McHale

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

McMillan

McNultv

Meyers

Michel

Minge

Moran

Morella

Murtha

Nussle

Ortiz

Orton

Oxley

Packard

Parker

Pastor

Paxon

Penny

Petri

Pickett

Pombo

Porter

Pomeroy

Portman

Poshard

Quillen

Ravenel

Regula

Ridge

Roberts

Roemer

Rogers

Roth

Roukema

Rowland

Ford (MI)

Gephardt Gibbons

Gonzalez

Gutierrez Hall (OH)

Hamburg

Hastings

Hefner

Hilliard

Hinchey

Hoyer

Hughes

Jacobs

Jefferson

Johnston

Kennedv

Kennelly

Kildee Kleczka

Kopetski

LaFalce

Laughlin

Levin Lewis (GA)

Lantos

Lowey

Mann

Maloney

Manton

Markey

Matsui

Mazzoli

McCloskey

Margolies-Mezvinsky

Hoagland

Hochbrueckner

Johnson, E. B.

Frost

Furse Gejdenson

Ford (TN) Frank (MA)

Royce

Rohrabacher

NOES-159

Richardson

Quinn Ramstad

Pryce (OH)

Payne (VA)

Myers Neal (NC)

Molinari

Miller (FL)

Montgomery

Moorhead

Mica

year term; to the Federal Council on the Aging.

\$35.14 MODIFICATION IN APPOINTMENT OF CONFEREES-H.R. 2333

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, by unanimous consent, and pursuant to clause 6 of rule X, announced the following modification in the appointment of conferees on (H.R. 2333) to authorize appropriations for the Department of State, the United States Information Agency and related agencies, to authorize appropriations for foreign assistance programs, and for other purposes; in the second panel from the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Mr. DIAZ-BALART is appointed in lieu of Mr. ROTH only for consideration of section 755 of the Senate amendment.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

¶35.15 CRIME CONTROL

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MONTGOMERY, pursuant to House Resolution 401 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4092) to control and prevent crime.

Mr. TORRICELLI, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein

¶35.16 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. HYDE:

Page 91, strike line 15 and all that follow	vs
through line 16 on page 106.	

affirmative	cided in the	Nays 15
¶35.17	[Roll No. 119]	
	AYES-270	
Allard	Canady	Emerson
Andrews (NJ) Archer	Cantwell Carr	English Everett
Armey	Castle	Ewing
Bacchus (FL)	Chapman	Fawell
Bachus (AL)	Clement	Fazio
Baesler	Clinger	Fields (TX)
Baker (CA)	Coble	Fingerhut
Baker (LA)	Collins (GA)	Fowler
Ballenger	Combest	Franks (CT)
Barca	Condit	Franks (NJ)
Barcia	Cooper	Gallegly
Barrett (NE)	Coppersmith	Gekas
Bartlett	Costello	Geren
Barton	Cox	Gilchrest
Bateman	Cramer	Gillmor Gilman
Bentley Bereuter	Crane Crapo	Gingrich
Bevill	Cunningham	Glickman
Bilirakis	Danner	Goodlatte
Bliley	Darden	Goodling
Blute	de la Garza	Gordon
Boehlert	Deal	Goss
Boehner	DeLay	Grams
Bonilla	Deutsch	Green
Borski	Diaz-Balart	Greenwood
Brewster	Dickey	Gunderson
Browder	Dicks	Hall (TX)
Brown (OH)	Dooley	Hamilton
Bunning	Doolittle	Hancock
Burton	Dornan Dreier	Hansen
Buyer Byrne	Duncan	Harman Hastert
Callahan	Duncan Dunn	Hayes
Calvert	Edwards (TX)	Hefley
Camp	Ehlers	Herger

