Skip to Content
U.S. National Institutes of Health
Last Updated: 09/25/08

Michaele C. Christian Oncology Development Lectureship and Award

This award was established by the Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program in 2007 to honor the twenty year NCI career of Michaele C. Christian. Dr. Christian was appointed Associate Director of the Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program of DCTD in 1997 after serving as head of the Investigational Drug Branch overseeing the clinical development of novel anticancer agents. In 1995, she established the NCI Clinical Trials Monitoring Branch, which oversees quality assurance and compliance for hundreds of NCI clinical trials. Her tenure as Associate Director of CTEP was marked by significant advances in electronic toxicity reporting and compliance monitoring as well as the introduction of novel phase I/ II trial designs into CTEP-sponsored studies. Another important initiative led to multiple early phase clinical studies that successfully combined targeted agents from different companies.

The award is intended to recognize the contributions of individuals, particularly those in mid-career, to the development of novel agents for cancer therapy. The award consists of a plaque and a lectureship. The award and presentation are made at the annual fall NCI Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program Early Drug Development meeting. Selected lectures may be published in the journal Clinical Cancer Research.

Selection committee:

The award recipient is chosen by a committee of investigators with expertise in the area of oncology drug development. Members of the committee include:

James H. Doroshow, M.D.Director, Division of Cancer Treatment and Diagnosis, NCI
Jeffrey S. Abrams, M.D.Associate Director, Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program, NCI
Peter C. Adamson, M.D.Chief, Division of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Jerry M. Collins, Ph.D.Associate Director, Developmental Therapeutics Program, NCI
S. Gail Eckhardt, M.D.Director, Developmental Therapeutics Program
University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
Elizabeth A. Eisenhauer, M.D.President, National Cancer Institute of Canada
David J. Stewart, M.D.Deputy Chair, Dept. of Thoracic/Head & Neck Medical Oncology, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
James A. Zwiebel, M.D.Chief, Investigational Drug Branch, Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program, NCI

Selection Process:

Members of the IDSC are asked each year to submit the names of candidates for the Michaele Christian Oncology Development Lectureship and Award. Nominations can be sent to the Investigational Drug Branch liaison to the Scientific Meetings Working Group of the IDSC. Nominators are asked to provide the nominee’s Curriculum Vitae and a letter of support providing their perspective on the nominee’s professional contributions and accomplishments that merit receipt of the award. The nominators may as well provide any additional comments about the nominee that should be considered by the selection committee. All of the submitted information is held in confidence and is shared only with the members of the Selection Committee.

Selection criteria for the Award:

  1. Academic investigator: M.D., Ph.D., Pharm D or equivalent
  2. North American investigator (reflecting NCI CTEP research focus)
  3. Mid career: independent scientist/investigator above the rank of assistant professor and no more than 5 years as a professor
  4. Government employees not eligible
  5. Has demonstrated innovation or introduced/investigated new concepts or technologies in conception, design or performance of early phase clinical trials

Award Recipients:

2008: Patricia M. LoRusso, D.O., Karmanos Cancer Center, Wayne State University
2007: Dr. Merrill J. Egorin, University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute