Roukema Rowland Roybal-Allard Royce Rush Sabo Sanders Sangmeister Santorum Sawyer Schaefer Schiff Schiroeder Schumer Scott Sensenbrenner Serrano Sharp Shaw Shays Sisisky	Smith (MI) Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Solomon Spratt Stark Stenholm Stokes Strickland Studds Stupak Sundquist Swift Synar Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Thompson	Underwood (GU) Unsoeld Upton Valentine Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Walker Walsh Waters Watt Waxman Weldon Wheat Wilson Wise Wolf Woolsey Wyden Wynn Vates
	, ,	
Skelton	Thurman Torres	Yates
Slattery		Young (FL)
Slaughter	Torricelli Towns	Zimmer
Smith (IA)	TOWIIS	

NOT VOTING-8

Barlow Horn Washington Barrett (WI) Matsui Whitten Grandy Ortiz

So the amendment was not agreed to. The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MOLLOHAN, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. MAZZOLI, Acting Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶55.17 ORDER OF BUSINESS— CONSIDERATION OF AMENDMENT— H R. 4301

On motion of Mr. DELLUMS, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union resumes further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4301) to authorize appropriations for fiscal year 1995 for military activities of the Department of Defense, to prescribe military personnel strengths for fiscal year 1995, and for other purposes, it proceed according to the provisions of section 3(e) of House Resolution 431.

$\P55.18$ DOD AUTHORIZATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. MOLLOHAN, pursuant to House Resolution 431 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4301) to authorize appropriations for fiscal year 1995 for military activities of the Department of Defense, to prescribe military personnel strengths for fiscal year 1995, and for other purposes.

Mr. MAZZOLI, Acting Chairman, ressumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

¶55.19 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Ms. HARMAN:

Page 19, strike out line 18 and all that follows through line 3 on page 20 and insert in lieu thereof the following:

(a) AUTHORIZATION.—Of the amount pro-

(a) AUTHORIZATION.—Of the amount provided in section 103 for procurement of aircraft for the Air Force—

(1) \$103,000,000 shall be available for Non-Developmental Alternative Aircraft procurement: and (2) \$2,303,402,000 shall be available for the C-17 aircraft program, of which—

(A) \$2,249,819,000 is for procurement of six C-17 aircraft;

(B) \$47,475,000 is for advance procurement of up to eight C-17 aircraft for fiscal year 1996; and

(C) \$6,108,000 is for C-17 modifications.

¶55.20 [Roll No. 195] AYES—330

Ackerman Dreier Knollenberg Kolbe Kopetski Kyl Allard Duncan Andrews (ME) Dunn Andrews (NJ) Durbin Andrews (TX) Edwards (TX) Lambert Archer Ehlers Lancaster Armey Emerson Lantos Bacchus (FL) Engel Everett LaRocco Bachus (AL) Laughlin Ewing Baesler Lazio Farr Fawell Baker (CA) Leach Baker (LA) Lehman Ballenger Levin Fields (LA) Fields (TX) Barrett (NE) Levy Lewis (CA) Bartlett Lewis (FL) Filner Barton Bateman Fish Lightfoot Flake Beilenson Lipinski Livingston Ford (MI) Bentley Bereuter Ford (TN) Lloyd Fowler Berman Long Franks (CT) Bevill Lowey Bilbray Franks (NJ) Lucas Bilirakis Frost Machtley Bishop Gallegly Manton Blackwell Gallo Manzullo Gejdenson Bliley Martinez Blute Gephardt Matsui Boehlert Geren Mazzoli Gibbons McCandless Boehner McCloskey Bonilla Gilchrest McCollum Bonior Gilman Gingrich Borski McCrery Boucher Glickman McCurdy McDade Brewster Gonzalez Goodlatte McHale Browder Gordon McHugh Brown (CA) Goss McInnis Brown (FL) Grams McKeon Bryant Green McNulty Bunning Greenwood Meek Gunderson Hall (OH) Burton Menendez Buver Meyers Hall (TX) Byrne Mica Callahan Hamilton Michel Calvert Hancock Mineta Hansen Minge Camp Canady Harman Molinari Cardin Hastert Mollohan Hastings Montgomery Carr Castle Hayes Moorhead Chapman Hefley Moran Hefner Murphy Clay Clayton Herger Murtha Hilliard Clement Mvers Neal (NC) Clinger Hinchey Clyburn Hoagland Oberstar Coble Hobson Obev Hochbrueckner Coleman Orton Collins (GA) Hoke Owens Collins (IL) Holden Oxlev Collins (MI) Houghton Packard Combest Hover Parker Huffington Pastor Condit Cooper Hughes Paxon $\overline{\text{Coppersmith}}$ Payne (VA) Hunter Costello Hutchinson Peterson (FL) Cox Hutto Peterson (MN) Cramer Hyde Petri Crane Inglis Pickett Inhofe Crapo Pickle Cunningham Istook Pombo Danner Jacobs Pomeroy de la Garza Jefferson Quillen Johnson (CT) de Lugo (VI) Quinn DeLauro Johnson (SD) Řahall DeLay Derrick Johnson, E.B. Ramstad Johnson, Sam Rangel Ravenel Diaz-Balart Kaniorski Dickey Kaptur Reed Reynolds Kennelly Dicks Kim Dixon Richardson King Dooley Roberts Doolittle Kleczka Roemer

