Ravenel Shaw Sundquist Regula Talent Shuster Ridge Sisisky Tauzin Taylor (MS) Roberts Skeen Skelton Taylor (NC) Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Smith (MI) Thomas (CA) Smith (TX) Vucanovich Rowland Snowe Walker Santorum Solomon Wolf Young (AK) Saxton Spence Young (FL) Stearns Schiff Stenholm Zeliff Sensenbrenner Zimmer Stump

NOT VOTING-20

Grandy Huffington Becerra Royce Calvert Scott Clinger Jefferson Smith (OR) Cooper Martinez Thomas (WY) Faleomavaega McCurdy Tucker Miller (CA) Washington Foglietta Oberstan Whitter

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time.

¶58.22 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Ms. HARMAN:

Page 169, line 22, strike out "A member of the" and all that follows through "be separated." on page 169, line 25, and insert in lieu thereof the following:

A member of the armed forces who is classified as permanently nonworldwide assignable due to a medical condition shall (except as provided in subsection (c)) be separated unless the Secretary concerned determines that the retention of permanently nonworldwide assignable service members would not adversely affect the ability of the service to carry out its mission.

It was decided in the Yeas affirmative Nays 192

958.23[Roll No. 219]

AYES-227 Derrick Abercrombie Houghton Ackerman Deutsch Hoyer Andrews (ME) Diaz-Balart Hughes Applegate Dicks Inslee Bacchus (FL) Dingell Jacobs Dixon Baesler Johnson (CT) Barca Durbin Johnson (GA) Barlow Edwards (CA) Johnson (SD) Barrett (WI) Edwards (TX) Johnson, E.B. Beilenson Engel Johnston English Berman Kanjorski Bevill Eshoo Kaptur Bilbray Kennedy Evans Bishop Kennelly Farr Blackwell Fazio Kildee Blute Fields (LA) Kleczka Bonior Filner Klein Fingerhut Borski Klink Boucher Fish Klug Flake Kolbe Brooks Ford (MI) Kopetski Browder Brown (CA) Frank (MA) Kreidler Brown (FL) Franks (NJ) LaFalce Brown (OH) Furse Gejdenson Bryant Lantos Gephardt Gillmor LaRocco Cantwell Lehman Cardin Gilman Levin Clay Clayton Lewis (GA) Glickman Gonzalez Lipinski Clyburn Gordon Long Collins (IL) Green Lowey Machtley Collins (MI) Greenwood Condit Gunderson Maloney Conyers Gutierrez Hall (OH) Mann Coppersmith Manton Costello Hamburg Margolies Coyne Harman Mezvinsky Cramer Hastings Markey Hefner Danner Hilliard McCloskey McDermott de la Garza de Lugo (VI) Hinchey Hoagland Deal McKinney DeFazio Hobson Hochbrueckner Meehan

DeLauro

Dellums

Mfume Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Molinari Moran Morella Nadler Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Norton (DC) Obey Olver Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Pelosi Penny Peterson (MN) Pickle Pomerov Poshard Price (NC) Quinn Řahall Rangel Ravenel

Reed

Carr

Cox

Gallo

Gekas

Geren

Gibbons

Meek

Menendez

Reynolds Strickland Richardson Ridge Romero-Barcelo Ros-Lehtinen Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sangmeister Sarpalius Sawyer Schenk Schroeder Schumer Serrano Sharp Shays Shepherd Skaggs Wyden Slattery Wynn Slaughter Yates Smith (IA) Snowe Spratt Stark Stokes

