The Fifty-Seventh Presidential Inauguration on January 21, 2013 presented by the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies.


U.S. Senate Photo Studio

The members of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies meet to establish the committee: (l. to r.) Senator Lamar Alexander, House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, Speaker of the House John A. Boehner, Chairman Charles E. Schumer, House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid.

For more than two hundred years America’s citizens have witnessed the Inauguration ceremonies of the President and Vice President of the United States. From the first Inauguration of George Washington, in New York City, in 1789, to today, as we prepare for the 57th quadrennial Presidential Inauguration, the swearing-in ceremonies represents both national renewal and continuity of leadership. As each president has offered a vision for America’s future, we reflect on the heritage of Inaugurations past.