Torkildsen Rohrabacher Slattery Smith (MI) Ros-Lehtinen Torres Torricelli Rostenkowski Smith (NJ) Towns Traficant Rowland Smith (OR) Roybal-Allard Smith (TX) Royce Snowe Tucker Solomon Underwood (GU) Sabo Sangmeister Spence Upton Santorum Spratt Valentine Sarpalius Visclosky Stearns Stenholm Sawyer Volkmer Saxton Stump Vucanovich Schenk Stupak Walsh Schiff Sundquist Waters Schumer Swett Talent Weldon Wheat Scott Serrano Tanner Whitten Sharp Tauzin Williams Taylor (NC) Wilson Shaw Tejeda Shays Wise Thomas (CA) Shuster Wolf Sisisky Thomas (WY) Wynn Young (AK) Skaggs Thompson Skeen Thornton Young (FL) Zeliff Skelton Thurman

NOES-100

Abercrombie Kildee Poshard Kingston Price (NC) Applegate Barca Klein Pryce (OH) Klug Kreidler Barcia Regula Ridge Becerra Brown (OH) LaFalce Rose Cantwell Lewis (GA) Roth Linder Roukema Convers Coyne Maloney Rush Darden Mann Sanders Margolies-Deal Schaefer DeFazio Mezvinsky Schroeder Markey McDermott Dellums Sensenbrenner Deutsch Shepherd McKinney Slaughter Smith (IA) Dingell Edwards (CA) McMillan English Meehan Stark Stokes Strickland Eshoo Mfume Miller (CA) Evans Fingerhut Miller (FL) Studds Foglietta Frank (MA) Mink Moakley Swift Synar Taylor (MS) Furse Morella Gekas Gillmor Nadler Neal (MA) Unsoeld Velazquez Norton (DC) Goodling Vento Gutierrez Nussle Walker Olver Watt Hamburg Hoekstra Pallone Waxman Inslee Johnson (GA) Payne (NJ) Pelosi Woolsey Wyden Johnston Penny Yates Kasich Porter Zimmer Kennedy Portman

NOT VOTING-8

Barlow Grandy Romero-Barcelo Barrett (WI) Horn (PR) Faleomavaega Ortiz Washington

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McDERMOTT, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. LAROCCO, Acting Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶55.21 ORDER OF BUSINESS— CONSIDERATION OF AMENDMENT— H.R. 4301

On motion of Mr. DELLUMS, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That when the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union resumes further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4301) to authorize appropriations for fiscal year 1995 for military activities of the Department of Defense, to prescribe military personnel strengths for fiscal year 1995, and for other purposes, it proceed according to the provisions of section 3(c) and 3(d) of House Resolution 431.

Rogers

Klink