal DeFazio Brvant Armey Bunning DeLauro Bacchus (FL) DeLay Derrick Burton Bachus (AL) Buver Baesler Byrne Deutsch Baker (CA) Callahan Diaz-Balart Baker (LA) Dickey Calvert Ballenger Camp Dicks Canady Dingell Barca Barcia Cantwell Dooley Barlow Carr Castle Doolittle Barrett (NE) Dornan Bartlett Chapman Dreier Barton Clement Duncan Bateman Clinger Dunn Bentley Coble Durbin Edwards (TX) Coleman Collins (GA) Bereuter Berman Ehlers Bevill Combest Emerson Bilbray Bilirakis Condit English Cooper Everett Bliley Coppersmith Ewing Blute Boehlert Costello Fawell Fazio Cox Fields (TX) Boehner Cramer Bonilla Crane Fingerhut Ford (TN) Borski Crapo Boucher Cunningham Fowler

Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Ridge Roberts Franks (NJ) Frost Lightfoot Roemer Gallegly Linder Rogers Gekas Lipinski Rohrabacher Gephardt Livingston Ros-Lehtinen Geren Llovd Rose Long Machtley Gibbons Rostenkowski Gilchrest Roth Rowland Gillmor Manton Manzullo Gilman Royce Sangmeister Gingrich Margolies-Mezvinsky Glickman Santorum Goodlatte Martinez Sarpalius Gordon Matsui Saxton Schaefer Goss Mazzoli Grams McCandless Schenk Green McCollum Schiff McCrery McCurdy Schroeder Greenwood Gunderson Hall (OH) Sensenbrenner McDade Shaw Hall (TX) McHale Shays Hamilton McHugh Shepherd Hancock McInnis Shuster Hansen McKeon Sisisky Harman McMillan Skeen Meehan Skelton Hastert Slattery Smith (IA) Hayes Menendez Hefley Meyers Smith (MI) Hefner Mica Michel Herger Smith (OR) Hoagland Hobson Miller (FL) Smith (TX) Minge Snowe Hoekstra Moakley Solomon Hoke Molinari Spence Holden Montgomery Spratt Moorhead Horn Stearns Houghton Moran Stenholm Morella Huffington Stump Stupak Hunter Murtha Hutchinson Myers Neal (MA) Sundquist Swett Hutto Hyde Talent Nussle Inglis Ortiz Tanner Inhofe Orton Tauzin Oxley Istook Taylor (MS) Johnson (CT) Packard Taylor (NC) Tejeda Johnson (GA) Pallone Johnson (SD) Parker Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Johnson, Sam Pastor Kanjorski Paxon Thornton Payne (VA) Thurman Torkildsen Kaptur Kasich Penny Peterson (FL) Kim Torres Torricelli Traficant King Peterson (MN) Petri Kingston Pickett Upton Vucanovich Walker Klink Pickle Knollenberg Pombo Kolbe Pomeroy Walsh Kreidler Kyl Porter Portman Weldon Williams LaFalce Poshard Wilson Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Lambert Wolf Lancaster Wyden Lantos Quinn Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff LaRocco Rahall Lazio Ramstad Leach Ravenel Zimmei Regula Richardson Lehman Levy

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Goodling

NOT VOTING-12

Laughlin Becerra Roukema Murphy Neal (NC) Quillen Fish Valentine Gallo Washington Whitten Grandy

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GIB-BONS, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. TORRICELLI, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶33.21 CONGRESSIONAL BUDGET FOR U.S.,

On motion of Mr. SABO, by unanimous consent, the concurrent resolution (H. Con. Res. 218) setting forth the congressional budget for the United States Government for fiscal years 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, and 1999; together with the amendment of the Senate thereto, was taken from the Speaker's table.

When on motion of Mr. SABO, it was, Resolved, That the House disagree to the amendment of the Senate and agree to the conference asked by the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

¶33.22 MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES-H. CON. RES. 218

Mr. KASICH moved that the managers on the part of the House at the conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on H. Con. Res. 218, be instructed to agree to the Senate amendment reflecting a \$26 billion reduction in the deficit over five years by agreeing to reduce the total spending levels specified in section 2(2) and 2(3) of the House-passed resolution as fol-

Fiscal year 1995-\$4.4 billion in budget authority and \$1.6 billion in outlays;

Fiscal year 1996-\$4.9 billion in budget authority and \$1.5 billion in outlays;

Fiscal year 1997-\$5.8 billion in budget authority and \$4 billion in outlays;

Fiscal year 1998—\$9.9 billion in budget authority and \$7 billion in outlays; and

Fiscal year 1999—\$21.8 billion in budget au-

thority and \$9.9 billion in outlays. Provided further, That conferees be instructed to agree to that portion of section 50 of the Senate amendment which provides

that "If the President's defense budget request is approved, since 1985 real defense spending will have been reduced by 45 percent by 1999; and President Clinton, during his State of the Union Address on January 25, 1994, promised no further cuts in defense spending, and therefore insist that no further cuts be made in defense by agreeing to the highest possible level of funding for defense (within the scope of the conference).

After debate,

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Ms. SHEPHERD, announced that the nays

Mr. KASICH objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present, The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas When there appeared Nays 216

¶33.23[Roll No. 112] YEAS-202

Allard Bateman Buyer Callahan Andrews (NJ) Bentley Andrews (TX) Bereuter Calvert Archer Bliley Camp Canady Blute Armey Cantwell Bachus (AL) Boehner Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Castle Clement Bonilla Brewster Ballenger Browder Clinger Brown (OH) Barca Coble Barrett (NE) Bunning Collins (GA)