Mr. NUSSLE demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the \ \ Yeas 278 affirmative Nays 127

965.9[Roll No. 256] AYES-278

Abercrombie Gejdenson Moakley Ackerman Andrews (ME) Mollohan Gephardt Montgomery Moran Andrews (NJ) Geren Morella Andrews (TX) Gibbons Glickman Applegate Murtha Baesler Gonzalez Myers Baker (LA) Gordon Nadler Neal (MA) Barca Green Neal (NC) Gutierrez Barlow Barrett (WI) Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Oberstar Obey Hamburg Olver Barton Becerra Beilenson Hamilton Ortiz Harman Orton Bentley Hefner Owens Bereuter Hinchey Packard Hoagland Pallone Berman Bevill Hochbrueckner Parker Bilbray Holden Pastor Bilirakis Payne (NJ) Horn Bishop Houghton Payne (VA) Blackwell Hoyer Hughes Pelosi Bonilla Penny Bonior Hunter Peterson (FL) Borski Hutto Pickett. Boucher Inslee Pickle Brewster Jefferson Pomeroy Johnson (CT) Browder Poshard Brown (FL) Johnson (GA) Price (NC) Brown (OH) Johnson (SD) Quillen Johnson, E. B. Rahall Bryant Byrne Johnston Rangel Calvert Kanjorski Ravenel Camp Kaptur Reed Cantwell Kennedy Regula Cardin Kennelly Richardson Kildee Roemer Carr Chapman Kleczka Rogers Clayton Klein Rose Rostenkowski Clement Kolbe Rowland Roybal-Allard Clyburn Kopetski Coleman Kreidler Collins (MI) LaFalce Sabo Condit Lambert Sanders Convers Lancaster Sangmeister Cooper Sarpalius Lantos Coppersmith LaRocco Sawyer Costello Laughlin Saxton Coyne Leach Schenk Cramer Lehman Schiff Schroeder Danner Levin Lewis (CA) Darden Schumer de la Garza Lewis (FL) Scott Deal Lewis (GA) Serrano DeFazio Lightfoot Sharp DeLauro Linder Shepherd Dellums Sisisky Llovd Derrick Skaggs Long Deutsch Lowey Skeen Diaz-Balart Maloney Skelton Dicks Mann Slaughter Dingell Manton Smith (IA) Dixon Margolies-Smith (NJ) Mezvinsky Smith (TX) Dooley Durbin Markey Spratt Edwards (CA) Martinez Stark Edwards (TX) Matsui Stenholm Engel Mazzoli Stokes Strickland English McCandless Eshoo McCloskey Studds McCrery Evans Stupak McDade Farr Swett McDermott McHale Fazio Swift Fields (LA) Synar Filner McKinney Tanner Fingerhut Foglietta McNulty Meehan Tauzin Taylor (MS) Ford (MI) Meek Tejeda Menendez Mfume Thomas (CA) Thompson Ford (TN) Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Miller (CA) Thornton Frost Mineta Thurman Minge Torres Furse Gallegly Mink Torricelli

Towns Traficant Unsoeld Valentine Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus (AL)

Barrett (NE)

Baker (CA)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Bateman

Bliley

Blute Boehner

Burton

Buyer Callahan

Canady

Clinger

Combest

Collins (GA)

Cunningham

Castle

Coble

Cox

Crane

Crapo

DeLay

Doolittle

Dornan

Duncan

Dreier

Dunn

Ehlers

Emerson

Everett

Ewing

Fawell

Fowler

Gallo

Gilchrest

Fish

Fields (TX)

Franks (NJ)

Vucanovich Wilson Walsh Wise Waters Woolsey Watt Wyden Waxman Wynn Wheat Yates Young (AK) Young (FL) Whitten Williams

