IRS Logo

The Commissioner's Section

Acting Commissioner of Internal Revenue Steven T. Miller
Meet the Commissioner of Internal Revenue.

Commissioner's Comments, Statements and Remarks
IRS Commissioner discusses a range of tax administration issues.

Previous IRS Commissioners
There have been 47 previous commissioners of Internal Revenue and 26 acting commissioners since the agency was created in 1862.

Longest- and Shortest-Serving Commissioners of Internal Revenue
Before RRA-98 set a five-year term of office, the average length of a Commissioner's tenure was about three years. These were anything but average.

Page Last Reviewed or Updated: 15-Nov-2012