Leach

Evans

Whitten Wolf Wynn Wilson Woolsey Yates Wise Wyden NOT VOTING-11

Ackerman Machtley Solomon McCurdy Underwood (GU) Houghton Sharp Smith (IA) Kleczka Washington Lloyd

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶67.12 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. CRANE

Page 77, after line 19, insert the following: ELIMINATION OF FUNDING

Each amount appropriated or otherwise made available by this title for "National Endowment for the Arts" is hereby reduced

It was decided in the Yeas 113 negative Nays 313

967.13[Roll No. 263] AYES-113

Allard Gekas McHugh McKeon Archer Geren Gilchrest Miller (FL) Armey Bachus (AL) Moorhead Gingrich Baker (CA) Goodlatte Myers Baker (LA) Grams Orton Greenwood Parker Barrett (NE) Hall (TX) Paxon Bartlett Hancock Petri Hastert Pombo Bilirakis Haves Quillen Bliley Hefley Quinn Boehner Roberts Herger Rohrabacher Bonilla Holden Bunning Hunter Roth Burton Hutchinson Royce Buver Hutto Sarpalius Callahan Hyde Schaefer Sensenbrenner Calvert Inglis Canady Inhofe Shuster Coble Istook Skelton Collins (GA) Johnson, Sam Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Combest Kim Condit Smith (OR) King Cox Kingston Smith (TX) Knollenberg Crane Stearns Cunningham Kyl Stenholm Stump DeLay Laughlin Talent Dickey Levv Lewis (FL) Doolittle Tanner Dornan Lewis (KY) Tauzin Dreier Lightfoot Taylor (MS) Duncan Linder Taylor (NC) Emerson Livingston Thomas (CA) Everett Lucas Vucanovich Manzullo Fields (TX) Young (AK) McCandless Gallegly McCrery

NOES-313

Abercrombie Brewster Coyne Andrews (ME) Cramer Brooks Andrews (NJ) Browder Crapo Andrews (TX) Brown (CA) Danner Brown (FL) Applegate Darden Bacchus (FL) Brown (OH) de la Garza Baesler Bryant de Lugo (VI) Ballenger Byrne Deal Barca Camp DeFazio Cantwell Barlow DeLauro Cardin Barrett (WI) Dellums Bateman Derrick Castle Becerra Deutsch Beilenson Chapman Diaz-Balart Bentley Dicks Clay Dingell Clayton Bereuter Berman Clement Dixon Bevill Bilbray Clinger Dooley Dunn Clyburn Bishop Coleman Durbin Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Edwards (CA) Edwards (TX) Blackwell Blute Boehlert Ehlers Conyers Bonior Cooper Engel English Coppersmith Borski Boucher Costello

Ewing Lehman Rogers Faleomavaega Romero-Barcelo Levin Lewis (CA) (AS) (PR) Ros-Lehtinen Farr Lewis (GA) Fazio Lipinski Rose Rostenkowski Fields (LA) Long Roukema Filner Lowey Fingerhut Maloney Rowland Roybal-Allard Fish Mann Rush Flake Manton Sabo Foglietta Margolies-Sanders Ford (MI) Mezvinsky Sangmeister Ford (TN) Markey Santorum Martinez Fowler Sawyer Frank (MA) Matsui Saxton Mazzoli Franks (CT) Schenk Franks (NJ) McCloskey Schiff Frost McCollum Schroeder Furse McDade Schumer Gallo McDermott Scott Gejdenson McHale Shaw Gephardt Gibbons McInnis McKinney Shavs Shepherd Gillmor McMillan Sisisky McNulty Gilman Meehan Skaggs Skeen Gonzalez Meek Slattery Menendez Goodling Slaughter Gordon Meyers Smith (IA) Goss Mfume Snowe Grandy Mica Green Michel Spence Spratt Gunderson Miller (CA) Stark Gutierrez Mineta Stokes Hall (OH) Minge Hamburg Strickland Mink Studds Hamilton Moakley Stupak Molinari Hansen Sundquist Harman Mollohan Swett Hastings Montgomery Swift Hefner Moran Synar Hilliard Morella Tejeda Hinchey Murphy Thomas (WY) Hoagland Murtha Thompson Hobson Nadler Hochbrueckner Neal (MA) Thornton Thurman Hoekstra Neal (NC) Torkildsen Norton (DC) Hoke Torres Horn Nussle Torricelli Obey Hoyer Towns Traficant Huffington Olver Hughes Ortiz Tucker Inslee Owens Unsoeld Jacobs Oxley Packard Jefferson Upton . Valentine Johnson (CT) Pallone Vento Visclosky Johnson (GA) Pastor Payne (NJ) Johnson (SD) Volkmer Payne (VA) Pelosi Johnson, E. B Johnston Walsh Waters Kanjorski Penny Watt Peterson (FL) Kaptur Peterson (MN) Waxman Kasich Weldon Pickett Kennedy Wheat Kennelly Pickle Whitten Kildee Pomeroy Williams Kleczka Porter Wilson Portman Klein Klink Poshard Wise Wolf Klug Price (NC) Woolsey Pryce (OH) Kolbe Rahall Wyden Kopetski Wynn Kreidler Ramstad Yates LaFalce Rangel Young (FL) Lambert Ravenel Zeliff Lancaster Reed Zimmer Lantos Regula

NOT VOTING-13

Richardson

Ridge

LaRocco

Lazio

Underwood (GU) Ackerman Oberstan Reynolds Velazquez Houghton Lloyd Serrano Washington Machtley Sharp Solomon

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DE LA GARZA, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. GLICKMAN, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶67.14 VETERANS AFFAIRS AND HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT APPROPRIATIONS

Mr. STOKES submitted a privileged report (Rept. No. 103-555) on the bill (H.R. 4624) making appropriations for the Departments of Veterans Affairs and Housing and Urban Development, and for sundry independent agencies, boards, commissions, corporations, and offices for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes.

When said bill and report were referred to the Union Calendar and ordered printed.

Mr. LEWIS of California reserved all points of order against said bill.

¶67.15 MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES-H.R. 3355

Mr. McCOLLUM submitted the privileged motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House at the conference with the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the House amendment to the Senate amendment to the bill (H.R. 3355) to amend the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 to allow grants to increase police presence, to expand and improve cooperative efforts between law enforcement agencies and members of the community, to address crime and disorder problems, and otherwise to enhance public safety; be instructed not to make any agreement that would have the effect of reducing the funding provided for prisons to a level that is less than the level provided in titles VI and VIII of the House amendment.

After debate,

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House now order the previous question on said motion?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DE LA GARZA, announced that the yeas

Mr. McCOLLUM objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 338 When there appeared Nays 81

967.16[Roll No. 264] YEAS-338 Allard Bartlett Andrews (ME) Barton Andrews (N.J) Bateman

Browder Brown (OH) Bryant Bunning Andrews (TX) Bentley Applegate Bereuter Burton Archer Bevill Buyer Bilbray Armey Byrne Bacchus (FL) Bilirakis Callahan Bachus (AL) Bishop Calvert Bliley Baesler Camp Baker (CA) Blute Canady Baker (LA) Boehlert Cantwell Ballenger Cardin Boehner Barca Bonilla Carr Castle Borski Barcia Barrett (NE) Boucher Chapman Barrett (WI) Brewster Clayton