NOES-192

Allard Gilchrest Murtha Andrews (N.J) Gingrich Goodlatte Myers Nussle Andrews (TX) Archer Goodling Ortiz Armey Goss Oxlev Packard Bachus (AL) Grams Hall (TX) Baker (CA) Parker Baker (LA) Hamilton Paxon Hancock Payne (VA) Ballenger Peterson (FL) Barcia Hansen Barrett (NE) Petri Hastert Pickett Hayes Barton Hefley Pombo Bateman Herger Hoekstra Porter Portman Pryce (OH) Quillen Bereuter Bilirakis Hoke Holden Bliley Boehlert Hunter Ramstad Hutchinson Regula Roberts Boehner Hutto Bonilla Roemer Hyde Inglis Inhofe Rogers Rohrabacher Brewster Bunning Burton Istook Roth Johnson, Sam Buver Roukema Callahan Kasich Santorum Camp Canady Kim Saxton King Schaefer Kingston Schiff Castle Knollenberg Sensenbrenner Chapman Shaw Lambert Clement Shuster Lancaster Coble Laughlin Sisisky Coleman Skeen Lazio Leach Collins (GA) Skelton Smith (MI) Levy Lewis (CA) Combest Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Crane Lewis (FL) Lewis (KY) Crapo Solomon Cunningham Lightfoot Spence Darden Linder Stearns Livingston DeLay Stenholm Dickey Stump Lloyd Dooley Doolittle Sundquist Lucas Manzullo Swett Dornan Mazzoli Tauzin McCandless McCollum Dreier Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Duncan Tejeda Dunn McCrery Thomas (CA) Ehlers McDade Emerson McHale Thornton McHugh Everett Thurman Ewing Fawell Visclosky Volkmer McInnis McKeon Fields (TX) McMillan Vucanovich Ford (TN) McNulty Walker Walsh Meyers Fowler Franks (CT) Weldon Mica Michel Miller (FL) Frost Gallegly Wilson Wolf

Studds Stupak Foglietta

Swift Synar Talent Tanner Thompson Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Underwood (GU) Unsoeld Upton Valentine Velazquez Vento Waters Watt Waxman Williams Wise Woolsey

NOT VOTING-20

Grandy Huffington Becerra Royce Calvert Scott Clinger Jefferson Smith (OR) Cooper Faleomavaega Thomas (WY) Martinez McCurdy Tucker (AS) Miller (ČA) Washington Oberstan Whitten

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time.

¶58.24 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment, as modified, submitted by Mr. MARKEY:

At the end of Title X (page 277, after line 2), insert the following new section:

SEC. . NUCLEAR COOPERATION.

(a) IN GENERAL-It is the sense of the Congress that the President should suspend any programmatic consent given under a nuclear cooperation agreement for the use of special nuclear material subject to such agreement at any facility at which accounting discrepancies do not permit the International Atomic Energy Agency to determine with its required level of confidence that a significant quantity of special nuclear material has not been diverted from the facility. Such suspension should remain in effect until such time as the International Atomic Energy Agency determines that such discrepancies and uncertainties have been resolved and operational problems at the facility have been corrected to permit the Agency to detect a diversion of a significant quantity of special nuclear material from the facility with the required level of confidence.

(b) LIMITATION—The suspension called for in subsection (a) need not be carried out if operation of the facility in question is voluntarily suspended until such time as the Agency is able to detect a diversion as specified in that subsection.

(c) REPORTING-Not later than 90 days after enactment of this section, the President shall submit a report to the Congress which (i) describes the actions taken by the President pursuant to this section, (ii) states whether the conditions for lifting the suspension called for in subsection (a) have been met, and (iii) provides an assessment of the risks of both national and subnational diversion of special nuclear material at the facility under circumstances where such conditions have not been met. If, within such period, the conditions for lifting the suspension have not been satisfied, the President shall, every 90 days thereafter, and until such time as the conditions are satisfied, report to the Congress concerning the progress made toward achieving this objective

It was decided in the 68 Yeas negative Nays 349

958.25[Roll No. 220] AYES-68

Abercrombie Flake Frank (MA) Andrews (ME) Applegate Furse Bentley Gejdenson Bonior Gonzalez Hamburg Brown (OH) Hinchey Bryant Carr Horn Clay Houghton Collins (IL) Kasich Kennedy Collins (MI) Kildee Conyers Coyne de Lugo (VI) Lewis (GA) Maloney DeFazio Margolies-Dellums Edwards (CA) Mezvinsky Markey Evans McKinney Filner Meehan Minge Studds Fish Torres

Young (AK)

Young (FL) Zeliff

Mollohan

Murphy

Montgomery Moorhead