minute rule. The amendment in the nature of a substitute recommended by the Committee on the Judiciary now printed in the bill shall be considered as read. All points of order against the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute are waived. No amendment to the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute and no other amendment to the bill shall be in order. At the conclusion of consideration of the bill for amendment the Committee shall rise and report the bill to the House with such amendment as may have been adopted. The previous question shall be considered as ordered on the bill and any amendment thereto to final passage without intervening motion except one motion to recommit with or without instructions.

When said resolution was considered. After debate,

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the resolution to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to said resolu-

tion? SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr.

MAZZOLI, announced that the yeas Mr. SOLOMON objected to the vote

on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV. and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 220 When there appeared Nays 209

¶44.7[Roll No. 155]

YEAS-220 Abercrombie Dingell Kleczka Ackerman Dixon Klein Andrews (ME) Kopetski Dooley Andrews (NJ) Durbin Kreidler Edwards (CA) Andrews (TX) LaFalce Applegate Bacchus (FL) Edwards (TX) Lantos Laughlin Engel English Eshoo Barcia Lehman Barrett (WI) Levin Becerra Evans Lewis (GA) Beilenson Farr Lipinski Berman Fazio Lloyd Bevill Fields (LA) Bilbray Filner Maloney Blackwell Fingerhut Mann Flake Foglietta Bonior Manton Margolies-Borski Boucher Ford (MI) Mezvinsky Brewster Brooks Ford (TN) Markey Frank (MA) Martinez Brown (CA) Frost Matsui Brown (FL) Furse Mazzoli Brown (OH) Gejdenson McCloskev McCurdy Bryant Gephardt McDermott Byrne Gibbons Cantwell Glickman McHale Cardin Gonzalez McKinney Carr Gordon McNulty Chapman Meehan Gutierrez Hall (OH) Clay Meek Clayton Menendez Hamburg Harman Clement Mfume Miller (CA) Clyburn Hastings Coleman Hefner Mineta Hilliard Collins (IL) Mink Hinchey Collins (MI) Moakley Hoagland Convers Mollohan Cooper Hochbrueckner Montgomery Moran Morella Coppersmith Hoyer Coyne Hughes Cramer Inslee Murphy Danner Jacobs Jefferson Murtha Darden Nadler Neal (MA) Johnson (SD) de la Garza DeFazio DeLauro Johnson, E.B. Johnston Neal (NC) Oberstar Dellums Kaptur Obey Derrick Kennedy Olver Deutsch Kennelly Ortiz

Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Pickett. Price (NC) Quillen Řahall Reed Reynolds Richardson Ridge Roemer Rose Rostenkowski Roukema Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders

Allard

Sangmeister Sarpalius Thompson Thornton Sawyer Torres Torricelli Schenk Towns Schroeder Schumer Traficant Scott Tucker Serrano Unsoeld Sharp Shepherd Valentine Velazquez Sisisky Vento Visclosky Washington Skaggs Slattery Slaughter Smith (IA) Watt Waxman Spratt Stokes Whitten Wise Strickland Studds Woolsey Stupak Wyden Swift Wynn Tejeda

