Resolved, That during consideration of the bill (H.R. 4602) making appropriations for the Department of the Interior and related agencies for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes, all points of order against provisions in the bill for failure to comply with clause 2 or 6 of rule XXI are waived except as follows: beginning on page 80, line 10, through line 19.

When said resolution was considered.

On motion of Mr. GORDON, the previous question was ordered on the resolution to its adoption or rejection and under the operation thereof, the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶67.4 INTERIOR APPROPRIATIONS

Mr. YATES moved that the House resolve itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 4602) making appropriations for the Department of the Interior and related agencies for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes.

Pending said motion,

On motion of Mr. YATES, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That time for general debate continue not to exceed one hour to be equally divided and controlled by Mr. YATES and Mr. REGULA.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FIL-NER, announced that the yeas had it.

So the motion was agreed to.

Accordingly,

The House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of said bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FIL-NER, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. GLICKMAN as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein.

The Committee rose informally to receive a message from the President.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BOUCHER, assumed the Chair.

¶67.5 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries

The Committee resumed its sitting: and after some further time spent therein.

¶67.6 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. ALLARD:

Page 14, strike lines 9 through 22.

It was decided in the negative

Yeas Nays 259 Answered present

Orton

Oxley

Packard

Parker

Paxon

Penny

Petri

Pickett

Pombo

Pomerov

Portman

Poshard

Quinn

Ramstad

Rowland

Santorum

Sarpalius

Schaefer

Shaw

Shuster

Sisisky

Smith (MI)

Smith (OR)

Smith (TX)

Spence

Stearns

Stump

Talent

Tanner

Tauzin

Tejeda

Upton

Volkmer

Walker

Wolf

Stenholm

Sundquist

Taylor (MS)

Taylor (NC)

Thomas (CA)

Thomas (WY)

Vucanovich

Young (AK)

Young (FL) Zeliff

Skeen

Sensenbrenner

Rohrabacher

Roberts

Rogers

Roth

Royce

Pryce (OH) Quillen

Peterson (MN)

967.7[Roll No. 260]

AYES-169 Allard Gallegly Gekas Applegate Archer Geren Gingrich Armey Bachus (AL) Goodlatte Baesler Goodling Baker (CA) Grams Baker (LA) Ballenger Hall (TX) Hancock Hansen Hastert Hefley Barlow Barrett (NE) Bartlett Herger Barton Hoekstra Hoke Bateman Huffington Bentley Bereuter Hunter Bilirakis Hutchinson Hutto Bliley Inglis Inhofe Boehner Bonilla Brewster Istook Johnson, Sam Browder Kasich Bunning Kim Burton Buver King Callahan Kingston Calvert Klink Knollenberg Camp Canady Clinger Lambert Laughlin Coble Collins (GA) Lehman Levy Lewis (CA) Combest Condit Costello Lewis (FL) Cox Lewis (KY) Cramer Lightfoot Linder Crapo Lipinski Cunningham Livingston Danner Long DeLav Lucas Manzullo Dickey Dingell McCandless

Dooley

Doolittle

Dornan

Dreier

Dunn

Duncan

Emerson

Fields (TX)

Abercrombie

Everett

Fawell

Fowler

Barca

Becerra

Berman

Bevill

Bilbray

Bishop

Blute

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Brooks

Bryant

Byrne

Cardin

Castle

Carr

Clay

Edwards (TX)

Nussle NOES-259

McCrerv

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

Mica

Ortiz

Michel

McNulty

Miller (FL)

Montgomery

Moorhead

Clayton Ackerman Clement Andrews (ME) Clyburn Andrews (NJ) Coleman Collins (IL) Andrews (TX) Collins (MI) Bacchus (FL) Conyers Barrett (WI) Cooper Coppersmith Beilenson Coyne Darden de la Garza de Lugo (VI) Deal Blackwell DeFazio DeLauro Boehlert Dellums Derrick Deutsch Diaz-Balart Dicks Brown (CA) Dixon Brown (FL) Durbin Brown (OH) Edwards (CA) Ehlers Engel Cantwell English Eshoo Evans Ewing Chapman Faleomavaega Farr Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Fingerhut Flake Foglietta Ford (TN) Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frost Furse Gallo Gejdenson Gephardt Gibbons Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Glickman Gonzalez Gordon Goss Grandy

Green

Greenwood

Gunderson

Gutierrez

Hall (OH)

Sangmeister Hamilton McHale McKinney Harman Sawyer Hastings McMillan Saxton Hefner Meehan Schenk Hilliard Meek Schiff Hinchey Menendez Schroeder Hoagland Mevers Scott Hobson Mfume Serrano Shays Hochbrueckner Miller (CA) Holden Shepherd Mineta Minge Horn Skaggs Hoyer Mink Skelton Moakley Slattery Hughes Molinari Slaughter Inslee Mollohan Smith (IA) Smith (NJ) Jacobs Moran Jefferson Morella Snowe Johnson (CT) Murphy Spratt Johnson (GA) Murtha Stark Johnson (SD) Stokes Johnson E B Nadler Strickland Johnston Neal (MA) Studds Neal (NC) Kanjorski Stupak Kennedy Norton (DC) Swett Oberstar Swift Kennelly Obey Kildee Synar Kleczka Olver Thompson Klein Owens Thornton Klug Pallone Thurman Torkildsen Kolbe Pastor Kopetski Payne (NJ) Torres Torricelli Kreidler Payne (VA) LaFalce Pelosi Towns Lancaster Peterson (FL) Traficant Lantos Pickle Tucker Unsoeld LaRocco Porter Lazio Price (NC) Valentine Leach Rahall Velazquez Vento Levin Rangel Lewis (GA) Visclosky Ravenel Lowey Reed Walsh Machtley Regula Waters Maloney Reynolds Watt Mann Richardson Waxman Manton Ridge Weldon Margolies Roemer Wheat Romero-Barcelo Mezvinsky Whitten Markey (PR) Williams Martinez Ros-Lehtinen Wise Woolsey Matsui Rose Mazzoli Rostenkowski Wyden McCloskey Roukema Roybal-Allard Wynn

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Yates

Zimmei

Hayes

Rush

Sabo Sanders

NOT VOTING-10

Schumer Ford (MI) Washington Sharp Houghton Wilson Solomon Kaptur Lloyd Underwood (GU)

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶67.8 RECORDED VOTE

McCollum

McDermott

McCurdy

McDade

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. DUNCAN:

Page 15, line 14, insert ", reduced by \$14,000,000," after "1,083,973,000".

It was decided in the Yeas negative Nays 257

967.9[Roll No. 261] AYES-171

Allard Archer Armey Baesler Baker (LA) Ballenger Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bentley Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehner Bonilla

Brewster Bunning Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chapman Clement Clinger

Coble

Combest

Collins (GA)

Cooper Costello Crane Crapo DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Emerson Everett

Ewing

(AS)