McCurdy Pickle Studds McDermott Pomeroy Stupak McHale Poshard Swett Price (NC) McKinney Swift McNulty Rahall Synar Meehan Rangel Tanner Meek Reed Tauzin Menendez Reynolds Taylor (MS) Mfume Richardson Tejeda Miller (CA) Thompson Roemer Mineta Rose Thornton Rostenkowski Mink Thurman Moakley Rowland Torres Mollohan Roybal-Allard Torricelli Montgomery Rush Towns Traficant Moran Sabo Tucker Unsoeld Valentine Murphy Sanders Murtha Sangmeister Sarpalius Nadler Neal (MA) Velazquez Oberstan Schenk Vento Visclosky Obey Schroeder Olver Scott Volkmer Ortiz Serrano Waters Sharp Shepherd Orton Watt Owens Waxman Pallone Sisisky Wheat Whitten Parker Skaggs Pastor Slaughter Williams Payne (NJ) Smith (IA) Wise Woolsey Payne (VA) Spratt Pelosi Stark Wyden Stenholm Wvnn Penny Peterson (FL) Stokes Strickland Yates Pickett

NOT VOTING-16

Bachus (AL) Grandy Skelton
Clay Horn Slattery
Clement Machtley Washington
Cox Manton Wilson
DeFazio Neal (NC)
Franks (CT) Schumer

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DE LA GARZA, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. YOUNG of Florida demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device.

It was decided in the affirmative Yeas 210 Nays 205

¶57.22 [Roll No. 216] AYES—210 Abercrombie Collins (II)

Abercrombie Collins (MI) Ackerman Andrews (TX) Conyers Coppersmith Costello Applegate Bacchus (FL) Baesler Coyne Barcia Cramer Barlow Danner Barrett (WI) Darden Becerra DeLauro Beilenson Dellums Berman Derrick Bevill Deutsch Bilbray Dicks Bishop Dingell Blackwell Dixon Bonior Dooley Borski Durbin Edwards (CA) Boucher Brewster Edwards (TX) Brooks Engel English Browder Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Evans Bryant Farr Byrne Fazio Cardin Carr Fields (LA) Filner Chapman Flake Clayton Clyburn Foglietta Ford (TN) Frank (MA)

Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Glickman Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamburg Hamilton Hastings Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Hoagland Hochbrueckner Holden Houghton Hover Hughes Jefferson Johnson (GA) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski

Kaptur

Kennedy

Kennelly

Kildee Kleczka Klein Klink Kopetski Kreidler LaFalce Lancaster Lantos LaRocco Laughlin Levin Lewis (GA) Lipinski Lloyd Long Maloney Markey Martinez Matsui Mazzoli McCloskey McCurdy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Mollohan Montgomery

Allard

Archer Armey

Andrews (ME)

Andrews (NJ)

Bachus (AL)

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Barton

Bateman

Bentley

Bereuter

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Bunning

Buyer Callahan

Calvert

Camp Canady

Castle

Clinger

Combest

Condit

Cooper

Crane

Crapo

Deal

Dickey

Dornan

Duncan

Dreier

Dunn

Ehlers

Emerson

Fawell Fields (TX)

Fingerhut

Gallegly

Fowler Franks (NJ)

Everett

Ewing

Doolittle

Collins (GA)

Cunningham

DeLay Diaz-Balart

Cantwell

Burton

Brown (OH)

Bliley

Blute

Barca

Moran Morella Murphy Murtha Neal (MA) Oberstar Obev Ortiz Orton Owens Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Pickett Pickle Poshard Price (NC) Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sangmeister Sawyer Schroeder Scott Serrano

NOES-205

Gallo McCandless Gekas McCollum McCrery Geren Gilchrest McDade Gillmor McHugh Gilman McInnis Gingrich McKeon Goodlatte McMillan Goodling Meyers Goss Mica Grams Michel Miller (FL) Greenwood Gunderson Minge Hall (TX) Molinari Hancock Moorhead Hansen Myers Harman Nussle Oxley Packard Hastert Haves Hefley Pallone Herger Paxon Hobson Penny Peterson (MN) Hoekstra Hoke Petri Huffington Pombo Hunter Pomeroy Hutchinson Porter Hutto Portman Pryce (OH) Quillen Hyde Inglis Inhofe Quinn Inslee Ramstad Istook Ravenel Jacobs Regula Johnson (CT) Ridge Johnson, Sam Roberts Kasich Roemer Kim Rogers Rohrabacher King Ros-Lehtinen Kingston Klug Knollenberg Roth Roukema Kolbe Royce Santorum Kvl Lambert Sarpalius Lazio Saxton Schaefer Leach Lehman Schenk Levy Lewis (CA) Schiff Sensenbrenner Lewis (FL) Shaw Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Shays Shepherd Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Livingston Lucas Mann Smith (NJ) Manzullo Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Margolies

Sharp Sisisky Skaggs Slaughter Smith (IA) Spratt Stark Stokes Studds Stunak Swift Synar Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torricelli Towns Traficant Tucker Unsoeld Valentine Velazquez Vento Visclosky

Torres
Torricelli
Towns
Traficant
Tucker
Unsoeld
Valentine
Velazquez
Vento
Visclosky
Volkmer
Waters
Watt
Waxman
Wheat
Whitten
Williams
Wise
Woolsey
Wyden
Wynn
Yates

Solomon Spence Stearns Stenholm Strickland Stump Sundquist Swett Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich

Walker Walsh Weldon Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NOT VOTING-19

Clay Franks (CT) Schumer Clement Grandy Skelton Cox de la Garza Horn Slattery Machtley Washington Wilson DeFazio Manton Nadler Neal (NC) Ford (MI)

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶57.23 ENERGY AND WATER APPROPRIATIONS, FISCAL YEAR 1995

Mr. BEVILL submitted a privileged report (Rept. No. 103-533) on the bill (H.R. 4506) making appropriations for energy and water development for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes.

When said bill and report were referred to the Union Calendar and ordered printed.

Mr. GALLO reserved all points of order against said bill.

¶57.24 PERMISSION TO FILE REPORT

On motion of Mr. HOYER, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Appropriations was granted permission until midnight tonight to file a privileged report (Rept. No. 103–534) on the bill (H.R. 4539) making appropriations for the Treasury Department, the United States Postal Service, the Executive Office of the President, and certain Independent Agencies, for fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes.

Mr. GALLO reserved all points of order against said bill.

\$157.25 Permission to file Report

On motion of Mr. KILDEE, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Education and Labor was granted permission on Friday, June 3, 1994, to file a report on the bill (H.R. 8) to amend the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 and the National School Lunch Act to extend certain authorities contained in such Acts through the fiscal year 1998.

¶57.26 SPEAKER AND MINORITY LEADER TO ACCEPT RESIGNATIONS, APPOINT COMMISSIONS

On motion of Mr. HOYER, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That, notwithstanding any adjournment of the House until Wednesday, June 8, 1994, the Speaker and the Minority Leader be authorized to accept resignations and to make appointments to commissions, boards and committees duly authorized by law or by the House.

Mezvinsky