McHugh McInnis McKeon Mfume Miller (FL) Molinari Moorhead Myers Nussle Packard Paxon Peterson (MN) Pombo Portman Poshard Pryce (OH) Quillen Quinn

Abercrombie

Rahall Snowe Ramstad Ravenel Regula Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Sanders Santorum Sarpalius Schaefer Sensenbrenner Shuster Smith (OR) Smith (TX)

Solomon Spence Stearns Stenholm Stump Sundauist Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas (WY) Thurman Traficant Valentine Vucanovich Walker Young (FL) Zimmer

NOES-286

Ford (MI)

Ackerman Ford (TN) Andrews (ME) Frank (MA) Andrews (TX) Franks (NJ) Bacchus (FL) Frost Baesler Furse Barca Gallo Barlow Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Barrett (WI) Bartlett Gilchrest Bateman Becerra Gilman Gingrich Beilenson Bentley Glickman Bereuter Gonzalez Gordon Berman Bevill Green Bilbray Greenwood Bishop Gunderson Bliley Gutierrez Boehlert Hall (OH) Boehner Hamburg Bonior Hamilton Borski Harman Boucher Hastings Brooks Hilliard Browder Hinchey Brown (CA) Hoagland Brown (FL) Hochbrueckner Brown (OH) Holden Houghton Bryant Byrne Hoyer Calvert Hughes Cantwell Cardin Jefferson Johnson (CT) Carr Castle Johnson (GA) Clay Johnson (SD) Clayton Johnson, E. B. Clement Johnston Clinger Kaniorski Clyburn Kennedy Coleman Kennelly Collins (IL) Kildee Collins (MI) King Conyers Kleczka Cooper Klein Knollenberg Coppersmith Kolbe Kopetski Cramer Darden Kreidler de la Garza LaFalce de Lugo (VI) Lambert Deal Lancaster DeLauro Lantos Dellums LaRocco Derrick Lazio Deutsch Leach Dicks Levin Dingell Levy Lewis (CA) Dixon Dooley Lewis (GA) Dreier Lightfoot Dunn Linder Lipinski Durbin Edwards (CA) Livingston Edwards (TX) Llovd Ehlers Long Emerson Lowey Maloney Engel English Mann Eshoo Manton Margolies-Evans Mezvinsky Farr Fazio Markey Filner Martinez Fingerhut Matsui

Fish

Flake

Foglietta

McCrery McCurdy McDade McDermott McHale McKinney McMillan McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Meyers Mica Michel Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Montgomery Moran Morella Murphy Murtha Nadler Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Norton (DC) Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Oxley Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Pavne (VA) Pelosi Penny Peterson (FL) Petri Pickett Pickle Pomeroy Porter Price (NC) Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Ridge Roberts Roemer Romero-Barcelo (PR) Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sangmeister Sawver Saxton Schenk Schiff Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sharp

Shaw

Shays

Shepherd Sisisky

Skaggs

Mazzoli

McCloskey

McCollum

Skeen Talent Walsh Skelton Tanner Waters Slattery Tejeda Watt Thomas (CA) Slaughter Waxman Smith (IA) Thompson Weldon Smith (MI) Thornton Wheat Torkildsen Whitten Smith (N.J) Spratt Torres Williams Stark Towns Wilson Underwood (GU) Wise Stokes Strickland Unsoeld Wolf Studds Upton Woolsey Velazquez Wyden Stupak Vento Wynn Visclosky Swift Yates Volkmer Zeliff Synar

NOT VOTING-8

Blackwell Grandy Tucker Faleomavaega Horn Washington (AS) Torricelli Young (AK)

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. OBEY, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. RICHARDSON, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶56.25 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— NATIONAL EMERGENCY WITH RESPECT TO YUGOSLAVIA

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. OBEY, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

Section 202(d) of the National Emergencies Act (50 U.S.C. 1622(d)) provides for the automatic termination of a national emergency unless, prior to the anniversary date of its declaration, the President publishes in the Federal Register and transmits to the Congress a notice stating that the emergency is to continue in effect beyond the anniversary date. In accordance with this provision, I have sent the enclosed notice, stating that the emergency declared with respect to the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) is to continue in effect beyond May 30, 1994, to the Federal Register for publication.

The circumstances that led to the declaration on May 30, 1992, of a national emergency have not been resolved. The Government of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) continues to support groups seizing and attempting to seize territory in the Republics of Croatia and Bosnia-Herzegovina by force and violence. The actions and policies of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) pose a continuing unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security, vital foreign policy interests, and the economy of the United States. For these reasons, I have determined that it is necessary to maintain in force the broad authorities necessary to apply economic pressure to the Government of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) to reduce its ability to support the continuing civil strife in the former Yugoslavia.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON. THE WHITE HOUSE, *May 25, 1994.*

By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying pa-

pers, was referred to the Committee on Foreign Affairs and ordered to be printed (H. Doc. 103–262).

¶56.26 RECESS—6:47 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. OBEY, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess at 6 o'clock and 47 minutes p.m., subject to the call of the Chair.

¶56.27 AFTER RECESS—7:30 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FROST, called the House to order.

¶56.28 FURTHER MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A further message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate had passed a concurrent resolution of the following title, in which the concurrence of the House is requested:

S. Con. Res. 70. Concurrent resolution providing for a conditional recess or adjournment of the Senate on Wednesday, May 25, 1994, Thursday, May 26, 1994, Friday, May 27, 1994, or Saturday, May 28, 1994, until Tuesday, June 7, 1994, and a conditional adjournment of the House on Thursday, May 26, 1994, until Wednesday, June 8, 1994.

The message also announced that the Senate agreed to the report of the committee of conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the amendment of the House to the bill (S. 24) "An Act to reauthorize the independent counsel law for an additional 5 years, and for other purposes."

¶56.29 FOREIGN AID APPROPRIATIONS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FROST, pursuant to House Resolution 443 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4426) making appropriations for foreign operations, export financing, and related programs for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995.

Mr. RICHARDSON, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein.

¶56.30 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. BURTON:

At the end of the bill, insert after the last section (preceding the short title) the following new section:

LIMITATION ON FUNDS FOR SOUTH AFRICAN ${\rm ASSISTANCE\ PROGRAM}$

SEC. . Of the funds made available in this Act, the amount that may be used to support the South African Assistance Program shall not exceed the amount used for such purpose during fiscal year 1994.

¶56.31 [Roll No. 206] AYES—103

Allard Baker (CA) Barton Andrews (NJ) Ballenger Bateman Archer Barrett (NE) Bilirakis Armey Bartlett Blute