Skip to main content
NCS Logo SHARES Web Banner Top Right Edge background
Current Operations
Accessing SHARES
Program Info
HF Interoperability
Contact Us
Interference Reporting
NCS Website

SCN Operational Levels

SCN Operational Levels are designed to improve the responsiveness of the SHARES Coordination Network during emergencies. SCN Operational Levels are are defined as follows:

Operational Level 3 - Conditions normal. No emergency exists. The ten-channel SCN may be used by SHARES station personnel for training and non-emergency operations.

Operational Level 2 - Emergency potential exists. Non-emergency operations on the SCN suspended. SCN monitoring increased. Communications operations established on the National and Regional nets to receive Stations Availability Reports.

Operational Level 1 - Emergency exists. SHARES message support required. National and regional nets maintain full-period operations to receive Station Availability Reports, to list SHARES message traffic, and to coordinate the processing of SHARES messages.

SCN Operational Level Change Notice

Changes in the SHARES Coordination Network (SCN) are now automatically placed at Operational Level 2 every time the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) raises its Threat Advisory Level to HIGH (Orange) and to SCN Operational Level 1 When the DHS Threat Advisory Level is raised to SEVERE (Red).


Questions or comments concerning this site? Please contact the webmaster.

Privacy Policy

Bottom Left Edge background Bottom Middle Edge background Bottom Right Edge background