Navigation Bar Grades K-2 Grades 3-5 Grades 6-8Grades 9-12 Parents and Teachers Home

The House of Representatives

In the House, representation is based on the number of people living in each state. There are a total of 435 representatives in the House. Each member represents an area of the state, known as a congressional district. The number of representatives is based on the number of districts in a state. Therefore, states with larger populations have more representation than states with smaller populations. Each state has at least one congressional district and therefore one representative in the House.

Representation in the House is based on population.

Representatives must:

  • Be at least 25 years old.
  • Be a U.S. citizen for the past 7 years.
  • Live in the state they represent.

Each representative serves a term of 2 years. When the term is over, people from that state may choose to elect a new representative or keep the same one. There is no limit on the number of terms a representative can serve.

The House has special jobs that only it can do. It can:

  • Start laws that make people pay taxes.
  • Decide if a government official should be put on trial before the Senate if s/he commits a crime against the country.
To learn more, choose from the following:

Related links