National Cancer Institute
National Cancer Institute U.S. National Institutes of Health

Head and Neck Steering Committee

The NCI Head and Neck Steering Committee (HNSC) was established in 2007. The HNSC is currently composed of the Steering Committee and three task forces. Members of HNSC include committee co-chairs, representatives from the Cooperative Groups, Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPOREs), community oncologists, biostatisticians, pathologists, patient advocates, and NCI staff.

Mission Statement

The HNSC functions to harmonize an efficient, cost-effective, science-driven, and transparent process that will identify and promote the "Best Science" in head and neck clinical research by addressing the design and prioritization of phase III trials in head and neck cancer and large phase II studies.

Roster of Head and Neck Steering Committee (HNSC) members
David Adelstein, M.D., David Brizel, M.D., and Drew Ridge, M.D., Ph.D., Co-chairs

Task Forces

  • Metastatic/Recurrent Disease: David Pfister, M.D. and Theodoros Teknos, M.D., Co-chairs
  • Previously-untreated Locally Advanced Disease: Avraham Eisbruch, M.D. and Robert Ferris, M.D., Ph.D., Co-chairs
  • Rare Tumors: Rita Axelrod, M.D.and David Eisele, M.D., Co-chairs

Clinical Trial Planning Meetings (CTPMs): Goal of Clinical Trial Planning Meetings, and List of CTPM Executive Summaries and Publications

Active Protocols

CCCT Contact: Jean M. Lynn, RN, M.P.H., OCN