News Articles
Email this page buttonDownload PDF version button

Recent CCR Awards

Arthur S. Flemming Award for Exceptional Service

For his work in cancer cell biology
Thomas Misteli, Ph.D.
Laboratory of Receptor Biology and Gene Expression

2012 Outstanding Clinical Care Award in Psychosocial Oncology

American Psychosocial Oncology Society For outstanding clinical contributions to the field of psychosocial oncology
Lori Wiener, Ph.D.
Pediatric Oncology Branch

2012 Honorary Member Society of Toxicology

For outstanding and sustained achievements in advancing health through the science of toxicology
Frank Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Laboratory of Metabolism

NIH Asian and Pacific Islander American Organization Award

For outstanding accomplishments in biomedical research
Ying Zhang, Ph.D.
Laboratory of Cellular and Molecular Biology

2011 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

For distinguished contributions to translation and selenium biology fields, especially expanding the genetic code and determining the biosynthetic pathway of selenocysteine in eukaryotes
Dolph Lee Hatfield, Ph.D.
Laboratory of Cancer Prevention

For HIV/AIDS vaccine development, replicating and non-replicating adenovectors, mucosal/systemic vaccination strategies, neutralizing and non-neutralizing mechanisms of antibody protection
Marjorie Robert-Guroff, Ph.D.
Vaccine Branch

2012 SER-CAT Young Investigator Award

Southeast Regional Collaborative Access Team
Jason Stagno, Ph.D.
Macromolecular Crystallography Laboratory

2012 Brigid Leventhal Merit Award

Conquer Cancer Foundation of the American Society of Clinical Oncology
Fernanda I. Arnaldez, M.D.
Pediatric Oncology Branch

The Scientist Magazine: Best Places to Work Postdocs 2012

Ranked 13
National Cancer Institute, Bethesda/Frederick

Best Places to Work Postdocs 2012 logo

CCR Researcher Receives Presidential Award

“The impressive accomplishments of today’s awardees so early in their careers promise even greater advances in the years ahead.”—President Barack Obama

Photo of Daniel Larson, Ph.D.

Daniel Larson, Ph.D. (Photo: E. Branson)

Daniel Larson, Ph.D., Head of Systems Biology of Gene Expression in CCR’s Laboratory of Receptor Biology and Gene Expression, is among the 96 researchers named by the White House as recipients of the 2011 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). The awards are the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. Larson received the award for his studies on transcription dynamics of single human genes.

The awards, established by President Bill Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Eleven federal agencies, including the Department of Health and Human Services, join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers. Winning scientists and engineers are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.