Coble Hunter Collins (GA) Hutchinson Combest Hyde Condit. Inglis Inhofe Cooper Cox Istook Crane .Jacobs Johnson, Sam Crapo Cunningham Kasich Deal Kim DeFazio King DeLay Diaz-Balart Kingston Klug Knollenberg Dickey Doolittle Kolbe Dornan Kyl Dreier Lambert Duncan Lazio Dunn Levy Lewis (CA) Ehlers Emerson Lightfoot Everett Linder Lipinski Ewing Fawell Livingston Fields (TX) Lucas Machtley Fowler Franks (CT) Maloney Manzullo Franks (NJ) Gallegly Gallo Mazzoli McCandless McCollum Gekas Gillmor McCrery McDade Gilman McHale Gingrich Goodlatte Goodling McHugh McInnis Goss McKeon Grams McMillan Mevers Green Greenwood Mica Miller (FL) Gunderson Hall (TX) Molinari Moorhead Hancock Hansen Myers Hastert Nussle Hayes Hefley Orton Oxlev Herger Packard Hobson Hoekstra Paxon Petri Hoke Pombo Houghton Huffington Portman Poshard

Pryce (OH) Quillen Quinn Ramstad Ravenel Regula Ridge Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Royce Sangmeister Saxton Schaefer Schiff Sensenbrenner Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Snowe Solomon Spence Stearns Stenholm Stump Sundquist Talent Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Torkildsen Torricelli Traficant Upton Volkmer Vucanovich Walker Walsh Weldon Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

Reed

NOES—221

Abercrombie Dixon Ackerman Andrews (ME) Durbin Andrews (TX) Edwards (CA) Bacchus (FL) Edwards (TX) Baesler Engel English Barca Becerra Beilenson Eshoo Evans Berman Farr Bevill Fazio Bishop Fields (LA) Blackwell Filner Bonior Fingerhut Borski Flake Foglietta Brewster Frank (MA) **Brooks** Browder Frost Brown (FL) Furse Brown (OH) Gejdenson Brvant Gephardt Byrne Geren Cantwell Gilchrest Cardin Glickman Gonzalez Clay Gordon Clayton Gutierrez Clement Hall (OH) Hamburg Hamilton Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Harman Hastings Hefner Coppersmith Hilliard Costello Coyne Hinchey Cramer Hoagland Danner Darden Hochbrueckner Holden de la Garza Hoyer DeLauro Dellums Hughes Hutto Derrick Inslee Deutsch Jefferson

Johnson (CT)

Johnson (GA)

Dicks

Dingell

Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klein Klink Kopetski Kreidler LaFalce Lancaster Lantos LaRocco Laughlin Leach Lehman Levin Lewis (GA) Long Lowey Mann Manton Margolies-Mezvinsky Markey Martinez Matsui McCloskey McCurdy McDermott McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley

Reynolds Richardson Mollohan Studds Montgomery Stupak Moran Roemer Swett Romero-Barcelo Morella Swift (PR) Murphy Synar Murtha Rose Tanner Rostenkowski Nadler Tejeda Neal (MA) Thompson Roukema Neal (NC) Rowland Thornton Norton (DC) Roybal-Allard Thurman Oberstar Torres Obey Sabo Towns Olver Sanders Tucker Owens Sarpalius Unsoeld Pallone Sawyer Schenk Velazquez Parker Vento Pastor Schroeder Visclosky Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Schumer Waters Watt Scott Peľosi Serrano Waxman Penny Peterson (FL) Shepherd Sisisky Wheat Williams Peterson (MN) Skaggs Wilson Pickett Skelton Wise Woolsey Pomeroy Slattery Porter Price (NC) Slaughter Wyden Smith (IA) Wvnn Rahall Spratt Yates Rangel Stokes

NOT VOTING—26

Strickland

Ford (MI) Ford (TN) Barlow Pickle Barrett (WI) Santorum Boucher Brown (CA) Gibbons Sharp Grandy Stark Underwood (GU) Convers Horn de Lugo (VI) Lewis (FL) Valentine Faleomavaega Lloyd Michel Washington (AS) Whitten Fish

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time, The SPEAKER resumed the Chair.

When Mr. DURBIN, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶55.30 PUBLIC WORKS PROJECTS

The SPEAKER laid before the House a communication, which was read as follows:

COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC WORKS
AND TRANSPORTATION,
Washington, DC, May 17, 1994.

Hon. THOMAS S. FOLEY,

The Speaker, U.S. House of Representatives, U.S. Capitol, Washington, DC.

DEAR MR. SPEAKER: Pursuant to the provisions of the Public Buildings Act of 1959, I am transmitting herewith the resolutions (originals plus one copy) approved today by the Committee on Public Works and Transportation.

Sincerely,

NORMAN Y. MINETA, Chair, Committee on Public Works and Transportation.

The communication, together with the accompanying papers, was referred to the Committee on Appropriations.

¶55.31 NOTICE REQUIREMENT— CONSIDERATION OF RESOLUTION— H. RES. 436

Mr. KLUG, pursuant to rule IX, announced his intention to call up the following resolution (H. Res. 436) as a question of the privileges of the House:

Whereas allegations reported in public and made in official Department of Justice court documents that personnel of the House Post Office provided illegal cash to certain Members in three ways: (1) cash instead of stamps for official vouchers, (2) cash for postage stamps which had earlier been purchased with official vouchers, and (3) cash for campaign checks;

Whereas the Department of Justice has secured admissions of criminal guilt regarding past activities in the House Post Office;

Whereas multiple concerns and allegations of possible wrongdoing by House employees, a House officer, and Members had been raised within the report of the House Administration Committee Task Force to Investigate the Operation and Management of the House Post Office;

Whereas all these allegations directly affect the rights of the House collectively, its safety, dignity, and the integrity of its proceedings, and the rights, reputation, and conduct of its Members;

Whereas Article I, Section 5, of the Constitution gives each House of Congress responsibility over disorderly behavior of its Members; and

Whereas the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct has jurisdiction over the conduct and behavior of current House Members, officers, and employees, including investigatory authority, and is the appropriate body of this House to conduct any inquiry: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct is instructed to immediately investigate any alleged violation, by any Member, officer, or employee of the House, of the Code of Official Conduct or of any law, rule, regulation, or other standard of conduct that is related to activities, described by or referred to in, documents that it received on July 22, 1992, from the Com-mittee on House Administration pertaining to the House Administration Committee
Task Force to Investigate the Operation and Management of the House Post Office investigation. Not later than 60 days after this resolution is agreed to and periodically thereafter, the Committee on Standards and Official Conduct shall report to the House the status of this investigation. Not later than September 30, 1994, the Committee on Standards of Official Conduct shall report to the House its findings of fact and rec-ommendations on possible disciplinary ac-

¶55.32 WAIVING POINTS OF ORDER AGAINST CONFERENCE REPORT ON S. 24

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103–527) the resolution (H. Res. 439) waiving points of order against the conference report to accompany the bill (S. 24) to reauthorize the independent counsel law for an additional 5 years, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

¶55.33 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 4385

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103–528) the resolution (H. Res. 440) providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 4385) to amend title 23, United States Code, to designate the National Highway System, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

¶55.34 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF A CERTAIN RESOLUTION

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103–529) the resolution (H. Res. 441)