Animal Research Advisory Committee (ARAC)

The Animal Research Advisory Committee (ARAC) meets monthly or as needed and is chaired by Dr. Richard Wyatt (OD/OIR); the vice-chair is Dr. David Bodine (NHGRI). Committee members include the Animal Care and Use Committee chairs from each of the ICs that utilize research animals, and representatives from Office of Animal Care and Use (OACU), Division of Occupational Health and Safety (DOHS), Office of General Counsel (OGC), and the NIH Fellows Committee (FELCOM). Additional members include a community member and an ARAC Ombudsman. The ARAC Ombudsman reviews outside complaints and inter-Institute animal care and use issues, and also functions to minimize interruption in the conduct of research.

In addition to advising the DDIR on the NIH IRP's program for the humane care and use of animals, the ARAC supports the IRP's conformance to recommendations and standards of the National Research Council's Institute of Laboratory Animal Research Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals. ARAC also reviews IC and/or trans-NIH concerns involving the care and use of animals at NIH following investigation, deliberation, and resolution by the IC ACUCs. Further, ARAC drafts, endorses, and promulgates formalized guidance concerning various practices and procedures carried out in the intramural NIH Animal Care and Use program.

ARAC Members

Dr. Richard Wyatt - Chair, NIH-ARAC Dr. Peter Herscovitch, CC
Dr. David M. Bodine - Vice Chair, ARAC Dr. Chand Khanna, NCI
Dr. Terri Clark, OACU Dr. David Lovinger, NIAAA
Mr. Tim Allen, AWIC (Non-Affiliated Member) Dr. John Mascola, NIAID/VRC
Dr. Jack Bennink, NIAID (ARAC Ombudsman) Dr. Karl Pfeifer, NICHD
Dr. Joe Blaney, NIAID/DCR Dr. John Roberts, NIEHS
Donald Bordine, OACU - Executive Secretary Dr. David Robinson, NINDS/NIDCD
Dr. Thomas Bugge, NIDCR Dr. Steven Rubin, FDA
Dr. Rachel Caspi, NEI Dr. Richard Saunders, NIMH
Dr. Samuel Cushman, NIDDK Dr. Robert Shamburek. NHLBI
Dr. John Ely, Alamogordo Primate Facility Dr. Margaret D. Snyder, OER
Dr. Michael Eckhaus, DVR/ORS Dr. Mark Talan, NIA/GRC/IRP
Dr. Massimo Gadina, NIAMS Ms. Kate Tapley, J.D, OD/OGC (Ex-officio)
Dr. Eliot Gardner, NIDA Dr. Ted Torrey, NIAID/DIR
Dr. Lara el Touny, NCI (FELCOM) Dr. Deborah Wilson, ORS/DOHS
Dr. Kim Hasenkrug, NIAID/RML ...

Last revised on October 14, 2011.