Skip Navigation U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Main Menu

Other HHS Agencies

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' programs are administered by 10 principal HHS operating divisions in addition to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). In addition to the services they deliver, the HHS programs provide for equitable treatment of beneficiaries nationwide, and they enable the collection of national health and other data.

Key Support Offices

Office of the Secretary (OS)
Program Support Center (PSC)

Operating Divisions

Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
Administration on Aging (AOA)
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), formerly the
   Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA)
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Indian Health Service (IHS)
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

The Social Security Administration (SSA) became an independent agency on March 31, 1995.

AHRQAdvancing Excellence in Health Care