NOES-127

Gillmor Miller (FL) Molinari Gilman Gingrich Moorhead Goodlatte Nussle Goodling Oxley Goss Paxon Grandy Peterson (MN) Greenwood Gunderson Petri Pombo Hancock Porter Hansen Portman Hastert Ramstad Hefley Roberts Rohrabacher Herger Hobson Ros-Lehtinen Hoekstra Roth Hoke Roukema Huffington Rovce Hutchinson Santorum Hyde Schaefer Inglis Sensenbrenner Inhofe Shaw Istook Shays Shuster Jacobs Smith (MI) Johnson, Sam Kasich Snowe Kim Solomon King Spence Kingston Stearns Klug Knollenberg Stump Sundquist Kyl Talent Taylor (NC) Lazio Levy Lewis (KY) Thomas (WY) Torkildsen Lucas Upton Manzullo Walker McCollum Weldon McHugh Wolf Zeliff McInnis McKeon Zimmer

NOT VOTING-29

Meyers

Mica

Bacchus (FL) Hayes Pryce (OH) Hilliard Boehlert Quinn Řeynolds Brooks Klink Brown (CA) Lipinski Ridge Rush Bunning Livingston Clay Collins (IL) Machtley Slattery Smith (OR) McCurdy Flake McMillan Tucker Washington Grams Michel Hastings Murphy

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

$\P65.10$ Permission to file report

On motion of Mr. DURBIN, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Appropriations was granted permission until midnight tonight to file a privileged report on the bill making appropriations for the Department of the Interior and Related Agencies for fiscal year 1995, and for other purposes.

Mr. REGULA reserved all points of order against said bill.

¶65.11 ORDER OF BUSINESS— CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 4568

On motion of Mr. DURBIN, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That, any rule of the House to the contrary notwithstanding, it may be in order at any time on June 21, 1994, or any day thereafter, to consider in the House the bill (H.R. 4568) making

supplemental appropriations for the Department of Housing and Urban Development for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1994, and for other purposes; that the bill shall be debatable for one hour, equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the committee on Appropirations; and that the previous question shall be considered as ordered to final passage without intervening motion except one motion to recom-

¶65.12 ADJOURNMENT OVER

On motion of Mr. HOYER, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 10:30 a.m. on Tuesday, June 21, 1994.

¶65.13 CALENDAR WEDNESDAY BUSINESS DISPENSED WITH

On motion of Mr. HOYER, by unanimous consent.

Ordered. That business in order for consideration on Wednesday, June 22, 1994, under clause 7, rule XXIV, the Calendar Wednesday rule, be dispensed with.

¶65.14 PERMISSION TO FILE REPORT

On motion of Mr. MONTGOMERY, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Armed Services was granted permission until midnight tonight to file a privileged report (Rept. No. 103–545, pt. 2) on the bill (H.R. 2238) to amend laws relating to Federal procurement, to authorize functions and activities under the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act of 1949, and for other

¶65.15 HONORING JAMES NORMAN HALL

On motion of Ms. BYRNE, by unanimous consent, the Committee on Post Office and Civil Service was discharged from further consideration of the following concurrent resolution (H. Con. Res. 215):

Whereas James Norman Hall, a native son of the State of Iowa born in Colfax in 1887, and a graduate of Grinnell College, was a decorated war hero, noted adventurer, and acclaimed author, who was revered and loved in France and Tahiti, and throughout the South Pacific;

Whereas James Norman Hall exhibited an unwavering commitment to freedom and democracy by volunteering for military service early in World War I and by fighting alongside British forces in the worst of trench warfare, including the Battle of Loos, where he was one of few survivors; Whereas James Norman Hall continued his

fight for liberty by becoming a pilot in the Lafayette Escadrilles, an American pursuit squadron of the French Air Service, and his courageous and daring feats in air battles earned him France's highest medals, including the Legion d⁷Honneur, Medaille Militaire, and Croix de Guerre with 5 Palms; Whereas James Norman Hall was commis-

sioned as a Captain in the United States Army Air Service when the United States entered World War I, continued his legendary exploits as an ace pilot, acted as wing commander and mentor for then-Lieutenant Eddie Rickenbacker, and was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross Medal, for gallantry and bravery in battle, by General Pershing;