Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)

Center for Cancer Research National Cancer Institute
NCI Women Scientist Advisors (WSA)

Rosalind E. Franklin Award

The NCI prize honors the commitment of women in cancer research and is given in tribute to Dr. Franklin, who played a critical role in the discovery of the DNA double helix.

Past Award Winners

  • Maxine Singer, Carnegie Institute, no title, January 2002
  • Margaret Spitz, MD Anderson, "An Approach to Studying Genetic Susceptibility of Lung Cancer", January 2003
  • Janet Rowley, University of Chicago, "Analysis of Gene Expression in Leukemia in the 21st Century", January 2004
  • Joan S. Brugge, Harvard Medical School, "Probing Mechanisms of Breast Epithelial Oncogenesis in a 3D Culture Model", January 2005
  • Joan A. Steitz, Yale University, "More Surprises of snRNPs", January 2006
  • Alice Whittemore, Stanford University, "Preventing Deaths from Breast and Ovarian Cancer", January 2007
  • Nancy Davidson, Johns Hopkins University, "Epigenetics and Breast Cancer", January 2008
  • Carol Prives, Columbia University, "New Insights into p53 and Mdm2", January 2009
  • Leslie Bernstein, City of Hope National Medical Center, "Reducing Breast Cancer Risk Through Biology, Epidemiology, and Serendipity", January 2010
  • Kathyrn Bloch Horwitz, University of Colorado-Anschutz Medical Campus, "Orgin of Luminal vs. Basal Breast Cancer Subtypes: Control by Steroid Hormones and Notch Signaling", January 2011
  • Titia de Lange, The Rockefeller University, "How Telomeres Solve the End-Protection Problem", January 2012

Added by Boersma, Brenda (NIH/NCI) [F] , last edited by Coats, Aubrey (NIH/NCI) [E] on Jan 26, 2012 11:21