Talent Torkildsen Weldon
Taylor (MS) Upton Wolf
Taylor (NC) Vucanovich Young (AK)
Thomas (CA) Walker Young (FL)
Thomas (WY) Walsh Zimmer

NOT VOTING-14

Clay Lloyd Towns
Collins (MI) Machtley Washington
Condit McCurdy Watt
Gunderson Quinn Zeliff
Kantur Rangel

So the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table

¶68.23 COMMERCE, JUSTICE, STATE, JUDICIARY APPROPRIATIONS

Mr. MOLLOHAN moved that the House resolve itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 4603) making appropriations for the Departments of Commmerce, Justice, and State, the Judiciary, and related agencies programs for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and making supplemental appropriations for the departments and agencies for fiscal year ending September 30, 1994, and for other purposes.

Pending said motion,

On motion of Mr. MOLLOHAN, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That time for general debate continue not to exceed one hour to be equally divided and controlled by Mr. MOLLOHAN and Mr. ROGERS.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion?
The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr.
WISE, announced that the yeas had it.
So the motion was agreed to.

Accordingly,

The House resolved itself into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of said bill.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. WISE, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. BROWN of California as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HASTINGS, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. BROWN of California, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶68.24 MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES—H.R. 3355

Mr. McCOLLUM submitted the privileged motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House at the conference with the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the House amendment to the Senate amendment to the bill (H.R. 3355) to amend the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 not to agree to subtitle I, relating to the local partnership Act, or to any provision similar to it, of title X of the House amendment. After debate,

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the motion to

instruct the managers on the part of the House.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to said motion?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HASTINGS, announced that the nays had it.

Mr. McCOLLUM demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the negative Yeas 143 Nays 247

¶68.25 [Roll No. 274] AYES—143

Gilchrest Allard Meyers Gillmor Archer Mica Gingrich Michel Armey Bachus (AL) Miller (FL) Goodlatte Goodling Baker (CA) Moorhead Baker (LA) Goss Myers Ballenger Grams Nussle Barrett (NE) Oxley Greenwood Gunderson Packard Bartlett Barton Hancock Paxon Bateman Hansen Petri Bereuter Hastert Porter Bilirakis Hefley Portman Bliley Herger Pryce (OH) Hobson Hoekstra Boehlert Quillen Boehner Ravenel Bonilla Huffington Regula Hunter Hutchinson Bunning Roberts Burton Rogers Callahan Inglis Rohrabacher Calvert Inhofe Roth Roukema Camp Istook Canady Johnson (GA) Royce Castle Johnson, Sam Santorum Kasich Coble Saxton Collins (GA) Schiff Kim Combest King Sensenbrenner Cox Kingston Shaw Crane Knollenberg Shuster Crapo Kolbe Skeen Cunningham Smith (MI) Kyl Lazio Smith (TX) Deal DeLay Levy Solomon Dickey Lewis (CA) Spence Doolittle Lewis (FL) Stearns Lewis (KY) Dornan Stump Dreier Lightfoot Talent Duncan Linder Taylor (NC) Livingston Dunn Thomas (CA) Thomas (WY) Ehlers Lucas Manzullo Emerson Vucanovich Walker McCandless Everett Ewing McCollum Walsh Fawell McCrery Weldon Fields (TX) McDade Wolf Young (FL) McHugh Gallo McKeon Zimmer McMillan Gekas

NOES-247

Abercrombie Brown (OH) Dellums Ackerman Brvant Derrick Andrews (ME) Buyer Deutsch Andrews (N.J) Byrne Diaz-Balart Andrews (TX) Cantwell Dicks Bacchus (FL) Dingell Cardin Baesler Carr Dixon Chapman Dooley Barca Barcia Clayton Durbin Edwards (CA) Barlow Clement Barrett (WI) Clinger Edwards (TX) English Becerra Clyburn Coleman Beilenson Eshoo Collins (IL) Bevill Evans Bilbray Condit Farr Bishop Convers Fazio Blackwell Cooper Fields (LA) Blute Coppersmith Costello Filner Fingerhut Bonior Borski Coyne Flake Boucher Cramer Foglietta Ford (TN) Brewster Danner Brooks Franks (NJ) Darden Browder de la Garza Frost Brown (CA) DeFazio Furse Gejdenson

Gephardt Margolies-Mezvinsky Rush Sabo Geren Gibbons Markey Sanders Sangmeister Gilman Matsui Glickman Mazzoli Sarpalius Gonzalez McCloskev Sawyer Schaefer Gordon McDermott Grandy Schenk Green McInnis Schroeder Gutierrez McKinney Scott Hall (OH) Serrano Sharp Hall (TX) Meehan Meek Shays Hamburg Hamilton Menendez Shepherd Hastings Mfume Sisisky Miller (CA) Hefner Skaggs Hilliard Mineta Skelton Slaughter Smith (IA) Hinchev Minge Mink Hoagland Hochbrueckner Moakley Smith (NJ) Hoke Molinari Smith (OR) Holden Mollohan Snowe Horn Montgomery Spratt Houghton Moran Stark Morella Stenholm Hoyer Stokes Strickland Hutto Neal (MA) Neal (NC) Inslee Jacobs Obey Stupak Jefferson Olver Swett Johnson (CT) Swift Ortiz Johnson (SD) Orton Synar Johnson, E. B. Johnston Pallone Tanner Parker Tauzin Taylor (MS) Kaptur Pastor Payne (NJ) Kennedy Tejeda Pavne (VA) Thompson Kennelly Kildee Pelosi Thornton Peterson (FL) Kleczka Thurman Peterson (MN) Klein Torkildsen Klink Torres Klug Kopetski Traficant Pickle Pombo Tucker Kreidler Unsoeld Pomeroy Lambert Poshard Upton Lancaster Price (NC) . Valentine Velazquez Visclosky Lantos Rahall Ramstad LaRocco Laughlin Rangel Waters Reed Watt Leach Lehman Reynolds Waxman Levin Richardson Williams Lewis (GA) Roemer Ros-Lehtinen Wise Woolsey Lipinski Rose Wyden Long Rostenkowski Lowey Young (AK) Mann Rowland

Roybal-Allard NOT VOTING—44

Manton

Applegate Kanjorski Schumer Bentley LaFalce Slattery Berman Llovd Studds Machtley Sundquist Clay Maloney Collins (MI) Torricelli Engel Martinez Towns Fish McCurdy Vento Ford (MI) Murphy Volkmer Frank (MA) Washington Murtha Franks (CT) Nadler Wheat Gallegly Oberstar Whitten Wilson Harman Owens Hayes Penny Yates Quinn Ridge Zeliff Hughes Hyde

So the motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House was not agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was not agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶68.26 SENATE BILLS AND JOINT RESOLUTION REFERRED

Bills and a joint resolution of the Senate of the following titles were taken from the Speaker's table and, under the rule, referred as follows:

S. 1357. An Act to reaffirm and clarify the Federal relationships of the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians and the Little River Band of Ottawa Indians as distinct federally recognized Indian tribes, and for other purposes; to the Committee on Natural Resources.