NAYS-209

Myers

Goodling

Archer Nussle Goss Grams Orton Armey Bachus (AL) Oxley Packard Grandy Baesler Green Baker (CA) Greenwood Parker Baker (LA) Gunderson Paxon Ballenger Hall (TX) Penny Barca Peterson (MN) Hamilton Petri Barlow Hancock Barrett (NE) Hansen Pombo Bartlett Hastert Pomeroy Barton Haves Porter Hefley Bateman Portman Bentley Herger Poshard Pryce (OH) Bereuter Hobson Bilirakis Hoekstra Quinn Ramstad Bishop Hoke Bliley Holden Ravenel Regula Houghton Boehlert Roberts Rohrabacher Huffington Boehner Ros-Lehtinen Bonilla Hutchinson Browder Roth Bunning Hutto Royce Burton Santorum Hyde Buver Inglis Saxton Callahan Inhofe Schaefer Calvert Istook Schiff Johnson (CT) Sensenbrenner Camp Canady Johnson (GA) Shaw Shays Castle Johnson, Sam Clinger Kaniorski Shuster Coble Kasich Skeen Collins (GA) Kim Skelton Smith (MI) Combest King Condit Kingston Smith (NJ) Costello Klink Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Cox Klug Knollenberg Crane Snowe Crapo Cunningham Kolbe Solomon Kvl Spence Lambert Stearns DeLay Lancaster Stenholm Diaz-Balart LaRocco Stump Dickey Doolittle Sundquist Lazio Leach Swett Dornan Talent Levy Dreier Lewis (CA) Tanner Duncan Lewis (FL) Tauzin Lightfoot Taylor (MS) Dunn Ehlers Linder Taylor (NC) Emerson Livingston Machtley Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Everett Ewing Fawell Manzullo Thurman McCandless Torkildsen Fields (TX) McCollum Upton Fish Fowler McCrery McDade Volkmer Vucanovich McHugh Franks (CT) Walker Franks (NJ) Gallegly McInnis Walsh Weldon McKeon Gallo McMillan Williams Gekas Meyers Wilson Mica Wolf Geren Gilchrest Michel Young (AK) Miller (FL) Gillmor Young (FL) Zeliff Gilman Minge Molinari Gingrich Zimmer

NOT VOTING-3

Rogers

Rangel So the resolution was agreed to.

Moorhead

Goodlatte

Long

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶44.8 ASSAULT WEAPONS BAN

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MAZZOLI, pursuant to House Resolution 416 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 4296) to make unlawful the transfer or possession of assault weapons.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MAZZOLI, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. VOLKMER as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole for the first hour and Mr. MFUME as Chairman of the Committe of the Whole for the second hour; and after some time spent therein.

The SPEAKER resumed the Chair.

When Mr. MFUME, Chairman, pursuant to House Resolution 416, reported the bill back to the House with an amendment adopted by the Committee.

The previous question having been

ordered by said resolution.

The following amendment, reported from the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union, was agreed to:

Strike out all after the enacting clause and insert

SECTION 1. SHORT TITLE.

This Act may be cited as the "Public Safety and Recreational Firearms Use Protection Act'

SEC. 2. RESTRICTION ON MANUFACTURE, TRANS-FER, AND POSSESSION OF CERTAIN SEMIAUTOMATIC ASSAULT WEAP-ONS.

(a) RESTRICTION.—Section 922 of title 18, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following:

(v)(1) It shall be unlawful for a person to manufacture, transfer, or possess a semiautomatic assault weapon.

'(2) Paragraph (1) shall not apply to the possession or transfer of any semiautomatic assault weapon otherwise lawfully possessed on the date of the enactment of this sub-

(3) Paragraph (1) shall not apply to-

"(A) any of the firearms, or replicas or duplicates of the firearms, specified in Appendix A to this section, as such firearms were manufactured on October 1, 1993;

(B) any firearm that-

"(i) is manually operated by bolt, pump, lever, or slide action;

"(ii) has been rendered permanently inoperable: or

(iii) is an antique firearm;

"(C) any semiautomatic rifle that cannot accept a detachable magazine that holds more than 5 rounds of ammunition; or

(D) any semiautomatic shotgun that cannot hold more than 5 rounds of ammunition in a fixed or detachable magazine.

The fact that a firearm is not listed in Appendix A shall not be construed to mean that paragraph (1) applies to such firearm. No firearm exempted by this subsection may be deleted from Appendix A so long as this Act is in effect.

(4) Paragraph (1) shall not apply to-

"(A) the United States or a department or agency of the United States or a State or a department, agency, or political subdivision of a State;

"(B) the transfer of a semiautomatic assault weapon by a licensed manufacturer, li-