Skip to main content


Researchers in the Intramural Research Program (IRP) have won hundreds of significant professional awards in the last several years, far too many to list comprehensively. Here are some highlights:

Nobel Prize

The IRP has produced 18 Nobel Prize winners, who either did the bulk of their award-winning research at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) or trained in one of our laboratories. Find out who they are.

Lasker Award

Often called “America’s Nobels”, the Lasker Awards recognize the contributions of scientists, physicians, and public servants who have made major advances in the understanding, diagnosis, treatment, cure, and prevention of human disease. Numerous Lasker Awards have been bestowed on IRP scientists. Read about the awardees, including one scientist who received two Laskers.

Searle Scholars

The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected academic institutions to support the independent research of outstanding individuals who have recently begun their first appointment at the assistant professor level. See our Searle Scholars.

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

PECASE is the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. Government on outstanding scientists and engineers beginning their independent careers. IRP scientists have been on the list of PECASE recipients every year since 1997. Find out who they are.

The National Academies

The National Academy of Sciences was established by an Act of Congress in 1863, which calls upon it to "investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art" whenever called upon to do so by any department of the Government. The organization has since expanded to include the National Research Council, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine - known collectively as The National Academies. Read about their accomplishments.

Institute of Medicine

Established in 1970, the Institute of Medicine is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences. The Institute of Medicine lists many current members from the IRP. Find out who they are.

National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science is an honor bestowed by the President of the United States to individuals who have made important contributions to the advancement of knowledge in science and engineering. Two IRP scientists have been awarded this prestigious medal. Learn about their accomplishments.

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation is an honor granted by the President of the United States to American inventors and innovators. IRP scientist Roscoe Brady received this honor in 2008. Find out more about this award.

Presidential Medal of Freedom

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is an award bestowed by the President of the United States and is—along with the comparable Congressional Gold Medal—the highest civilian award in the U.S. Two NIH Institute Directors have been honored with this award. Find out who they are.