HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Schaefer Spratt Stearns Schenk Schiff Stenholm Stokes Strickland Scott Serrano Sharp Studds Shaw Stupak Sundquist Shays Shepherd Swett Talent Shuster Sisisky Tanner Skeen Skelton Tauzin Taylor (MS) Slattery Smith (NJ) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Smith (OR) Thompson Smith (TX) Thornton Snowe Thurman Torkildsen Solomon Torricelli Spence

Visclosky Volkmer Walsh Waters Weldon Wheat Wilson Wolf Woolsey Young (AK) Young (FL)

Traficant

Velazquez

Underwood (GU)

Tucker

Upton

Vento

NOES-116

Hoekstra Abercrombie Pickle Archer Hughes Jefferson Porter Poshard Armey Baesler Johnson (GA) Reed Reynolds Baker (LA) Johnson, Sam Barton Johnston Roberts Becerra Kanjorski Rohrabacher King Kingston Rostenkowski Roybal-Allard Beilenson Bereuter Royce Berman Kleczka Brooks Knollenberg Rush Brown (CA) Kolbe Sabo Brown (FL) Kopetski Schroeder Kyl LaFalce Cantwell Schumer Sensenbrenner Cardin Castle LaRocco Skaggs Chapman Lehman Slaughter Lewis (CA) Smith (IA) Coleman Combest Lewis (FL) Smith (MI) Coppersmith Lowey Stark Manzullo Stump DeLav Matsui Swift McCandless Dellums Synar Thomas (CA) Dicks McCrery Dreier McCurdy Thomas (WY) McDermott Durbin Torres Edwards (CA) McKeon Towns Meek Michel English Unsoeld Frank (MA) Valentine Gejdenson Miller (CA) Vucanovich Gibbons Miller (FL) Walker Gilchrest Watt Mineta Glickman Minge Waxman Gonzalez Mink Wyden Nadler Wynn Goss Gunderson Oxley Hamburg Pastor Zeliff Harman Paxon Zimmer Hastings

NOT VOTING-11

Bryant Martinez Washington Fish McDade Whitten Gallo McNulty Williams Neal (NC)

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

¶36.21 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. GORDON:

At the appropriate place in the bill add the following:

SECTION . AWARDS OF PELL GRANTS TO PRIS-ONERS PROHIBITED.

Section 401(b)(8) the Higher Education Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. 1070a(b)(8)) is amended to read as follows:

"(8) No basic grant shall be awarded under this subpart to any individual who is incarcerated in any Federal or State penal institution.'

SEC. . EFFECTIVE DATE.

The amendment made by this Act shall apply with respect to periods of enrollment beginning on or after the date of enactment of this Act.

It was decided in the Yeas affirmative Nays 116

¶36.22

Ackerman

Applegate

Andrews (NJ)

Andrews (TX)

Bacchus (FL)

Bachus (AL)

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE) Barrett (WI)

Ballenger

Barca

Barcia

Barlow

Bartlett

Barton

Bateman

Bentley

Bereuter

Bevill

Bilbray

Bishop

Bliley

Blute

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Borski

Boucher

Brewster

Browder

Bryant

Burton

Buver

Byrne

Callahan

Calvert

Canady

Castle

Cantwell

Chapman

Clement

Coleman

Combest

Condit

Cooper

Costello

Cramer

Danner

Darden

DeFazio

DeLauro

DeLay

Deutsch

Dickey

Dingell

Dooley Doolittle

Dornan

Dreier

Dunn

Durbin

Ehlers

Emerson English

Everett

Ewing

(AS)

Fawell

Edwards (TX)

Faleomavaega

Duncan

Dicks

Diaz-Balart

Deal

de la Garza

Cox

Collins (GA)

Coppersmith

Crapo Cunningham

Clinger

Coble

Camp

Bunning

Brown (OH)

Allard

Archer

Armey

Baesler

McCurdy

McHale

McHugh

McInnis

McMillan

Menendez

Miller (FL)

Meehan

Meyers

Michel

Minge

Moakley

Molinari

Morella

Murphy

Murtha

Nussle

Obey

Ortiz

Orton

Oxley

Packard

Pallone

Parker

Pastor

Paxon

Penny

Petri

Pickett

Pombo

Porter

Pomeroy

Portman

Poshard

Pryce (OH)

