Indian Affairs | What We Do

What We Do

The Midwest Region serves 35 tribal governments and reservations. The Midwest Region's jurisdiction covers approximately 4.6 million acres which are located within the states of Iowa, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin. It is made up of three agencies: Michigan, Minnesota and Great Lakes, and one field office: Red Lake. Minnesota, Great Lakes, and Michigan are multi-tribe agencies while Red Lake serves only one tribe/reservation. Six tribes are served directly out of the Regional Office. The Office of the Regional Director provides organizational leadership and management, ensures the coordination of all assigned programs to achieve the overall mission of the Bureau and fulfills responsibilities delegated by the Secretary of the Interior through the Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs. The Regional Director acts primarily on behalf of the Secretary, Assistant Secretary, and/or Deputy Commissioner of Indian Affairs in upholding and maintaining the government-to-government relationship with tribes in fulfilling the Federal trust responsibilities.