Central Tenure Committee


The 1994 report of the External Advisory Committee on the NIH Intramural Research Program recommended that an NIH-wide tenure committee, composed of at least12 tenured scientists, serve as an advisory body to the Deputy Director for Intramural Research (DDIR). In keeping with this recommendation, the first meeting of the Central Tenure Committee (CTC) was held on June 1, 1994. The CTC replaces the Board of Scientific Directors in making final recommendations to the DDIR on all tenure decisions.

Purpose and Function

The purpose of the CTC is to review nominations for tenure and make recommendations to the DDIR, who is the deciding official. The DDIR is the committee chair and one of the Assistant Directors, OIR, serves as the executive secretary. In addition, four expert panels -- the Clinical Investigator Review Panel, the Computer Scientist Review Panel, the Epidemiology and Biometry Review Panel, and the Behavioral Investigator Review Panel -- have been established to provide advice to the CTC and the DDIR in specialized areas.

The CTC membership represents a mix of outstanding senior intramural scientists involved in both basic and clinical research. The term of service for committee members is four years, established so that one-fourth of members rotate on and off the committee each year. Meetings are scheduled twice monthly, according to availability of submitted cases, usually on Monday afternoons at 3:00 p.m.

At least four weeks prior to the meeting, 25 copies (or 35 for cases where review by an Advisory Review Panel is appropriate) of all the documentation for a tenure case must be submitted to OIR in Building 1, Room 140. Click here for Tenure Check Sheet.

Tenure recommendations are presented by the appropriate Scientific Director, who is accompanied by the Laboratory/Branch Chief to answer questions regarding resources, skills, accomplishments, and how the candidate's work meets the goals of the institute.

For further logistical information call: OIR on 496-3561

Membership - October 1, 2012 - September 30, 2013

Dr. Michael M. Gottesman
Deputy Director for Intramural Research
Dr. Arlyn Garcia-Perez
Assistant Director, OIR
Executive Secretary

Dr. Andres Buonanno, NICHD

Dr. Pam Schwartzberg, NHGRI

Dr. Rafael Casellas, NIAMS

Dr. Peter Sun, NIAID

Dr. Emily Chew, NEI

Dr. John Tisdale, NHLBI

Dr. Ajay Chitnis, NICHD

Dr. Mark Udey, NCI-CCR

Dr. Orna Cohen-Fix, NIDDK

Dr. Carter Van Waes, NIDCD

Dr. Kevin Gardner, NCI-CCR

Dr. Bradford Wood, CC

Dr. David Lovinger, NIAAA

Dr. Jerrel Yakel, NIEHS

Dr. Barbara Rehermann, NIDDK

Dr. Yingzi Yang, NHGRI

Dr. Pam Robey, NIDCR

Dr. Keji Zhao, NHLBI

Dr. John Gallin, CC (ex officio)


OEODM representative (ex officio)

Ms. Dierdre Andrews, OIR Program Specialist

Advisory Review Panels to the CTC

The Deputy Director for Intramural Research (DDIR) has appointed several review panels to provide advice on personnel actions in the specialized areas of epidemiology, biometry, computer science, clinical investigation, and behavioral research. The panels review and make recommendations on proposals for tenure of epidemiologists, statisticians, biometricians, computer scientists, and clinical and behavioral investigators.

Panel members are senior NIH scientists, invited by the DDIR for their special expertise. Meetings of the Panels are held as necessary, to discuss specific cases forwarded by the Office of Intramural Research (OIR). The IC submitting a case for a Panel review must send the original documentation plus 10 copies to OIR in Building 1, Room 140 as soon as requested by the OIR, but no less than four weeks prior to the scheduled meeting. Click here for the Tenure Check Sheet.

For further logistical information contact: OIR, 496-3561

Advisory Review Panels - Membership

Behavioral Investigator Review Panel

Dr. Susan Resnick, NIA, Chair

Dr. Karen Berman, NIMH

Dr. Stephen Suomi, NICHD

Dr. Colleen McBride, NHGRI

Dr. Leslie Ungerleider, NIMH

Clinical Investigator Review Panel

Dr. Thomas Waldmann, NCI, Chair

Dr. Cynthia Dunbar, NHLBI

Dr. Joan Marini, NICHD

Dr. Marston Linehan, NCI

Dr. Joel Moss, NHLBI

Dr. Harry Malech, NIAID

Dr. Judith Rapoport, NIMH

Computational Scientist Review Panel

Dr. Bernard Brooks, NHLBI, Chair

Dr. Peter Munson, CIT

Dr. Gerhard Hummer, NIDDK

Dr. Teresa Przytycka, NLM

Dr. Mark Knepper, NHLBI

Epidemiology and Biometry Review Panel

Dr. Paul Sorlie, NHLBI, Chair

Dr. Joseph Fraumeni, NCI-DCEG, Co-chair

Dr. Paul Albert, NICHD-DESPR

Dr. Richard Simon, NCI

Dr. Joan Bailey-Wilson, NHGRI (Baltimore)

Dr. Allen Wilcox, NIEHS

Dr. Tamara Harris, NIA

Last modified 9/21/2012
NIH Home Page | Search the SourceBook | Sourcebook Home Page | Index | Committees Advisory to the DDIR | Comments