

SAFECOM Program Elects New Chairman

On November 15, 2010, the SAFECOM Program elected Kevin McGinnis, of Hallowell, Maine, to serve as its Chairman. Mr. McGinnis will lead SAFECOM's Executive Committee and Emergency Response Council to advise the U.S. Department of Homeland Security on emergency communications issues.

Mr. McGinnis, the former Director of Emergency Medical Services for the State of Maine, ambulance service chief, and a paramedic for the past 36 years, has represented the National Association of State EMS Officials on SAFECOM for the past seven years and has served as vice-chair of SAFECOM for the past four years.

Through collaboration with emergency responders and policymakers across all levels of government, the SAFECOM Program works to improve multijurisdictional and intergovernmental communications interoperability. The SAFECOM Executive Committee and Emergency Response Council are comprised of national public safety association members, State and local emergency responders, and representatives within Federal agencies. Formed following the events of September 11, 2001, these groups have been instrumental in creating the Interoperability Continuum, Statewide Communications Interoperability Plans, and the National Emergency Communications Plan to assist in improving communications and interoperability. Fire Chief Charles Werner, of Charlottesville, Virginia, who served as the SAFECOM Chairman from March 2008-November 2010, has been elected as the vice-chair.

The SAFECOM Program is administered by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Emergency Communications. SAFECOM operates as a practitioner-driven program helping the nation's emergency responders to develop the plans and resources they will use to serve their jurisdictions. For more information about the SAFECOM Program visit www.SAFECOMprogram.gov.

###