Smith (IA) Thomas (WY) Towns Smith (TX) Washington Torres Thomas (CA) Torricelli Wilson

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶53.9 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. KENNEDY:

At the end of title X (page 277, after line 2), insert the following new section:

SEC. 1038. PROHIBITION ON USE OF FUNDS TO OPERATE ARMY SCHOOL OF THE AMERICAS.

Funds appropriated or otherwise made available to the Department of Defense pursuant to an authorization of appropriations contained in this Act may not be used to operate the Army School of the Americas, currently at Fort Benning, Georgia.

It was decided in the Yeas 175 negative Nays 217

¶53.10 [Roll No. 190] AYES-175

Gonzalez Abercrombie Orton Ackerman Greenwood Owens Allard Gutierrez Pallone Andrews (ME) Hall (OH) Pastor Hamburg Payne (NJ) Applegate Baesler Harman Pelosi Barca Hastings Penny Hefner Peterson (MN) Barrett (WI) Pomeroy Price (NC) Hinchey Hochbrueckner Beilenson Berman Hoke Rahall Blackwell Holden Ramstad Blute Inslee Rangel Jacobs Bonior Ravenel Johnson (CT) Borski Richardson Johnson, E. B. Boucher Roemer Brown (OH) Johnston Roukema Rovbal-Allard Bryant Kaniorski Byrne Kennedy Sabo Cantwell Kildee Sanders Cardin Kleczka Sangmeister Klink Schenk Carr Clay Klug Schiff Kopetski Clayton Schroeder Coble Kreidler Sensenbrenner Collins (IL) Lambert Serrano Collins (MI) Sharp LaRocco Condit Leach Shays Conyers Levin Shepherd Lewis (GA) Skaggs Cooper Costello Long Slaughter Coyne de Lugo (VI) Lowey Stark Maloney Stokes DeFazio Manton Strickland DeLauro Margolies-Studds Dellums Mezvinsky Stupak Deutsch Markey Dicks Martinez Swift Dooley Matsui Synar Duncan McCloskey Taylor (NC) Durbin McDermott Thompson Edwards (CA) McHale Thurman Engel McKinney Torkildsen English Meehan Unsoeld Eshoo Meyers Upton Evans Fawell Mfume Valentine Velazquez Mineta Fazio Minge Vento Fields (LA) Mink Volkmer Moakley Walsh Filner Fingerhut Moran Waters Fish Morella Watt Foglietta Waxman Nadler Neal (MA) Wheat Ford (TN) Frank (MA) Norton (DC) Williams Franks (NJ) Woolsey Nussle Oberstar Wyden Obey Geidenson Yates Glickman Olver

NOES-217

Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Andrews (NJ) Bateman Andrews (TX) Bentley Archer Ballenger Bereuter Barrett (NE) Armey Bacchus (FL) Bevill Bartlett Bilbray Bachus (AL) Bilirakis

Bishop Bliley Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Brewster Browder Brown (FL) Bunning Burton Buyer Callahan Camp Canady Castle Chapman Clinger Clyburn Coleman Collins (GA) Combest Coppersmith Cox Cramer Crapo Cunningham Danner de la Garza Deal DeLay Derrick Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Dunn Edwards (TX) Ehlers Everett Ewing Fields (TX) Fowler Franks (CT) Frost Gallegly Gallo Gekas Geren Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gingrich Goodlatte Goodling Goss Green Gunderson Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Hastert Hayes

