Will the House recommit said bill? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GEPHARDT, announced that the nays

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GEPHARDT, announced that the yeas

Mr. BURTON demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas 276 affirmative Nays 139

963.28[Roll No. 247] AYES-276

Abercrombie Fields (LA) Levin Lewis (CA) Ackerman Filner Andrews (ME) Fingerhut Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY) Andrews (TX) Flake Lightfoot Foglietta Applegate Bacchus (FL) Ford (TN) Lipinski Baesler Fowler Livingston Frank (MA) Barlow Lloyd Barrett (WI) Frost Long Bateman Furse Lowey Becerra Gallo Machtley Beilenson Geidenson Maloney Bentley Gephardt Mann Bevill Geren Manton Bilbray Gibbons Margolies Mezvinsky Bishop Gilchrest Boehlert Gilman Markey Bonilla Gonzalez Martinez Bonior Gordon Matsui Borski Grandy Mazzoli Green McCloskey Boucher Gutierrez McCollum Brewster Brooks Hall (OH) McCrery McDermott Browder Hamburg Brown (CA) Hamilton McHale Brown (FL) Hansen McHugh Brown (OH) Harman McKinney Bryant Hastings McMillan Bunning Haves McNulty Hefner Meehan Byrne Callahan Hilliard Meek Menendez Calvert Hinchey Hoagland Cantwell Mfume Hobson Hochbrueckner Cardin Michel Miller (CA) Carr Clay Hoke Mineta Clayton Holden Mink Moakley Clement Horn Houghton Clyburn Mollohan Coleman Hoyer Hughes Montgomery Collins (MI) Morella Conyers Inslee Murphy Coppersmith Costello Istook Murtha Jefferson Nadler Neal (MA) Johnson (GA) Coyne Cramer Johnson (SD) Oberstar Danner Johnson, E. B. Obev Darden Johnston Olver de la Garza Kanjorski Ortiz Deal Orton Kaptur DeFazio Kasich Owens Packard DeLauro Kennedy Dellums Kennelly Parker Kildee Derrick Pastor Kingston Payne (NJ) Deutsch Diaz-Balart Kleczka Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Dicks Klein Dingell Klink Dixon Kolbe Peterson (MN) Dooley Kopetski Pickett Pickle Durbin Kreidler Edwards (CA) Kyl Pomerov LaFalce Edwards (TX) Porter Poshard Emerson Lambert Engel Lancaster Price (NC) English Eshoo Quillen Rahall Lantos LaRocco Evans Laughlin Rangel Everett Lazio Reed Regula Farr Leach

Lehman

Richardson

Fazio

Roemer Rogers Rose Rostenkowski Rowland Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sangmeister Sarpalius Sawyer Schenk Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Shepherd Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton

Allard

Slaughter Smith (IA) Unsoeld Valentine Solomon Velazquez Spratt Vento Visclosky Stark Stokes Volkmer Strickland Vucanovich Walsh Studds Stupak Waters Watt Sundquist Waxman Swift Synar Wheat Williams Tanner Tejeda Thomas (WY) Woolsey Wyden Thompson Wynn Thornton Thurman Yates Torricelli Young (AK) Young (FL) Traficant Tucker NOES-139

Gillmor Paxon Andrews (NJ) Gingrich Penny Archer Goodlatte Petri Pombo Goodling Armey Bachus (AL) Portman Goss Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Pryce (OH) Grams Greenwood Quinn Ballenger Gunderson Ramstad Hall (TX) Barca Ravenel Barcia Ridge Hancock Barrett (NE) Hastert Roberts Hefley Rohrabacher Bartlett. Barton Ros-Lehtinen Herger Bereuter Hoekstra Roth Huffington Roukema Bilirakis Bliley Royce Hunter Blute Hutchinson Santorum Schaefer Boehner Hutto Burton Hyde Schiff Buyer Inglis Sensenbrenner Shaw Inhofe Camp Canady Jacobs Shays Johnson (CT) Castle Shuster Johnson, Sam Clinger Slattery Smith (MI) Coble Collins (GA) King Smith (N.I) Smith (OR) Combest Klug Condit Knollenberg Smith (TX) Cox Levy Lewis (FL) Snowe Spence Crane Linder Crapo Stearns Cunningham Lucas Stenholm Stump DeLay Manzullo Dickey Swett Talent McCandless Doolittle McCurdy Dornan McInnis Tauzin Dreier McKeon Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Duncan Mevers Dunn Mica Torkildsen Miller (FL) Upton Walker Ehlers Ewing Minge Molinari Fawell Weldon Fields (TX) Moorhead Wolf Franks (CT) Mvers Zeliff Franks (NJ) Nussle Zimmer Oxley Pallone Gallegly Gekas

NOT VOTING-19

Glickman Thomas (CA) Berman Blackwell McDade Torres Chapman Collins (IL) Moran Neal (NC) Washington Whitten Wilson Cooper Reynolds Saxton Sharp Fish Ford (MI)

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶63.29 WAIVING POINTS OF ORDER AGAINST H.R. 4554

Mr. MOAKLEY, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 103-548) the resolution (H. Res. 455) waiving certain points of order against the bill (H.R. 4554) making appropriations for Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration,

and Related Agencies programs for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

¶63.30 COMMITTEE ELECTION—MINORITY

Mr. GINGRICH, by direction of the Republican Conference, submitted the following privileged resolution (H. Res.

Resolved, That Representative RON LEWIS of Kentucky be and is hereby elected to the following standing committees of the House of Representatives: the Committee on Agriculture, and the Committee on Veterans Af-

When said resolution was considered and agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶63.31 NOTICE REQUIREMENT—MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES-H.R. 3355

Mr. McCOLLUM, pursuant to clause 1(c) of rule XXVIII, announced his intention to instruct the managers on the part of the House at the conference with the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the House amendment to the Senate amendment to the bill (H.R. 3355) to amend the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 to allow grants to increase police presence, to expand and improve cooperative efforts between law enforcement agencies and members of the community to address crime and disorder problems, and otherwise to enhance public safety, be instructed not to agree to title IX, relating to racially discriminatory sentencing, of the House amendment or to any similar provision.

¶63.32 ENROLLED BILLS SIGNED

Mr. ROSE, from the Committee on House Administration, reported that that committee had examined and found truly enrolled bills of the House of the following titles, which were thereupon signed by the Speaker:

H.R. 3676. An Act to amend the District of Columbia Spouse Equity Act of 1988 to provide for coverage of the former spouses of judges of the District of Columbia courts.

H.R. 4205. An Act to amend title 11, D.C. Code, to clarify that blind individuals are eligible to serve as jurors in the Superior Court of the District of Columbia.

¶63.33 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted to Mrs. FOWLER, for today from 7:30 p.m. until 10:45 p.m. And then,

¶63.34 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. SOLOMON, at 12 o'clock midnight, the House adjourned.

¶63.35 REPORTS OF COMMITTEES ON PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 2 of rule XIII, reports of committees were delivered to the Clerk for printing and reference to the proper calendar, as follows: