## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Quillen

Quinn

Kasich

Meek

Mfume

Mineta

Minge Mink

Moran

Nadler

Obey

Olver

Ortiz

Owens

Parker

Pastor

Pelosi

Penny

Quinn

Rahall

Rangel

Reed

Rose

Rush

Sabo

Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Glickman Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamburg Hamilton Harman Hastings Haves Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Hoagland Hochbrueckner Hover Hughes Inslee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedv Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klein Kopetski Kreidler LaFalce Lambert Lantos LaRocco Laughlin Levin Lewis (GA) Long Lowey Maloney Mann Manton Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli

McCloskey Sangmeister McCurdy Sawyer McDermott Schenk McHale Schroeder McKinney Schumer McNultv Scott Meehan Serrano Sharp Menendez Shays Shepherd Miller (CA) Skaggs Skelton Slattery Slaughter Moaklev Smith (IA) Mollohan Spratt Montgomery Stark Stokes Morella Strickland Murphy Studds Murtha Stupak Swett Neal (MA) Swift Neal (NC) Svnar Oberstar Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torres Torricelli Pallone Towns Traficant Payne (NJ) Tucker Payne (VA) Unsoeld Valentine Velazquez Peterson (FL) Vento Visclosky Peterson (MN) Pickle Volkmer Pomeroy Walsh Washington Poshard Price (NC) Waters Watt Waxman Wheat Whitten Revnolds Williams Richardson Wilson Wise Woolsey Roemer Rostenkowski Wyden Roybal-Allard Wynn Yates Sanders

## NOT VOTING-5

Andrews (NJ) Gallo Lewis (CA) Fish Grandy

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said bill? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mrs. KENNELLY, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. McCOLLUM demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by onefifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device. 1

It was de	ecided in the	Yeas	285
affirmativ	e	Nays	141
¶37.12	[Roll No. 14	4]	

		-
	AYES-285	i
Abercrombie	Bilirakis	Buyer
Ackerman	Bishop	Byrne
Andrews (TX)	Blackwell	Calvert
Applegate	Blute	Camp
Bacchus (FL)	Boehlert	Canady
Baesler	Bonilla	Cantwell
Barca	Bonior	Cardin
Barcia	Borski	Carr
Barlow	Boucher	Chapman
Barrett (WI)	Brewster	Clayton
Becerra	Brooks	Clement
Beilenson	Browder	Clyburn
Bentley	Brown (CA)	Coleman
Berman	Brown (FL)	Condit
Bevill	Brown (OH)	Conyers
Bilbray	Bryant	Cooper

Coppersmith Costello Coyne Cramer Cunningham Danner Darden de la Garza DeFazio DeLauro Derrick Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dicks Dingell Dixon Dooley Durbin Edwards (CA) Edwards (TX) Engel English Eshoo Evans Ewing Farr Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Fingerhut Flake Foglietta Foley Ford (TN) Fowler Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frost Gallegly Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Glickman Gordon Green Greenwood Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamburg Hamilton Harman Hastert Hayes Hefner Hinchey Hoagland Hobson Hochbrueckner Holden Horn Houghton Hoyer Huffington Hughes Hunter Hutto Inslee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur

Allard

Archer

Armey

Andrews (ME)

Bachus (AL)

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA) Ballenger

Bartlett

Bateman

Bereuter Bliley

Boehner

Bunning

Callahan

Burton

Barton

Barrett (NE)

Kennedy Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klein Klink Klug Kreidler LaFalce Lambert Lancaster Lantos LaRocco Laughlin Lazio Leach Lehman Levin Levy Lipinski Lloyd Long Lowev Machtley Maloney Mann Manton Margolies-Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCandless McCloskey McCurdy McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mevers Mfume Mica Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Molinari Montgomery Moran Morella Murphy Murtha Nadler Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Pickett Pickle Pomeroy Poshard Price (NC) Pryce (OH) NOES-141 Castle Clay Clinger Coble Collins (GA) Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Combest

. Rahall Ramstad Ravenel Reed Regula Reynolds Richardson Ridge Roemer Rogers Ros-Lehtinen Rose Rostenkowski Roth Roukema Rowland Roybal-Allard Royce Sanders Sangmeister Santorum Sawver Schenk Schroeder Schumer Sharp Shaw Shavs Shepherd Sisisky Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Smith (IA) Smith (NJ) Snowe Spence Spratt Stark Strickland Studds Stupak Sundquist Swett Swift Synar Talent Tanner Taylor (MS) Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Tucker Unsoeld Upton . Valentine Vento Visclosky Volkmer Walsh Weldon Wheat Whitten Williams Wilson Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Young (FL) Duncan Dunn Ehlers Emerson Everett Fawell Fields (TX) Ford (MI) Gekas Geren Gingrich Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling

Hancock Hansen Hastings Hefley Herger Hilliard Hoekstra Hoke Hutchinson Hvde Inglis Inhofe Istook Johnson, Sam Kim King Kingston Knollenberg Kolbe Kopetski Kvl Lewis (FL) Lewis (GA) Lightfoot Linder Livingston Manzullo McCollum McCrery Andrews (NJ)

Fish

Scott Sensenbrenner McMillan Serrano Michel Miller (FL) Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Mollohan Moorhead Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Solomon Stearns Stenholm Stokes Stump Tauzin Payne (NJ) Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Velazquez Vucanovich Portman Walker Washington Waters Rohrabacher Watt Waxman Wolf Sarpalius Yates Young (AK) Zeliff Zimmer NOT VOTING-7 Slattery

Lewis (CA) Furse

McInnis

McKeon

Myers

Nussle

Owens

Paxon

Penny

Pombo

Porter

Rangel

Rush

Sabo

Saxton

Schiff

Gallo

Grandv

Schaefer

Roberts

Petri

Oberstar

Oxley Packard

So the bill was passed. On motion of Mr. BROOKS, pursuant to House Resolution 401, the bill (H.R. 3355) to amend the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 to allow grants to increase police presence, to expand and improve cooperative efforts between law enforcement agencies and members of the community to address crime and disorder problems, and otherwise to enhance public safety; together with the amendment of the Senate thereto, was taken from the Speaker's table.

On motion of Mr. BROOKS, pursuant to House Resolution 401, said Senate amendment was agreed to with an amendment inserting the text of H.R. 4092 as passed by the House in lieu of the matter proposed to be inserted by the Senate.

On motion of Mr. BROOKS, by unanimous consent, the title of H.R. 3355 was amended so as to read: "The Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994.".

A motion to reconsider the votes whereby said Senate amendment to H.R. 3355 was agreed to with amendments of the House and the amendment to the title of the bill were agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

On motion of Mr. BROOKS, pursuant to House Resolution 401. it was.

Resolved, That the House insist upon its amendments to the amendment of the Senate to H.R. 3355 and request a conference with the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

¶37.13 MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES-H.R. 3355

Mr. McCOLLUM moved that the managers on the part of the House at the conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on House amendments to the Senate amendment to the bill H.R. 3355, be instructed to insist on

## **§**37.13

697

Goss

Grams

Gunderson

Hall (TX)

Cox

Crane

Crapo

DeLay Dellums

Doolittle

Dickey

Dornan

Dreier

Deal