## **Science Advisory Board Meeting**

#### **Office of Justice Programs**

Main Conference Room January 20, 2012

#### **List of Attendees**

#### **Science Advisory Board Members**

Alfred Blumstein, Ph.D.

Chair

H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy

and Management

Carnegie-Mellon University

Andrea Cabral

Sheriff

Suffolk County, Massachusetts

Frank Cullen, Ph.D.

Distinguished Research Professor of

Criminal Justice

University of Cincinnati

Tony Fabelo, Ph.D.

Senior Research Associate

Council of State Governments

James Lepkowski, Ph.D.

Chair, Program in Survey Methodology

University of Michigan

Alan Leshner, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer

American Association for the Advancement

of Science

Mark Lipsey, Ph.D.

Director

Peabody Research Institute

Vanderbilt University

Colin Loftin, Ph.D.

Professor

School of Criminal Justice

University of Albany

The Honorable Theodore McKee

Chief Judge

U.S. Court of Appeals, Third Circuit

Tracey Meares, Ph.D.

Deputy Dean and Professor of Law

Yale Law School

Yale University

Edward Mulvey, Ph.D.

Director,

Western Psychiatric Institute & Clinic

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Joycelyn Pollock, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Criminal Justice

Texas State University

Richard Rosenfeld, Ph.D.

Professor

Criminology and Criminal Justice

University of Missouri-St. Louis

Robert Sampson, Ph.D.

Henry Ford II Professor of the Social

Sciences; Director of the Social Sciences

Program at the Radcliffe

Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard

University

Elizabeth Stasny, Ph.D.

Professor of Statistics and Vice Chair of

Graduate Studies in Statistics and Bio-

Statistics

Ohio State University

David Weisburd, Ph.D.

Professor

Department of Criminology, Law & Society

George Mason University

#### **Science Advisory Board Subcommittee Members**

William G. Barron, Jr. Private Consultant

Eric Buel, Ph.D. Director (retired Vermont Forensic Laboratory University of Vermont

Jeffrey Butts, Ph.D. Executive Director, Research and Evaluation Center John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Timothy Bynum, Ph.D.
Professor, School of Criminal Justice,
and Senior Research Associate, Institute
for Public Policy and Social Research,
Michigan State University

Edward Latessa, Ph.D. Professor and Head of the School of Criminal Justice University of Cincinnati Cynthia Lum, Ph.D.
Co-Director of the Research Program on
Evidence-Based Policing
Dept. of Criminology, Law & Society
George Mason University

Thomas Mitchell, Ph.D. E. Fredkin Professor, School of Computer Science Carnegie Mellon University

Faye Taxman, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Center for Advancing
Correctional Excellence!
George Mason University

Linda Teplin, Ph.D.
Owen L. Coon Professor and
Vice Chair of Research
Northwestern University

George Whitesides, Ph.D. Professor Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology Harvard University

### **Office of Justice Programs Federal Participants**

Thomas Abt John Laub Chief of Staff Director

Office of the Assistant Attorney General National Institute of Justice

Ed Banks Mary Lou Leary

Program Specialist Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Bureau of Justice Assistance Office of Justice Programs

James Burch James Lynch Director Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Office of the Assistant Attorney General **Bureau of Justice Statistics** 

Marlene Beckman Denise O'Donnell

Counselor Director

Office of the Assistant Attorney General Bureau of Justice Assistance

Brecht Donoghue Ruby Qazilbash

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Supervisory Program Manager

Bureau of Justice Assistance Prevention

Julius Dupree Laurie Robinson

Program Analyst Assistant Attorney General Bureau of Justice Assistance Office of Justice Programs

Thomas Feucht Rebecca Rose

**Executive Senior Science Advisor** Management and Program Analyst Bureau of Justice Assistance National Institute of Justice

Joye Frost **Eugene Schneebery** Director, Faith-based and Neighborhood Acting Director

Office for Victims of Crime **Partnerships** 

Office of Assistant Attorney General Dennis Greenhouse

Deputy Director Jeff Slowikowski Office for Victims of Crime Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency

Prevention

Betsy Griffith Supervisory Program Manager Amy Staubs

Program Analyst

Bureau of Justice Assistance

Bureau of Justice Assistance **Grant Program Specialist** 

Office of the Assistant Attorney General Melodee Hanes

**Acting Administrator** Phelan Wyrick

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Senior Advisor

Prevention Office of the Assistant Attorney General

Alissa Hunton

## **Public Participants**

Alan Bekelman John Millarth

Marcia Cohen Virginia Sampf

Lindsey Deves Rachel Stephenson

Gregory Fay Howard Silver

Sean Geliday Tracy Trautman

Linda Hammond-Deckars Timothy Willis