List of Postmasters General

Dates prior to 1900 are the dates the Postmasters General were appointed or commissioned; dates after 1900 are the dates they took office. Appointments by the U.S. President were made with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Postmaster General	Date Appointed by the Continental Congress	
Benjamin Franklin	July 26, 1775	
Richard Bache	November 7, 1776	
Ebenezer Hazard	January 28, 1782	
Postmaster General	Date Appointed	by President
Samuel Osgood	September 26, 1789	George Washington
Timothy Pickering	August 12, 1791	George Washington
Joseph Habersham	February 25, 1795	George Washington
Gideon Granger	November 28, 1801	Thomas Jefferson
Return J. Meigs, Jr.	March 17, 1814	James Madison
John McLean	June 26, 1823	James Monroe
William T. Barry	March 9, 1829	Andrew Jackson
Amos Kendall	May 1, 1835	Andrew Jackson
John M. Niles	May 19, 1840	Martin Van Buren
Francis Granger	March 6, 1841	William Henry Harrison
Charles A. Wickliffe	September 13, 1841	John Tyler
Cave Johnson	March 6, 1845	James K. Polk
Jacob Collamer	March 8, 1849	Zachary Taylor
Nathan Kelsey Hall	July 23, 1850	Millard Filmore
Samuel D. Hubbard	August 31, 1852	Millard Filmore
James Campbell	March 7, 1853	Franklin Pierce
Aaron V. Brown	March 6, 1857	James Buchanan
Joseph Holt	March 14, 1859	James Buchanan
Horatio King	February 12, 1861	James Buchanan
Montgomery Blair	March 5, 1861	Abraham Lincoln
William Dennison	September 24, 1864	Abraham Lincoln
Alexander W. Randall	July 25, 1866	Andrew Johnson
John A. J. Creswell	March 5, 1869	Ulysses Grant
James W. Marshall	July 3, 1874	Ulysses Grant
Marshall Jewell	August 24, 1874	Ulysses Grant
James N. Tyner	July 12, 1876	Ulysses Grant
David M. Key	March 12, 1877	Rutherford B. Hayes
Horace Maynard	August 26, 1880	Rutherford B. Hayes
Thomas L. James	March 5, 1881	James A. Garfield
Timothy O. Howe	December 20, 1881	Chester A. Arthur
Walter Q. Gresham	April 3, 1883	Chester A. Arthur
Frank Hatton	October 14, 1884	Chester A. Arthur
William F. Vilas	March 6, 1885	Grover Cleveland
Don M. Dickinson	January 16, 1888	Grover Cleveland

John Wanamaker	March 5, 1889	Benjamin Harrison
Wilson S. Bissell	March 6, 1893	Grover Cleveland
William L. Wilson	March 1, 1895	Grover Cleveland
James A. Gary	March 5, 1897	William McKinley
Charles Emory Smith	April 21, 1898	William McKinley
Henry C. Payne	January 15, 1902	Theodore Roosevelt
Robert J. Wynne	October 10, 1904	Theodore Roosevelt
George B. Cortelyou	March 7, 1905	Theodore Roosevelt
George von L. Meyer	March 5, 1907	Theodore Roosevelt
Frank H. Hitchcock	March 6, 1909	William H. Taft
Albert S. Burleson	March 5, 1913	Woodrow Wilson
Will H. Hays	March 4, 1921	Warren G. Harding
Hubert Work	March 4, 1922	Warren G. Harding
Harry S. New	March 5, 1923	Warren G. Harding
Walter F. Brown	March 6, 1929	Herbert Hoover
James A. Farley	March 6, 1933	Franklin D. Roosevelt
Frank C. Walker	September 11, 1940	Franklin D. Roosevelt
Robert E. Hannegan	June 30, 1945	Harry S. Truman
Jesse M. Donaldson	December 16, 1947	Harry S. Truman
Arthur E. Summerfield	January 21, 1953	Dwight D. Eisenhower
J. Edward Day	January 21, 1961	John F. Kennedy
John A. Gronouski	September 30, 1963	John F. Kennedy
Lawrence F. O'Brien	November 3, 1965	Lyndon B. Johnson
W. Marvin Watson	April 26, 1968	Lyndon B. Johnson
Winton M. Blount	January 22, 1969	Richard M. Nixon

Postmaster General Appointed by the Governors of the U.S. Postal Service Date Took Office

Governors of the U.S. Postal Service	Date Took Office
Winton M. Blount	July 1, 1971
E. T. Klassen	January 1, 1972
Benjamin F. Bailar	February 16, 1975
William F. Bolger	March 15, 1978
Paul N. Carlin	January 1, 1985
Albert V. Casey	January 7, 1986
Preston R. Tisch	August 16, 1986
Anthony M. Frank	March 1, 1988
Marvin T. Runyon	July 6, 1992
William J. Henderson	May 16, 1998
John E. Potter	June 1, 2001
Patrick R. Donahoe	December 6, 2010

HISTORIAN UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE FEBRUARY 2011