Roth

Royce

Santorum

Sarpalius

Schaefer

Sensenbrenner

Schenk

Schiff

Shaw

Accord. In December, the United States also filed its Statement of Defense in A/27, a claim brought by Iran for the alleged failure of the United States to enforce a Tribunal award in Iran's favor against a U.S. national. Because of this alleged failure, Iran requested that the United States Government be required to pay Iran for all the outstanding awards against U.S. nations in favor of Iran.

5. As reported in November 1992, José Maria Ruda, President of the Tribunal, tendered his resignation on October 2, 1992. On December 4, 1993, Professor Krysztof Skubiszewski was appointed Chairman of Chamber Two of the Tribunal, filling the vacancy left by Judge Ruda's departure. On February 16, 1994, Professor Skubiszewski also was appointed the President of the Tribunal. Before joining the tribunal Professor Skubiszewski served as Minister of Foreign Affairs in Poland from 1989 to 1993. He joined the "Solidarity" movement there in 1980, and served on several councils before becoming Minister of Foreign Affairs. In addition to his Professor political experience, Skubiszewski has had a long and distinguished academic career in the field of international law. He is currently on leave from the Institute of Law, Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw, and has lectured at universities throughout Europe. He is also the author of a number of international law publications. In announcing the appointment, the Tribunal's Appointing Authority, Charles M.J.A. Moons, emphasized Professor Skubiszewski's "extensive experience in the management of state affairs and the conduct of international relations," in addition to his "scholarly renown.'

6. As anticipated by the May 13, 1990, agreement settling the claims of U.S. nationals for less than \$250,000.00, the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission (FCSC) has continued its review of 3,112 claims. As of March 31, 1994, the FCSC has issued decisions in 2,538 claims, for total awards of more than \$40 million. The FCSC expects to complete its adjudication of the remaining claims this year.

7. The situation reviewed above continues to implicate important diplomatic, financial, and legal interests of the United States and its nationals and presents an unusual challenge to the national security and foreign policy of the United States. The Iranian assets Control Regulations issued pursuant to Executive Order No. 12170 continue to play an important role in structuring our relationship with Iran and in enabling the United States to implement properly the Algiers Accords. Similarly, the Iranian Transactions Regulations issued pursuant to Executive Order No. 12613 continue to advance important objectives in combating international terrorism. I shall continue to exercise the powers at my disposal to deal with these problems and will continue to report periodically to

the Congress on significant developments.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON.

THE WHITE HOUSE, May 14, 1994.

By unanimous consent, the message was referred to the Committee on Foreign Affairs and ordered to be printed (H. Doc. 103-256).

¶50.17 NUCLEAR PROLIFERATON

The Clerk then read the second message from the President, as follows:

To The Congress of the United States:

As required under section 601(a) of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Act of 1978 (Public Law 95-242; 22 U.S.C. 3281(a)), I am transmitting a report on the activities of United States Government departments and agencies relating to the prevention of nuclear proliferation. It covers activities between

January 1, 1993, and December 31, 1993.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON.

THE WHITE HOUSE, May 16, 1994.

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

¶50.18 MONTANA WILDERNESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MAZZOLI, pursuant to House Resolution 423 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 2473) to designate certain National Forest lands in the State of Montana as wilderness, to release other National Forest Lands in the State of Montana for multiple use management, and for other purposes.

Ms. WOOLSEY, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent there-

¶50.19 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. DELAY:

On page 34, line 8, strike Section 9 in its

It was decided in the Yeas 182 negative Nays 244

¶50.20[Roll No. 172] AYES-182

Allard Calvert Archer Camp Canady Armey Bachus (AL) Castle Baker (CA) Clement Clinger Baker (LA) Ballenger Coble Collins (GA) Barcia Barrett (NE) Combest Bartlett. Condit Barton Cooper Bateman Cox Bentley Cramer Bereuter Crane Bilirakis Crapo Cunningham Bliley Boehner Danner Bonilla Deal Browder DeLay Diaz-Balart Bunning

Burton

Callahan

Buyer

Dreier Duncan Dunn Edwards (TX) Emerson Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Fowler Gallegly Gekas Geren Gingrich Goodlatte Goodling Goss Grams Greenwood Gunderson Hall (TX) Hancock

Harman Lloyd Hastert Lucas Manzullo Haves Hefley Herger Hobson McDade Hoekstra Hoke Horn Houghton Huffington Hunter Mica Hutchinson Michel Hvde Inglis Inhofe Myers Istook Nussle Oxley Jacobs Johnson, Sam Kasich Parker Paxon Kim King Penny Kingston Klug Knollenberg Petri Pickle Kolbe Pombo Kyl Lambert Laughlin Lazio Quinn Leach Levv Regula Lewis (CA) Ridge Roberts Lewis (FL) Lightfoot Rogers Livingston

Abercrombie

Andrews (ME)

Andrews (NJ)

Andrews (TX)

Bacchus (FL)

Barrett (WI)

Ackerman

Applegate

Baesler

Becerra

Berman

Bevill

Bilbray

Bishop

Blackwell

Boehlert

Bonior

Boucher

Brewster

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Brooks

Brvant

Byrne

Cardin

Carr

Clay

Cantwell

Chapman

Clayton

Clyburn

Coleman

Convers

Costello

Covne

Darden

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Derrick

Deutsch

Dicks

Dingell

Dixon

Dooley

Durbin

Ehlers

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Edwards (CA)

Collins (IL)

Collins (MI)

Coppersmith

de Lugo (VI)

Beilenson

Barca

McCandless McCollum McCrery McHugh McInnis McKeon McMillan Miller (FL) Montgomery Moorhead Packard Peterson (MN) Portman Pryce (OH) Quillen Ramstad Reynolds Rohrabacher NOES-244

Shuster Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Solomon Stearns Stenholm Stump Sundquist Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Upton Valentine Vucanovich Walker Weldon Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff

LaRocco

Lehman

Faleomavaega (AS) Farr Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Fingerhut Fish Flake Foglietta Ford (MI) Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (N.J.) Frost Furse Gallo Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Glickman Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamburg Hamilton Hastings Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Hoagland Hochbrueckner Holden Hoyer Hughes Inslee Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klein Klink Kopetski Kreidler LaFalce Lancaster

Lantos

Levin Lewis (GA) Lipinski Long Lowey Machilley Maloney Mann Manton Margolies-Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCloskey McCurdy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Meyers Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Molinari Mollohan Moran Morella Murphy Murtha Nadler Neal (MA) Norton (DC) Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Pickett Pomeroy Porter Poshard

Price (NC) Rahall

Dickey Doolittle