# Appendix B

# **Science Advisory Board and Subcommittee Membership Lists**

Office of Justice Programs

#### **Science Advisory Board Members**

Alfred Blumstein, Ph.D.

Chair

H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy

and Management

Carnegie-Mellon University

William J. Bratton

Chairman

Altegrity Risk International

Andrea Cabral

Sheriff

Suffolk County, Massachusetts

Frank Cullen, Ph.D.

Distinguished Research Professor of

Criminal Justice

University of Cincinnati

Tony Fabelo, Ph.D.

Senior Research Associate

Council of State Governments

James Lepkowski, Ph.D.

Chair, Program in Survey Methodology

University of Michigan

Alan Leshner, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer

American Association for the Advancement

of Science

Mark Lipsey, Ph.D.

Director

Peabody Research Institute

Vanderbilt University

Colin Loftin, Ph.D.

Professor

School of Criminal Justice

University of Albany

The Honorable Theodore McKee

Chief Judge

U.S. Court of Appeals, Third Circuit

Tracey Meares, Ph.D.

Deputy Dean and Professor of Law

Yale Law School

Yale University

Edward Mulvey, Ph.D.

Director,

Western Psychiatric Institute & Clinic

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Joan Petersilia, Ph.D.

Faculty Co-director

Stanford Criminal Justice Center

Joycelyn Pollock, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Criminal Justice

Texas State University

Richard Rosenfeld, Ph.D.

Professor

Criminology and Criminal Justice

University of Missouri-St. Louis

Robert Sampson, Ph.D.

Henry Ford II Professor of the Social

Sciences and Director of the Social Sciences

Program at the Radcliffe Institute for

Advanced Study

Harvard University

# Appendix B

Elizabeth Stasny, Ph.D.
Professor of Statistics and Vice Chair
Graduate Studies in Statistics and BioStatistics
Ohio State University

David Weisburd, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Criminology, Law & Society
George Mason University

## **Science Advisory Board Subcommittee Members**

William G. Barron, Jr. Private Consultant

Eric Buel, Ph.D.
Director (retired)
Vermont Forensic Laboratory
University of Vermont

Jeffrey Butts, Ph.D. Executive Director Research and Evaluation Center John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Timothy Bynum, Ph.D.
Professor, School of Criminal Justice
Senior Research Associate
Institute for Public Policy and Social
Research
Michigan State University

Edward Latessa, Ph.D. Professor and Head of the School of Criminal Justice University of Cincinnati

Cynthia Lum, Ph.D.
Co-Director
Research Program on Evidence-Based
Policing
Dept. of Criminology, Law & Society
George Mason University

Thomas Mitchell, Ph.D. E. Fredkin Professor School of Computer Science Carnegie Mellon University

Faye Taxman, Ph.D.
Professor, Director
Center for Advancing Correctional
Excellence!
George Mason University

Linda Teplin, Ph.D.
Owen L. Coon Professor and
Vice Chair of Research
Northwestern University

George Whitesides, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Chemistry and
Chemical Biology
Harvard University

# Appendix B

#### **Subcommittees**

#### **BJS Subcommittee**

Rick Rosenfeld, Chair William Barron Jim Lepkowski Colin Loftin Elizabeth Stasny

#### NIJ

David Weisburd, Chair William Bratton Eric Buel Tracy Meares Tom Mitchell Joan Petersilia Rick Rosenfeld Rob Sampson George Whitesides

# **OJJDP**

Mark Lipsey, Chair Jeffrey Butts David Finkelhor Ted McKee Edward Mulvey Linda Teplin

### **BJA Subcommittee**

Ed Mulvey, Chair William Bratton Timothy Bynum Tony Fabelo Ed Latessa Mark Lipsey Cynthia Lum Faye Taxman

## **Quality and Protection of Science**

Rob Sampson, Chair Alan Leshner Jocelyn Pollock

# **Evidence Translation and Integration Subcommittee**

Tony Fabelo, Chair Andrea Cabral Frank Cullen