Deputy Postmasters General

As early as 1906, it was recommended that a Deputy Postmaster General be appointed, as noted in the *Annual Report of the Postmaster-General* for that year:

While this Department has a personnel of more than 320,000 and requires annual appropriations approximating \$200,000,000, the general supervision of its affairs is intrusted to a Postmaster-General and but four assistants . . . I recommend that provision be made for a Deputy Postmaster-General, who shall be the ranking officer of the Postmaster-General's assistants, whose tenure shall be permanent, whose compensation shall be commensurate with his position, and whose duties shall be in the nature of a general manager of the postal service. If there were appointed to such a position an official of tried executive capacity and long experience in postal matters, he could relieve the head of the Department of innumerable details which now consume a large portion of his time and preclude the proper consideration of important questions of general policy developed in our own and foreign postal administrations.

The position of Deputy Postmaster General, however, was not created until the President's Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1949, transmitted June 20, 1949, and effective August 20, 1949.

There shall be in the Post Office Department a Deputy Postmaster General who shall be appointed by the President by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall perform such duties as the Postmaster General may designate, and shall receive compensation at the rate of \$10,330 per annum or such other compensation as may be provided by law for the Under Secretaries of Executive departments after the date of transmittal of this reorganization plan to Congress.

When the Post Office Department became the United States Postal Service, a Board of Governors was created. Since that time, the Deputy Postmaster General has no longer been appointed by the President; instead the nine Governors plus the Postmaster General select a Deputy Postmaster General, who also serves on the Board.

The position title changed to Deputy Postmaster General and Chief Operating Officer when the Postal Service was reorganized in 1992; it reverted to Deputy Postmaster General in January 2011.

The following individuals have served as Deputy Postmaster General since the position was created in 1949.

Deputy Postmaster General	Date Took Office (Except as Noted)
Vincent C. Burke	October 21, 1949
Charles R. Hook, Jr.	January 29, 1953
Maurice H. Stans	October 1, 1955
Edson O. Sessions	September 19, 1957 (sworn in)
John M. McKibbin	November 2, 1959 (sworn in)
H. W. Brawley	January 25, 1961 (appointed)
Sidney W. Bishop	July 3, 1963 (nominated)
Frederick C. Belen	March 4, 1964 (sworn in)
E. Theodore Klassen	February 10, 1969 (sworn in)
Merrill A. Hayden	September 27, 1971
Benjamin F. Bailar	December 3, 1974
William F. Bolger	September 4, 1975
James V. P. Conway	April 4, 1978
C. Neil Benson	July 1, 1980
James H. Finch, Jr.	June 1, 1983
Jackie A. Strange	February 16, 1985
Michael S. Coughlin	January 5, 1987
John M. Nolan	February 5, 2000
Patrick R. Donahoe	April 30, 2005
Ronald A. Stroman	April 4, 2011



Ronald A. Stroman, the nation's 20th Deputy Postmaster General, took office on April 4, 2011.