Herger Hilliard Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Hoagland Hobson Petri Pickett Hoekstra Pombo Horn Porter Houghton Portman Poshard Huffington Pryce (OH) Hughes Quillen Hunter Quinn Hutchinson Reed Hutto Regula Hvde Reynolds Inglis Ridge Inhofe Rogers Istook Rohrabacher Jefferson Romero-Barcelo Johnson (GA) (PR) Johnson (SD) Ros-Lehtinen Johnson, Sam Roth Kaptur Rowland Kasich Rovce Kennelly Rush Santorum Kim King Sarpalius Kingston Saxton Schaefer Klein Knollenberg Schumer Scott KvlShaw Lancaster Shuster Lantos Sisisky Laughlin Skeen Lazio Skelton Levy Smith (MI) Lightfoot Smith (NJ) Linder Smith (OR) Lipinski Snowe Lloyd Solomon Lucas Spence Machtley Spratt Mann Stearns Manzullo Stump Mazzoli Talent McCandless Tanner McCrery Tauzin McCurdy Taylor (MS) McDade Tejeda McHugh Torricelli McInnis Traficant McKeon Tucker McMillan Underwood (GU) McNulty Visclosky Vucanovich Meek Menendez Walker Mica Weldon Miller (FL) Whitten Molinari Wise Mollohan Wolf Wynn Montgomery Young (AK) Moorhead Young (FL) Zeliff Murtha

NOT VOTING-46

Zimmei

Myers

Ortiz

Oxley

Hefley

Packard

Parker

Barlow	Gordon	Rose
Becerra	Grams	Rostenkowski
Brooks	Grandy	Sawyer
Brown (CA)	Kolbe	Slattery
Calvert	LaFalce	Smith (IA)
Clement	Lehman	Smith (TX)
Crane	Lewis (CA)	Stenholm
Dingell	Lewis (FL)	Sundquist
Dixon	Livingston	Thomas (CA)
Emerson	McCollum	Thomas (WY)
Faleomavaega	Michel	Thornton
(AS)	Miller (CA)	Torres
Farr	Murphy	Towns
Flake	Neal (NC)	Washington
Ford (MI)	Pickle	Wilson
Gephardt	Roberts	

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KIL-DEE, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. RAHALL, Acting Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon. ¶53.11 APPOINTMENT OF ADDITIONAL CONFERES-H.R. 322

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. KIL-DEE, by unanimous consent, made the following additional appointments of conferees on the part of the House to the conference with the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the amendments of the Senate to the bill (H.R. 322) to modify the requirements applicable to locatable minerals on public domain lands, consistent with the principles of self-initiation of mining claims, and for other purposes:

As additional conferees from the Committee on Agriculture for consideration of sections 107, 201-09, 301-04, 404, 407, 408, 411, 416, 418, and 419 of the House bill, and sections 7-10 and 12 of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. DE LA GARZA, ROSE, and ROBERTS.

As additional conferees from the Committee on Education and Labor, for consideration of section 7 of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. FORD of Michigan, MURPHY, and FAWELL.

As additional conferees from the Committee on Energy and Commerce for consideration of sections 3, 201-08, 301-03, 414, and 420 of the House bill, and sections 7, 8, and 12 of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. DINGEL, SWIFT, and CRAPO.

As additional conferees from the Committee on Merchant Marine and Fisheries, for consideration of section 3, 201-09, 301-04, and 414 of the House bill, and sections 7, 8, and 12 of the Senate amendment, and modifications committed to conference: Messrs. STUDDS, HUGHES, and FIELDS of Texas.

Ordered. That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

¶53.12 MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate had passed without amendment a concurrent resolution of the House of the following title:

H. Con. Res. 236. Concurrent resolution authorizing the 1994 Special Olympics Torch Relay to be run through the Capitol Grounds.

The message also announced that the Senate disagreed to the amendments of the House to the amendment of the Senate to the bill (H.R. 3355), an act to amend the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 to allow grants to increase police presence, to expand and improve cooperative efforts between law enforcement agencies and members of the community to address crime and disorder problems, and otherwise to enhance public safety, agreed to the conference asked by the House on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon, and appointed Mr. BIDEN, Mr. KENNEDY, Mr. METZENBAUM, Mr. DECONCINI, Mr. LEAHY, Mr. HATCH, Mr. THURMOND, Mr. SIMPSON, and Mr. GRASSLEY to be the conferees on the part of the Senate.