Skip to main content
NIH Clinical Center
  Home | Contact Us | Site Map | Search
About the Clinical Center
For Researchers and Physicians
Participate in Clinical Studies

Back to: Clinical Center Home Page > About the Clinical Center
NIH Clinical Center Senior Staff

Office of the Director

Clinical Center Director

John I. Gallin, MD

Deputy Director for Clinical Care

David Henderson, MD

Chief Nurse Officer

Clare Hastings, PhD, RN, FAAN

Chief Operating Officer

Maureen E. Gormley, MPH, MA, RN

Chief Financial Officer

Maria D. Joyce, MBA, CPA

Deputy Director for Educational Affairs and Strategic Partnerships

Frederick P. Ognibene, MD

Department of Perioperative Medicine


Andrew Mannes, MD, ME

Chief; Head, Section on Human Subjects Research

Christine Grady, MSN, PhD

Head, Section on Ethics and Health Policy

Marion Danis, MD

Head, Unit on Vulnerable Populations

David S. Wendler, MA, PhD

Senior Research Scholar

Alan P. Wertheimer, PhD

Senior Faculty

Franklin G. Miller, PhD

Ethics Consultant

Seema Shah, JD


Jon McKeeby, DSc

Laboratory for Informatics Development


James J. Cimino, MD


Henry Masur, MD

Deputy Chief; Head Pulmonary Consultation Service

James Shelhamer, MD

Associate Chief; Medical Director, Critical Care Therapy and Respiratory Care Section; Director, Intensive Care Unit Stat Laboratory

Anthony F. Suffredini, MD

Head, Functional Genomics Facility

Robert L. Danner, MD

Head, Critical Care Section

Peter Q. Eichacker, MD

Head, AIDS Section

Joseph Kovacs, MD

Staff Clinician and Head, Nuclear Cardiology Section

Dorothea McAreavey, MD

Head, Anesthesia Section

Charles Natanson, MD

Medical Director, Procedures, Vascular Access, and Conscious Sedation Services

Naomi P. O'Grady, MD

Staff Clinician and Head, Cardiology Section

Michael A. Solomon, MD

Staff Clinician

Daniel S. Chertow, MD, MPH

Staff Clinician

Jason Elinoff, MD

Staff Clinician

Andrew Leventhal, MD, PhD

Staff Clinician

Parizad Torabi-Parizi, MD


David A. Bluemke, MD, PhD, MsB, FAHA, FACR

Deputy Director, Clinical Operations

Elizabeth C. Jones, MD

Chief, Nuclear Medicine

Ronald D. Neumann, MD

Senior Investigator

Joseph A. Frank, MD, MS

Senior Investigator

Ronald Summers, MD, PhD

Senior Investigator

Bradford Wood, MD


Peter Herscovitch, MD


Thomas A. Fleisher, MD

Chief, Clinical Chemistry Service

David B. Sacks, MB ChB

Chief, Microbiology Service

Karen M. Frank, MD, PhD, D(ABMM)

Pain and Palliative Care


Ann Berger, MD


Robert DeChristoforo, MS, FASHP


Leighton Chan, MD, MPH

Chief, Functional & Applied Biomechanics Section

Diane L. Damiano, PhD PT

Director, Rehabilitation Medicine Consult Service

Galen Joe, MD

Chief, Occupational Therapy Section

Bonnie C. Hodsdon

Chief, Speech Language Pathology Section

Beth Solomon, MS, CCC-SLP

Staff Scientist and Chief, Epidemiology and Biostatistics Section

Elizabeth K. Rasch, PT, PhD

Chief, Recreation Therapy Section

Donna Gregory, CTRS, MBA

Chief, Physical Therapy Section

Michaele R. Smith, PT, M Ed


Harvey G. Klein, MD

Chief, Cell Processing Section

David F. Stroncek, MD

Chief, Clinical Studies,
Associate Director of Research

Harvey Alter, MD

Chief, Laboratory Services Section

Willy A. Flegel, MD

Animal Care Program


Lisa G. Portnoy, DVM

Internal Medicine Consult Service


Fred Gill, MD


Deborah P. Merke, MD, MS

This page last reviewed on 10/15/12

National Institutes
of Health
  Department of Health
and Human Services
NIH Clinical Center National Institutes of Health