FFIEC header image
Press Releases
Press Release
For Immediate Release May 2, 2011


Vice Reappointed to the FFIEC State Liaison Committee

The Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council1 announced today the reappointment of Charles A. Vice, Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions, to the Council's State Liaison Committee (SLC). Commissioner Vice's SLC nomination was first confirmed by the Council in April of 2009 for a two-year term extending from May 1, 2009 through April 30, 2011. His second term will continue through April 30, 2013.

Mr. Vice was appointed Kentucky Commissioner of the Department of Financial Institutions in August of 2008. As Commissioner, he has responsibility for the regulatory oversight of all state-chartered financial institutions. Previously, Mr. Vice was an employee of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation and spent 18 years in the Lexington field office.

The SLC was established by the Council, pursuant to Section 1007 of the Financial Institutions Regulatory and Interest Rate Control Act of 1978, to encourage the application of uniform examination principles and standards by state and federal agencies and to allow state regulators to participate in the development of those principles and standards. The SLC consists of five state regulatory agency representatives that supervise financial institutions including: Chair John Munn, Director, Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance; David Cotney, Commissioner, Massachusetts Division of Banks; Harold Feeney, Commissioner, Texas Credit Union Department; and Douglas Foster, Commissioner, Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending.


1 The FFIEC was established in March 1979 to prescribe uniform principles, standards, and report forms and to promote uniformity in the supervision of financial institutions. The Council has six voting members: the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the National Credit Union Administration, the Office of Thrift Supervision, and the State Liaison Committee. The Council's activities are supported by interagency task forces and by an advisory State Liaison Committee, comprised of five representatives of state agencies that supervise financial institutions.