National Cancer Institute
National Cancer Institute U.S. National Institutes of Health

Gynecologic Cancer Steering Committee

The NCI Gynecologic Cancer Steering Committee (GCSC) was transitioned into a NCI Disease Specific Steering Committee from the Gynecologic Cancer Intergroup in May 2006. The GCSC is currently composed of the Steering Committee and three specific disease-site task forces. Members of the GCSC include Cooperative Group gynecologic disease committee chairs, Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPOREs), Cancer Center, and R01/P01 investigators along with community oncologists, biostatistician(s), patient advocates, and NCI staff.

Mission Statement

The GCSC functions to harmonize an efficient, cost-effective, science-driven, and transparent process that will identify and promote the "Best Science" in gynecologic cancer clinical research by addressing the design and prioritization of phase III trials and evaluating randomized phase II studies. As part of its mission, this GCSC is intent on fostering collaboration with international groups and institutions engaged in conducting trials in gynecologic cancers.

Roster of Gynecologic Cancer Steering Committee (GCSC) members
Michael J. Birrer, M.D., Ph.D., David M. Gershenson, M.D., and Gillian M. Thomas, M.D., Co-chairs

Task Forces

  • Cervical Cancer: Alan Covens, M.D., and Don S. Dizon, M.D., Co-chairs
  • Ovarian Cancer: Carol Aghajanian, M.D., and Benjamin E. Greer, M.D., Co-chairs
  • Uterine Cancer: Martee Hensley, M.D., and Scott McMeekin, M.D., Co-chairs

Clinical Trial Planning Meetings (CTPMs): Goal of Clinical Trial Planning Meetings, and List of CTPM Executive Summaries and Publications

Active Protocols

To search all active clinical trials, go to:


CCCT Contact: Jean M. Lynn, RN, MPH, OCN