ment of the House to the bill (S. 1904) "An Act to amend title 38, United States Code, to improve the organization and procedures of the Board of Veterans' Appeals.".

The message also announced that the Senate has passed a joint resolution of the following title, in which the concurrence of the House is requested:

S.J. Res. 175. Joint resolution to designate the week beginning June 13, 1994, as tional Parkinson's Disease Awareness Week."

The message also announced that pursuant to Public Law 102-375, as amended by Public Law 103-171, the Chair, on behalf of the majority leader after consultation with the Republican leader, appointed Mr. PRYOR from the Special Committee on Aging, Ms. MI-KULSKI from the Committee on Labor and Human Resources, Mr. MOYNIHAN from the Committee on Finance, and Mr. COHEN from the Special Committee on Aging, as members of the Policy Committee to the White House Conference on Aging.

¶64.4 PERISHABLE AGRICULTURAL COMMODITIES

On motion of Mr. DE LA GARZA, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Agriculture was discharged from further consideration of the bill (H.R. 4581) to provide for the imposition of temporary fees in connection with the handling of complaints of violations of the Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act, 1930.

When said bill was considered, read twice, ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title, and passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶64.5 WAIVING POINTS OF ORDER AGAINST H.R. 4554

Mr. GORDON, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 454):

Resolved, That points of order against consideration of the bill (H.R. 4556) making appropriations for the Department of Transportation and related agencies for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes, for failure to comply with clause 2(l)(6) of rule XI or clause 7 of rule XXI are waived. During consideration of the bill, all points of order against provisions in the bill for failure to comply with clause 2 or 6 of rule XXI are waived except as follows: beginning on page 53, line 9, through page 54, line

When said resolution was considered. After debate,

Mr. GORDON moved the previous question on the resolution to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House now order the pre-

vious question?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. WISE, announced that the nays had it. Mr. GORDON objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 241 When there appeared Nays 177

964.6[Roll No. 248] YEAS-241

Gonzalez Abercrombie Obey Olver Ackerman Gordon Andrews (ME) Green Ortiz Gutierrez Andrews (TX) Orton Hall (OH) Applegate Owens Bacchus (FL) Hall (TX) Pallone Baesler Hamburg Parker Pastor Barca Hamilton Barcia Harman Payne (NJ) Barlow Hastings Payne (VA) Barrett (WI) Hayes Pelosi Becerra Hefner Penny Beilenson Hilliard Peterson (FL) Hinchey Berman Peterson (MN) Hoagland Pickett Bevill Hochbrueckner Bilbray Pickle Bishop Holden Pomeroy Blackwell Poshard Hover Price (NC) Bonior Hughes Borski Hutto Rahall Boucher Inslee Rangel Jefferson Johnson (GA) Brooks Richardson Browder Johnson (SD) Roemer Brown (CA) Johnson, E.B. Rose Rostenkowski Brown (FL) Johnston Kanjorski Brown (OH) Rowland Bryant Roybal-Allard Kaptur Cantwell Kennedy Rush Cardin Kennelly Sabo Kildee Kleczka Sanders Sangmeister Clav Clayton Sarpalius Klein Sawyer Schenk Clement Klink Kopetski Kreidler Clvburn Coleman Schroeder Collins (IL) LaFalce Schumer Collins (MI) Lambert Scott Condit Lancaster Serrano Conyers Lantos LaRocco Sharp Shepherd Cooper Coppersmith Laughlin Sisisky Skaggs Costello Lehman Covne Levin Skelton Lewis (GA) Smith (IA) Cramer Danner Lipinski Spratt Darden Llovd Stark Stenholm de la Garza Long Lowey Deal Stokes Maloney Strickland DeFazio DeLauro Mann Studds Derrick Manton Stupak Deutsch Margolies-Swett Dicks Mezvinsky Swift Dingell Markey Synar Martinez Tanner Dixon Taylor (MS) Dooley Matsui Durbin Mazzoli Tejeda Edwards (CA) McCloskey Thompson Edwards (TX) McDermott McHale Thornton Thurman Engel English McKinney Torres Torricelli Towns McNulty Meehan Eshoo Evans Unsoeld Meek Menendez Fazio Valentine Mfume Velazquez Fields (LA) Filner Miller (CA) Vento Visclosky Volkmer Fingerhut Flake Mineta Minge Foglietta Mink Waters Moakley Ford (MI) Watt Ford (TN) Mollohan Waxman Frank (MA) Montgomery Williams Frost Moran Wilson Wise Furse Murphy Gejdenson Murtha Woolsey Gephardt Geren Nadler Wyden Neal (MA) Wynn Gibbons Neal (NC) Yates

NAYS-177

Oberstar

Glickman

Allard

Archer

Armey Bachus (AL)

Baker (LA) Ballenger Barrett (NE) Bartlett Bateman Bereuter Bilirakis Bliley

Hefley Boehlert Packard Boehner Herger Bonilla Hobson Petri Bunning Hoekstra Burton Hoke Horn Buyer Byrne Houghton Huffington Callahan Calvert Hunter Hutchinson Camp Canady Castle Inglis Clinger Inhofe Jacobs Collins (GA) Johnson (CT) Combest Johnson, Sam Kasich Crane Kim Roth Cunningham King DeLay Diaz-Balart Kingston Klug Knollenberg Dickey Doolittle Kolbe Dornan Kvl Dreier Lazio Duncan Leach Dunn Levv Lewis (CA) Ehlers Emerson Lewis (FL) Lewis (KY) Everett Ewing Fawell Lightfoot Linder Fields (TX) Livingston Fish Lucas Machtlev Fowler Franks (CT) Manzullo Franks (NJ) McCandless Gallegly McCollum Gallo McCrery McDade Gekas Gilchrest McHugh Gillmor McInnis Gilman McKeon McMillan Gingrich Goodlatte Meyers Goodling Mica Michel Goss Miller (FL) Grams Molinari Moorhead Grandy Greenwood Wolf Gunderson Morella Hancock Myers Young (FL) Hansen Nussle Zeliff Hastert Oxley Zimmei

Paxon Pombo Porter Portman Prvce (OH) Quillen Quinn Ramstad Ravenel Regula Ridge Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roukema Santorum Saxton Schaefer Schiff Sensenbrenner Shaw Shavs Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (OR) Smith (TX) Solomon Spence Stearns Stump Sundquist Talent Taylor (NC) Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Torkildsen Traficant Upton Vucanovich Walker Walsh Weldon Young (AK)

NOT VOTING-16

Andrews (N.J) McCurdy Tucker Reynolds Bentley Washington Chapman Slattery Wheat Slaughter Whitten Crapo Dellums Istook Tauzin

So the previous question on the resolution was ordered.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to said resolu-

tion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr.

WISE, announced that the nays had it. Mr. GORDON demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said resolution, which demand was supported by onefifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

964.7[Roll No. 249] AYES-239

Abercrombie

Andrews (ME)

Andrews (TX)

Bacchus (FL)

Barrett (WI)

Becerra Beilenson

Ackerman

Applegate

Baesler

Barca

Barcia

Barlow

Berman Brown (OH) Bevill Bryant Bilbray Cantwell Bishop Cardin Blackwell Carr Bonior Clay Clayton Borski Clement Boucher Brewster Clyburn Brooks Coleman Browder Collins (IL) Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Collins (MI)

Condit

1117