HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

		Yeas 155 Nays 271	Hoke Horn Houghton	McDade McDermott McHale	Scott Shaw Shuatan
151.13	[Roll No. 179]		Houghton Hoyer	McHugh	Shuster Sisisky
	AYES-155		Huffington	McInnis	Skaggs
Abercrombie	Holden	Poshard	Hunter	McKeon	Skeen
Andrews (ME)	Hughes	Price (NC)	Hutchinson	McMillan	Skelton
Barca	Inslee	Rahall	Hutto Hyde	McNulty	Slattery
Barrett (WI)	Jacobs	Ramstad	Inglis	Meyers Mica	Smith (IA) Smith (MI)
Becerra	Johnston	Reed	Inhofe	Michel	Smith (NJ)
Beilenson	Kanjorski	Reynolds	Istook	Miller (FL)	Smith (OR)
Berman Blackwell	Kaptur Kennedy	Roemer Romero-Barcelo	Jefferson	Molinari	Smith (TX)
Bonior	Kennelly	(PR)	Johnson (CT)	Mollohan	Snowe
Brown (OH)	Kildee	Rostenkowski	Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD)	Montgomery Moorhead	Solomon Spence
Bryant	Kleczka	Roth	Johnson, E.B.	Moran	Spratt
Cantwell	Klein	Roukema	Johnson, Sam	Murtha	Stearns
Carr Clay	Klug Kopetski	Roybal-Allard Rush	Kasich	Myers	Stenholm
Clayton	Kreidler	Sabo	Kim	Ortiz	Stump
Collins (IL)	LaFalce	Sanders	King	Orton	Sundquist
Collins (MI)	Lambert	Sangmeister	Kingston Klink	Oxley Packard	Swett Swift
Condit	Leach	Sawyer	Knollenberg	Packard Parker	Talent
Conyers	Lehman	Schenk	Kolbe	Pastor	Tanner
Coyne	Levin	Schroeder	Kyl	Paxon	Tauzin
DeFazio DeLauro	Lewis (GA) Maloney	Schumer Sensenbrenner	Lancaster	Payne (VA)	Taylor (MS)
DeLauro Dellums	Maloney Manton	Sensenbrenner Serrano	Lantos	Peterson (FL)	Taylor (NC)
Derrick	Margolies-	Sharp	LaRocco	Pickett	Tejeda
Deutsch	Mezvinsky	Shays	Laughlin Lazio	Pickle Pombo	Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY)
Dingell	Markey	Shepherd	Lazio	Pomeroy	Thomas (WY)
Dooley	McCloskey	Slaughter	Lewis (CA)	Portman	Thornton
Duncan Durbin	McKinney Meehan	Stark Stokes	Lewis (FL)	Pryce (OH)	Torkildsen
Edwards (CA)	Meek	Strickland	Lightfoot	Quillen	Torres
Engel	Menendez	Studds	Linder	Quinn	Traficant
English	Mfume	Stupak	Lipinski	Ravenel	Visclosky
Eshoo	Miller (CA)	Synar	Livingston Lloyd	Regula Richardson	Volkmer Vucanovich
Evans	Mineta	Thurman	Long	Ridge	Walker
Farr	Minge	Torricelli	Lowey	Roberts	Walsh
Fields (LA) Filner	Mink Moakley	Tucker Underwood (GU)	Lucas	Rogers	Weldon
Fingerhut	Morella	Unsoeld	Machtley	Rohrabacher	Wilson
Flake	Murphy	Upton	Mann	Ros-Lehtinen	Wise
Foglietta	Nadler	Valentine	Manzullo Martinez	Rose Rowland	Wolf
Ford (MI)	Neal (MA)	Velazquez	Matsui	Royce	Young (AK) Young (FL)
Ford (TN)	Norton (DC)	Vento	Mazzoli	Santorum	Zeliff
Frank (MA)	Nussle	Waters	McCandless	Sarpalius	Zimmer
Franks (NJ) Furse	Oberstar Obey	Watt Waxman	McCollum	Saxton	
Gejdenson	Olver	Wheat	McCrery	Schaefer	
Gordon	Pallone	Williams		NOT VOTING-	-12
Gutierrez	Payne (NJ)	Woolsey	Ackerman	Gephardt	Towns
Hall (OH)	Pelosi	Wyden	Bacchus (FL)	Grandy	Washington
Hamburg	Penny	Wynn	Emerson	Neal (NC)	Whitten
Hastings Hinchey	Peterson (MN) Petri	Yates	Faleomavaega	Owens	
Hoekstra	Porter		(AS)	Rangel	
noenstru			So the an	nendment was	not agreed
	NOES-271			ne further tim	
Allard	Callahan	Ewing			- /
Andrews (NJ)	Calvert	Fawell	¶51.14 REC	ORDED VOTE	
Andrews (TX)	Camp	Fazio	A recorde	ed vote by ele	ectronic dev
Applegate Archer	Canady Cardin	Fields (TX) Fish		d in the Con	
Armey	Castle	Fowler			
Bachus (AL)	Chapman	Franks (CT)		the followin	
Baesler	Clement	Frost		by Mr. BRYAN	
Baker (CA)	Clinger	Gallegly		l of title X inse	ert the follow
Baker (LA)	Clyburn	Gallo	section:		
Ballenger	Coble	Gekas		UIREMENT TO US	
Barcia Barlow	Coleman Collins (GA)	Geren Gibbons		URDENSHARING	CONTRIBUTI
Barrett (NE)	Combest	Gilchrest		OR DEFICIT REDU	
Bartlett	Cooper	Gillmor		NSHARING AGRE	
Barton	Coppersmith	Gilman		ticable after th	
Bateman	Costello	Gingrich		this Act, the l	
Bentley	Cox	Glickman		egotiations for p	
Bereuter	Cramer	Gonzalez		nation agreeme	
Bevill Bilbray	Crane	Goodlatte Goodling		described in pa	
Bilbray Bilirakis	Crapo Cunningham	Goodling		tion agreement	
Bishop	Danner	Grams		the foreign co	
Bliley	Darden	Green		nning on or befo	
Blute	de la Garza	Greenwood		s incurred by t	
Boehlert	de Lugo (VI)	Gunderson		ne presence of a	
Boehner	Deal	Hall (TX)		sonnel stationed	
Bonilla	DeLay Diag Balant	Hamilton		ent may provide	
Borski Boucher	Diaz-Balart Dickey	Hancock Hansen		on of such costs	
Boucner Brewster	Dickey Dicks	Hansen Harman		beginning on Oc	
Brooks	Dixon	Hastert	ending on Se	ptember 30, 1997	
Browder	Doolittle	Hayes	(2) Paragra	aph (1) applies v	North Atl
Brown (CA)	Dornan	Hefley		country of the	
Brown (FL)	Dreier	Hefner	reaty Orga	nization (other	than the Uni
Bunning	Dunn	Herger	States); and		

(B) Japan. (b) TROOP WITHDRAWAL.—If a revised hostnation agreement described in subsection (a)

is not entered into by September 30, 1997, in a country to which subsection (a) applies, the President shall order the withdrawal of all United States Armed Forces assigned to permanent duty ashore in that country. The President may provide for the phased-in withdrawal of such forces over the threeyear period beginning on October 1, 1997, and ending on September 30, 2000.

(c) USE OF SAVINGS REALIZED.—The savings realized each fiscal year as a result of the assumption of an increased share of United States costs by the foreign countries to which subsection (a) applies shall be used for deficit reduction.

(d) REPORT.—The Secretary of Defense shall include in the annual report required by section 1304 of the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1993 (Public Law 102-484; 106 Stat. 2546) the following information:

(1) For each foreign country to which subsection (a) applies, the costs to the United States of maintaining and operating each United States military installation in that country during the preceding fiscal year.

(2) For each such military installation, the savings realized during the preceding fiscal year (if any) as a result of the assumption of an increased share of United States costs by the host nation.

It was decided in the	Yeas	163
negative	Nays	260

[Roll No. 180]

¶51.15

Barca

Barcia

Becerra

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Brooks

Bryant

Byrne

Camp

Cardin

Carr

Clav

Coble

Condit

Convers

Costello

DeFazio

Dellums

Deutsch

Dixon

Duncan

Durbin

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Ewing

Filner

Flake

Frost

Furse

Foglietta

Gutierrez

Farr

Coyne

Crane

AYES-163 Hall (OH) Abercrombie Pastor Andrews (ME) Hamburg Payne (NJ) Pelosi Applegate Hayes Hefner Penny Hinchey Peterson (MN) Barrett (WI) Holden Petri Horn Pomeroy Blackwell Hughes Poshard Hunter Rahall Inslee Ramstad Jacobs Regula Johnson (SD) Reynolds Brown (OH) Johnson, F. B. Rohrabacher Johnston Rostenkowski Kanjorski Roth Kaptur Royce Kennedy Rush Kleczka Sanders Klein Sangmeister Klink Schenk Coleman Collins (IL) Kopetski Kreidler Schiff Schroeder Lambert Collins (MI) Schumer LaRocco Sensenbrenner Lehman Serrano Lewis (GA) Shays Shepherd Lipinski Long Slaughter Cunningham Lowey Stark Margolies-Danner de Lugo (VI) Stokes Mezvinsky Strickland Markey Studds Martinez Stupak Matsui Swett McCurdy Tauzin McDermott McHale Thornton Thurman Edwards (CA) McKinney Torricelli McNulty Meehan Traficant Tucker Menendez Unsoeld Mfume Miller (CA) Upton Fields (LA) Valentine Mineta Velazquez Minge Mink Vento Moakley Murphy Watt Waxman Frank (MA) Franks (NJ) Neal (MA) Wheat Norton (DC) Nussle Woolsey Wyden Oberstar Wynn Gejdenson Green Greenwood Obey Yates Olver Young (AK) Pallone Zimmei

Buyer Byrne

Ehlers

Everett

Hobson

Hoagland

875