Accord. In December, the United States also filed its Statement of Defense in A/27, a claim brought by Iran for the alleged failure of the United States to enforce a Tribunal award in Iran's favor against a U.S. national. Because of this alleged failure, Iran requested that the United States Government be required to pay Iran for all the outstanding awards against U.S. nations in favor of Iran.

5. As reported in November 1992, José Maria Ruda, President of the Tribunal, tendered his resignation on October 2, 1992. On December 4, 1993, Professor Krysztof Skubiszewski was appointed Chairman of Chamber Two of the Tribunal, filling the vacancy left by Judge Ruda's departure. On February 16, 1994, Professor Skubiszewski also was appointed the President of the Tribunal. Before joining the tribunal Professor Skubiszewski served as Minister of Foreign Affairs in Poland from 1989 to 1993. He joined the "Solidarity" move-ment there in 1980, and served on several councils before becoming Minister of Foreign Affairs. In addition to his political Professor experience, Skubiszewski has had a long and distinguished academic career in the field of international law. He is currently on leave from the Institute of Law, Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw, and has lectured at universities throughout Europe. He is also the author of a number of international law publications. In announcing the appointment, the Tribunal's Appointing Authority, Charles M.J.A. Moons, emphasized Professor Skubiszewski's "extensive experience in the management of state affairs and the conduct of international relations," in addition to his "scholarly renown.'

6. As anticipated by the May 13, 1990, agreement settling the claims of U.S. nationals for less than \$250,000.00, the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission (FCSC) has continued its review of 3,112 claims. As of March 31, 1994, the FCSC has issued decisions in 2,538 claims, for total awards of more than \$40 million. The FCSC expects to complete its adjudication of the remaining claims this year.

7. The situation reviewed above continues to implicate important diplomatic, financial, and legal interests of the United States and its nationals and presents an unusual challenge to the national security and foreign policy of the United States. The Iranian assets Control Regulations issued pursuant to Executive Order No. 12170 continue to play an important role in structuring our relationship with Iran and in enabling the United States to implement properly the Algiers Accords. Similarly, the Iranian Transactions Regulations issued pursuant to Executive Order No. 12613 continue to advance important objectives in combating international terrorism. I shall continue to exercise the powers at my disposal to deal with these problems and will continue to report periodically to

the Congress on significant developments.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, *May 14, 1994.* 

By unanimous consent, the message was referred to the Committee on Foreign Affairs and ordered to be printed (H. Doc. 103–256).

¶50.17 NUCLEAR PROLIFERATON

The Clerk then read the second message from the President, as follows:

To The Congress of the United States: As required under section 601(a) of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Act of 1978 (Public Law 95-242; 22 U.S.C. 3281(a)), I am transmitting a report on the activities of United States Government departments and agencies relating to the prevention of nuclear proliferation. It covers activities between January 1, 1993, and December 31, 1993.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, *May 16, 1994.* 

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

## **\$50.18** MONTANA WILDERNESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MAZZOLI, pursuant to House Resolution 423 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 2473) to designate certain National Forest lands in the State of Montana as wilderness, to release other National Forest Lands in the State of Montana for multiple use management, and for other purposes.

Ms. WOOLSEY, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein.

## **§50.19** RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. DELAY:

On page 34, line 8, strike	e Section 9 in its
entirety.	(
It was decided in the negative	Yeas 182
negative	Nays 244

L L	-	
[Roll No. 172]		
AYES—182		
Calvert	Dreier	
Camp	Duncan	
Canady	Dunn	
Castle	Edwards (TX)	
Clement	Emerson	
Clinger	Everett	
Coble	Ewing	
Collins (GA)	Fawell	
Combest	Fields (TX)	
Condit	Fowler	
Cooper	Gallegly	
Cox	Gekas	
Cramer	Geren	
Crane	Gingrich	
Crapo	Goodlatte	
Cunningham	Goodling	
Danner	Goss	
Deal	Grams	
DeLay	Greenwood	
Diaz-Balart	Gunderson	
Dickey	Hall (TX)	
Doolittle	Hancock	
Dornan	Hansen	
	AYES—182 Calvert Camp Canady Castle Clement Clinger Coble Collins (GA) Combest Condit Cooper Cox Crape Crape Crane Crane Crane Crane Crane Crane Crane Crane Crane Crane Delal DeLay Dickey Doolittle	

Harman Hastert Haves Hefley Herger Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Houghton Huffington Hunter Hutchinson Hutto Hyde Inglis Inhofe Istook Jacobs Johnson, Sam Kasich Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe Kyl Lambert Laughlin Lazio Leach Levv Lewis (CA) Lewis (FL) Lightfoot Linder Livingston

Lloyd

Lucas

Manzullo

McCandless

McCollum

McCrery

McDade

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

Mica

Michel

Myers

Nussle

Oxley

Packard

Parker

Paxon

Penny

Petri

Pickle

Pombo

Quinn

Ramstad

Regula Reynolds

Ridge Roberts

Rogers

(AS)

Fields (LA)

Fingerhut

Foglietta

Ford (MI)

Frank (MA)

Franks (CT)

Franks (NJ)

Gejdenson

Gephardt

Gilchrest

Gibbons

Gillmor

Gilman

Glickman

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Hall (OH)

Hamburg

Hamilton

Hastings

Hefner

Hilliard

Hinchey

Holden

Hoyer

Hughes

Inslee

Jefferson

Johnston

Kanjorski

Kaptur

Kildee

Klein

Klink

Kleczka

Kopetski Kreidler

LaFalce

Lantos

Lancaster

Kennedy

Kennelly

Johnson (CT)

Johnson (GA)

Johnson (SD)

Johnson, E. B.

Hoagland

Hochbrueckner

Gordon

Green

Farr

Fazio

Filner

Fish

Flake

Frost

Furse

Gallo

Rohrabacher

Faleomavaega

Portman

Pryce (OH) Quillen

Peterson (MN)

McMillan

Miller (FL)

Moorhead

Montgomery

Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews (ME) Andrews (NJ) Andrews (TX) Applegate Bacchus (FL) Baesler Barca Barrett (WI) Becerra Beilenson Berman Bevill Bilbray Bishop Blackwell Blute Boehlert Bonior Borski Boucher Brewster Brooks Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Brvant Byrne Cantwell Cardin Carr Chapman Clay Clayton Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Convers Coppersmith Costello Coyne Darden de Lugo (VI) DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Derrick Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Dooley Durbin Edwards (CA) Ehlers Engel Eshoo Evans

Roth Royce Santorum Sarpalius Schaefer Schenk Schiff Sensenbrenner Shaw Shuster Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Spence Tanner

Solomon Stearns Stenholm Stump Sundquist Talent Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Upton Valentine Vucanovich Walker Weldon Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff

NOES-244

LaRocco Lehman Levin Lewis (GA) Lipinski Long Lowey Machilev Maloney Mann Manton Margolies Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCloskey McCurdy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Meyers Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Molinari Mollohan Moran Morella Murphy Murtha Nadler Neal (MA) Norton (DC) Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Pickett Pomeroy Porter Poshard Price (NC) Rahall