DICK GEPHARDT, DALE E. KILDEE, ANTHONY BEILENSON, HOWARD L. BERMAN, BOB WISE, JOHN BRYANT, CHARLIE STENHOLM, BARNEY FRANK, LOUISE M. SLAUGHTER, Managers on the Part of the House.

JIM SASSER. FRITZ HOLLINGS, J. BENNETT JOHNSTON, Managers on the Part of the Senate.

When said conference report was considered.

After debate,

On motion of Mr. SABO, the previous question was ordered on the conference report to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said conference report?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McNULTY, announced that the nays had it.

Mr. SABO objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 220 When there appeared Nays 183

$\P 44.18$ [Roll No. 161] YEAS-220

Abercrombie Durbin Kopetski Edwards (CA) Ackerman Kreidler Andrews (ME) Edwards (TX) LaFalce Andrews (TX) Engel Lambert Applegate Eshoo Lancaster Bacchus (FL) Evans Lantos Baesler Farr LaRocco Barca Fazio Lehman Barlow Fields (LA) Levin Lewis (GA) Barrett (WI) Filner Becerra Flake Lloyd Beilenson Ford (TN) Long Frank (MA) Berman Lowey Maloney Bilbray Frost Bishop Furse Manton Bonior Geidenson Markey Borski Gephardt Martinez Boucher Mazzoli Geren McCloskev Gibbons Brewster McCurdy Brooks Glickman Browder Gonzalez McDermott Brown (CA) Gordon McHale Brown (FL) Green McKinney Brown (OH) Gutierrez McNulty Hall (OH) Meehan Brvant Byrne Hamburg Meek Menendez Cantwell Hamilton Cardin Mfume Harman Carr Hastings Miller (CA) Chapman Hayes Hefner Mineta Clayton Minge Clyburn Hilliard Mink Moakley Coleman Hinchey Collins (IL) Hoagland Mollohan Montgomery Collins (MI) Hochbrueckner Condit. Holden Moran Conyers Hoyer Murphy Coppersmith Costello Hughes Murtha Inslee Nadler Coyne Jefferson Oberstar Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Cramer Obey Danner Olver Darden Johnson, E.B. Ortiz de la Garza DeLauro Johnston Orton Kanjorski Owens Pallone Dellums Kaptur Kennedy Kennelly Derrick Parker Pastor Deutsch Payne (NJ) Dicks Kildee Dingell Kleczka Payne (VA) Pelosi Dixon Klein

Klink

Dooley

Peterson (MN) Pickle Pomeroy Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Roemer Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sarpalius Sawver Schenk Schroeder Schumer

Allard

Archer

Armey

Barcia

Barton

Bentley

Bliley

Blute

Bonilla

Burton

Calvert

Canady

Castle Clinger

Coble

Cooper

Cox Crane

Crapo

Deal

Dickey

Dornan

Dreier

Dunn

Ehlers

English

Everett

Ewing

Fawell

Fowler

Gallo

Gekas

Bevill

Clay

Fish

Peterson (FL)

Blackwell

Clement

Doolittle

Foglietta

Ford (MI) Hall (TX)

Herge

Gilchrest

Duncan

Camp

Buver

Scott Towns Tucker Shepherd Unsoeld Skaggs Valentine Slattery Velazquez Slaughter Vento Smith (IA) Visclosky Spratt Volkmer Stenholm Waters Stokes Watt Strickland Waxman Studds Wheat Whitten Stupak Swift Williams Synar Wilson Tanner Wise Tauzin Woolsey Tejeda Wyden Thompson Wynn Thornton Thurman Torres Torricelli

NAYS-183

Gillmor Moorhead Andrews (NJ) Gilman Morella Gingrich Nussle Packard Goodlatte Bachus (AL) Goodling Paxon Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Goss Penny Grams Petri Ballenger Grandy Pickett Greenwood Pombo Barrett (NE) Gunderson Porter Bartlett Hancock Portman Hansen Quillen Hastert Bateman Quinn Ramstad Hefley Bereuter Hobson Ravenel Bilirakis Hoekstra Regula Hoke Ridge Roberts Horn Boehlert Houghton Rohrabacher Boehner Huffington Ros-Lehtinen Hunter Roth Bunning Hutchinson Roukema Hutto Royce Hyde Saxton Callahan Inglis Schaefer Schiff Inhofe Sensenbrenner Istook Jacobs Shaw Johnson (CT) Shays Johnson, Sam Shuster Kasich Sisisky Collins (GA) Skeen Skelton Kim Combest King Smith (MI) Kingston Klug Knollenberg Smith (NJ) Smith (OR) Kolbe Smith (TX) Cunningham Kyl Snowe Lazio Solomon DeFazio Leach Spence DeLay Diaz-Balart Levy Lewis (CA) Stearns Stump Lewis (FL) Sundquist Lightfoot Talent Linder Taylor (MS) Livingston Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Machtley Mann Thomas (WY) Manzullo Emerson Torkildsen Margolies-Traficant. Mezvinsky Upton McCrery Vucanovich McDade Walker Fields (TX) McHugh Walsh Fingerhut McInnis Weldon McKeon Wolf Franks (CT) McMillan Young (AK) Franks (N.I) Meyers Young (FL) Gallegly Zeliff Mica Michel Zimmer Miller (FL)

NOT VOTING-29

Molinari

Laughlin Lipinski Matsui McCandless McCollumMyers Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Oxley Price (NC)

Pryce (OH) Rogers Sangmeister Santorum Serrano Sharp Stark Swett Washington

So the conference report was agreed to.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

¶44.19 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 2442

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103-495) the resolution (H. Res. 420) providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 2442) to authorize appropriations under the Public Works and Economic Development Act of 1965, as amended, to revise administrative provisions of the Act to improve the authority of the Secretary of Commerce to administer grant programs, and for other pur-

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

¶44.20 ADJOURNMENT OVER

On motion of Mr. GEPHARDT, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 12 o'clock noon on Monday, May 9, 1994.

¶44.21 CALENDAR WEDNESDAY BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

On motion of Mr. GEPHARDT, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That business in order for consideration on Wednesday, May 11, 1994, under clause 7, rule XXIV, the Calendar Wednesday rule, be dispensed with.

¶44.22 BRITISH-AMERICAN INTERPARLIAMENTARY GROUP

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MCNULTY, announced that pursuant to the provisions of section 168(b) of Public Law 102-138, the Speaker did appoint to the British-American Interparliamentary Group, Mr. HAMILTON, Chairman, Mr. LANTOS, Vice Chairman, and Messrs. MURPHY, BOEHLERT, LEWIS of Florida, and McMILLAN, on the part of the House

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

¶44.23 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— NATIONAL ENDOWMENT FOR DEMOCRACY

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McNULTY, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

Pursuant to the provisions of section 504(h) of Public Law 98-164, as amended (22 U.S.C. 4413(i)), I transmit herewith the 10th Annual Report of the National Endowment for Democracy, which covers fiscal year 1993.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, May 5, 1994.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

¶44.24 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— FEDERAL ADVISORY COMMITTEES

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McNULTY, laid before the House a