Hohson
Hobson
Hoekstra
Hoke
Holden
Horn
Houghton
Huffington
Hunter
Hutchinson
Hutto
Hyde
Inglis
Inhofe
Inslee
Istook
Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA)
Johnson (GA)
Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam
Johnson, Sam
Kanjorski
Kaptur
Kasich
Kim
KIIII
King Kingston
Kingston
Klein
Klink
Klug Knollenberg
Knollenberg
Kolbe
Kreidler
Kyl
Lambert
Lancaster
LaRocco
Lazio
Leach
Lehman
Levy
Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL)
Lewis (FL)
Lightfoot
Lightfoot Linder
Lininglei
Lipinski
Lloyd
Long
Machtley
Manzullo
Martinez
McCandless
McCandless McCollum
McConum
McCrery McCurdy
McCurdy
McDade
Abercrombie
Ackerman
Andrews (ME)
Andrews (TX)
Applegate
Barlow
Barrett (WI)
Becerra

Beilenson Berman Bilbray Bishop Blackwell Bonior Boucher Brooks Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Bryant Cardin Clay Clayton Clyburn Coleman Collins (MI) Conyers Coyne de Lugo (VI) DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Derrick Dingell Dixon Durbin Edwards (CA) Engel Eshoo Evans Farr Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta

Sangmeister Santorum Sarpalius Saxton Schaefer Schenk Schiff Shaw Shavs Shepherd Shuster Sisisky Skeen Skelton Slattery Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Snowe Solomon Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stump Stupak Sundquist Peterson (MN) Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Thurman Torkildsen Traficant Upton Valentine Volkmer Vucanovich Walker Walsh Weldon Williams Wolf Wyden Ros-Lehtinen Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff

> McDermott McKinnev Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Mollohan Murphy Nadler Neal (MA) Norton (DC) Oberstar Obev Olver Owens Pallone Payne (NJ) Pelosi Pickle Price (NC) Rahall Rangel Reed Revnolds Rose Rostenkowski Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sharp Skaggs Slaughter Smith (IA)

Stark

Sensenbrenner Zimmei

Synar Thompson Thornton Torres Torricelli Collins (IL) Fish

Towns Waxman Tucker Wheat Underwood (GU) Whitten Unsoeld Wilson Velazquez Wise Vento Woolsey Visclosky Wvnn Washington Yates Waters Watt NOT VOTING-8 Gallo Grandy Faleomavaega

Romero-Barcelo (PR) Livingston Peterson (FL)

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

¶35.18 RECORDED VOTE

Stokes

Studds

Swett

Swift

(AS)

Strickland

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. DERRIČK:

TITLE VIII-HABEAS CORPUS REFORM

SEC. 801. FILING DEADLINES.

Section 2254 of title 28, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following

(g)(1) In the case of an applicant under sentence of death, any application for habeas corpus relief under this section must be filed in the appropriate district court not later than 1 year after-

'(A) the date of denial of a writ of certiorari, if a petition for a writ of certiorari to the highest court of the State on direct appeal or unitary review of the conviction and sentence is filed, within the time limits es-"(B) the date of issuance of the mandate of

the highest court of the State on direct appeal or unitary review of the conviction and sentence, if a petition for a writ of certiorari is not filed, within the time limits established by law, in the Supreme Court; or

(C) the date of issuance of the mandate of the Supreme Court, if on a petition for a writ of certiorari the Supreme Court grants the writ and disposes of the case in a manner that leaves the capital sentence undisturbed. (2) The time requirements established by this section shall be tolled-

(A) during any period in which the State has failed to provide counsel as required in section 2257 of this chapter;

(B) during the period from the date the applicant files an application for State postconviction relief until final disposition of the application by the State appellate courts, if all filing deadlines are met; and

'(C) during an additional period not to exceed 90 days, if counsel moves for an extension in the district court that would have jurisdiction of a habeas corpus application and makes a showing of good cause.

SEC. 802. STAYS OF EXECUTION IN CAPITAL CASES.

Section 2251 of title 28. United States Code. is amended-

(1) by inserting "(a)(1)" before the first paragraph;

(2) by inserting "(2)" before the second paragraph; and

(3) by adding at the end the following:

(b) In the case of an individual under sentence of death, a warrant or order setting an execution shall be stayed upon application to any court that would have jurisdiction over an application for habeas corpus under this chapter. The stay shall be contingent upon reasonable diligence by the individual in pursuing relief with respect to such sentence and shall expire it-

(1) the individual fails to apply for relief under this chapter within the time requirements established by section 2254(g) of this chapter;