HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

DeFazio	Johnston	Ramstad		
Doolittle	Klug	Rohrabacher		
Dreier	Linder	Roth		
Duncan	Manzullo	Royce		
Dunn	Miller (FL)	Sensenbrenner		
Ehlers	Minge	Solomon		
Fawell	Nussle	Stark		
Fields (TX)	Paxon	Thurman		
Goss	Penny	Upton		
Hancock	Peterson (MN)	Walker		
Hoke	Quinn	Wyden		
NOT VOTING—11				
Barlow	Horn	Ortiz		
Downett (WI)	Houghton	Swett		

Duitow	110111	OTCL
Barrett (WI)	Houghton	Swett
DeLay	Lehman	Washington
Grandy	Matsui	-

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

\$55.10 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF WORLD WAR

On motion of Mr. WYNN, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service was discharged from further consideration of the joint resolution (H.J. Res. 315) designating May 30, 1994, through June 6, 1994, as a "Time for the National Observance of the Fiftieth Anniversary of World War II".

When said joint resolution was considered, read twice, ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title, and passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said joint resolution was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said joint resolution.

¶55.11 NATIONAL MEN'S HEALTH WEEK

On motion of Mr. WYNN, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service was discharged from further consideration of the joint resolution of the Senate (S.J. Res. 179) to designate the week of June 12 through 19, 1994, as "National Men's Health Week".

When said joint resolution was considered, read twice, ordered to be read a third time, was read a third time by title, and passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said joint resolution was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

\$55.12 UNFINISHED BUSINESS—APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BILBRAY, pursuant to clause 5, rule I, announced the unfinished business to be the question on agreeing to the Chair's approval of the Journal of Monday, May 23, 1994.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to the Chair's approval of said Journal?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BILBRAY, announced that the yeas had it.

So the Journal was approved.

\$55.13 ORDER OF BUSINESS— CONSIDERATION OF AMENDMENT— H.R. 4301

On motion of Mr. DELLUMS, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That during further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4301) to authorize appropriations for fiscal year 1995 for military activities of the Department of Defense, to prescribe military personnel strengths for fiscal year 1995, and for other purposes, in the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union the amendment numbered 2 in part 4 of House Report 103–520 accompanying House Resolution 431 be considered as a substitute amendment for the amendment numbered 1 in part 4 of said report.

\$55.14 DOD AUTHORIZATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BILBRAY, pursuant to House Resolution 431 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4301) to authorize appropriations for fiscal year 1995 for military activities of the Department of Defense, to prescribe military personnel strengths for fiscal year 1995, and for other purposes.

Mr. DURBIN, Chairman, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

¶55.15 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. HANSEN:

At the end of subtitle B of title XXVIII, insert the following new section:

SEC. . POSTPONEMENT OF 1995 ROUND OF BASE CLOSURES AND REALIGNMENTS UNTIL 1997.

The Defense Base Closure and Realignment Act of 1990 (part A of title XXIX of Public Law 101-510; 10 U.S.C. 2687 note) is amended—

(1) in subsections (c)(1)(B)(iii), (c)(1)(C), (e)(1), and (1) of section 2902, section 2903(c)(1), and section 2909(a), by striking out '1995'' each place it appears and inserting in lieu thereof ''1997''; and

(2) in section 2902(c)(1)(B)(iii), by striking out ''104th Congress'' and inserting in lieu thereof ''105th Congress''.

It was decid negative	led in the	Yeas Nays	68 362
¶55.16	[Roll No. 194 AYES—68		
Andrews (NJ) Applegate Bartlett Blackwell Boehlert Burton Calvert Canady Chapman Clinger Coble Combest Cunningham DeLay Farr Filner Foglietta Fowler Gallegly Gallo Gejdenson	Gonzalez Hansen Hayes Hefley Huffington Hunter Jacobs Kim Lancaster Lewis (CA) Livingston McCollum McDade McKeon Meyers Mica Mink Molinari Montgomery Murtha	Myers Orton Pallone Parker Ravenel Roberts Sarpalius Saxton Schenk Shepherd Shuster Skeen Smith (NJ) Snowe Spence Stearns Stump Swett Taylor (MS) Tejeda	

Abercrombie Ackerman Allard Andrews (ME) Andrews (TX) Archer Armev Bacchus (FL) Bachus (AL) Baesler Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barca Barcia Barrett (NE) Barton Bateman Becerra Beilenson Bentley Bereuter Berman Bevill Bilbrav Biliraǩis Bishop Bliley Blute Boehner Bonilla Bonior Borski Boucher Brewster Brooks Browden Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant Bunning Buyer Byrne Callahan Camp Cantwell Cardin Carr Castle Clay Clayton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (GA) Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Condit Convers Cooper Coppersmith Costello Cox Coyne Cramer Crane Crapo Danner Darden de la Garza de Lugo (VI) Deal DeFazio **DeLauro** Dellums Derrick Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dickey Dicks Dingell Dixon Dooley Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Durbin Edwards (CA) Edwards (TX) Ehlers Emerson Engel English

Torkildsen

Traficant

Tucker

Eshoo

Evans

Everett

Ewing

(AS) Fawell

Fazio

Fish

Flake

Frost

Furse

Gekas

Geren

Gibbons

Gillmor

Gilman

Gingrich

Glickman Goodlatte

Goodling

Gordon

Grams

Green

Greenwood

Gunderson

Gutierrez Hall (OH)

Hall (TX)

Hamburg Hamilton

Hancock

Harman

Hastert

Hastings

Hefner

Herger

Hilliard

Hinchey Hoagland

Hoekstra

Houghton

Hutchinson

Hochbrueckner

Hobson

Hoke

Hoyer

Hutto

Hyde

Inglis

Inhofe

Inslee

Istook

Jefferson

Johnston

Kaniorski

Kaptur

Kasich

Kennedy

Kennelly

Kingston

Klug Knollenberg

Kolbe Kopetski Kreidler

Kyl LaFalce

Lambert

LaRocco

Laughlin

Lazio

Leach

Lantos

Kleczka

Kildee

King

Klein

Klink

Johnson (CT)

Johnson (GA)

Johnson (SD)

Johnson, E. B.

Johnson, Sam

Holden

Goss

Gilchrest

Gephardt

Fields (LA)

Fields (TX)

Fingerhut

Ford (MI)

Ford (TN)

Frank (MA)

Franks (CT)

Franks (NJ)

Williams

NOES-362

Faleomavaega

¶55.16

Young (AK) Zeliff

Lehman Levin Levy Lewis (FL) Lewis (GA) Lightfoot Linder Lipinski Lloyd Long Lowey Lucas Machtley Maloney Mann Manton Manzullo Margolies Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Mazzoli McCandless McCloskev McCrery McCurdy McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis McKinney McMillan McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Michel Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Mineta Minge Moakley Mollohan Moorhead Moran Morella Murphy Nadler Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Norton (DC) Nussle Oberstar Obey Olver Owens Oxley Packard Pastor Paxon Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Penny Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pickle Pombo Pomeroy Porter Portman Poshard Price (NC) Pryce (OH) Quillen Quinn Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Reynolds Richardson Ridge Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Romero-Barcelo (PR) Ros-Lehtinen Rose Rostenkowski Roth