Payne (VA)

Peterson (FL)

Peterson (MN)

Oberstar

Myers Neal (MA) Neal (NC)

Mollohan

Montgomery Moorhead

Mica

[Roll No. 136] AYES-312 Fields (TX) Fingerhut Fowler Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frost Gallegly Gekas Geren Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gingrich Glickman Goodlatte Gordon Goss Grams Gunderson Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen

Harman Hastert Hayes Hefley Hefner Herger Hoagland Hochbrueckner Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hoyer Huffington Hunter Hutchinson Hutto Inglis Inhofe Inslee Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, Sam Kanjorski

Kaptur

Kasich

Kim

King

Kennelly

Kingston

Klug Knollenberg

Kleczka

Klein

Klink

Kolbe

Kreidler

LaFalce

Lambert

Lantos

Lazio

Leach

Lehman

Levy Lewis (CA)

Lewis (FL)

Lightfoot

Linder

Lloyd

Long

Lowey

Machtley

Maloney

Manzullo

Margolies-

McCandless

McCollum

Mezvinsky

Manton

Mazzoli

Lipinski

Livingston

LaRocco

Laughlin

Lancaster

Rahall Ramstad Ravenel Regula Richardson Ridge Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Rose Rostenkowski Roth Roukema Rowland Royce Sangmeister Santorum Sarpalius Saxton Schaefer Schenk Schiff Schroeder Schumer Sensenbrenner Shaw Shays Shepherd Shuster Sisisky Skeen Skelton Slattery Smith (IA) Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (OR)

Smith (TX)

Snowe Solomon

Spence

Spratt

Stearns

Stenholm

Stump Stupak Sundquist Swett Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Thornton Thurman Torkildsen Torricelli Traficant Upton Valentine Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich NOES-116 Walker Williams Wise Wolf Wyden Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff **Z**immer

Greenwood Abercrombie Quillen Andrews (ME) Hall (OH) Řangel Becerra Hamburg Reed Beilenson Hastings Hilliard Reynolds Romero-Barcelo Berman Blackwell Hinchey (PR) Roybal-Allard Bonior Hobson Houghton Brooks Brown (CA) Hughes Sabo Jacobs Sanders Brown (FL) Cardin Jefferson Sawyer Johnson, E. B. Clay Clayton Scott Johnston Serrano Clyburn Kennedy Sharp Collins (IL) Kildee Skaggs Collins (MI) Kopetski Slaughter Conyers Levin Stark Coyne de Lugo (VI) Lewis (GA) Stokes Strickland Mann Dellums Markey Studds Derrick Martinez Swift Dixon Synar Matsui Edwards (CA) McCloskey Thompson McDermott Engel Torres Evans McKinney Towns Farr Meek Tucker Mfume Fields (LA) Underwood (GU) Miller (CA) Filner Unsoeld Flake Mineta Velazquez Mink Foglietta Vento Ford (MI) Moran Walsh Ford (TN) Frank (MA) Nadler Washington Norton (DC) Watt Waxman Furse Olver Gejdenson Owens Wheat Payne (NJ) Wilson Gephardt Gonzalez Woolsey Goodling Pickle Wynn Price (NC) Green Yates

NOT VOTING-9

McNulty Grandy Crane Gutierrez Fish Waters Gallo McDade Whitten

So the amendment was agreed to.

¶36.23 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. WYNN:

At the appropriate place in the bill add the

SEC. . PELL GRANTS AND PRISONERS.

(A) GENERAL RULE.—After January 1, 1996, Federal and State prison inmates shall not be eligible for grants under subpart 1 of part A of title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 (referred to in this section as "Pell grants'') unless-

(1) in the case of inmates of Federal prisons, including prisons for the District of Columbia and territories of the United States, the Secretary of Education makes the certification prescribed by subsection (b), and

(2) in the case of inmates of State prisons, the Governor of the State in which the prison is located makes the certification prescribed by subsection (b).

(b) CERTIFICATION.—The certification required by subsection (a) to receive a Pell grant is a certification that the provision of Pell grants to prisoners-

 $\overline{}$ shows satisfactory evidence of reducing recidivism.

(2) is cost effective, and

(3) requires that the inmates make satisfactory academic progress toward completion of the education program for which the grant was made